We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mimosa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mimosa Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   32/2 Moo 5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Mae Nam
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice but not great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had high hopes for this place, the pictures looked nice and the reviews were pretty good - it did not live up to my expectations. Don't get me wrong - it was okay...but I think for the price I could have found better ($20USD more per night could have went a long way).

First the good things: the place was clean, absolutely no issues there. The staff were very helpful and things got done quickly. It was out of the way and quiet, which is what we wanted as we aren't into the party scene, but still accessible if you rented a motorbike. The wifi worked without issues and the AC in the room was great - it wasn't working to it's fullest on the first night and they came to fix it the very next morning.

Here's what I found disappointing: we were charged 600baht for the airport pickup, which seems to be pretty standard for the island but still expensive in my mind. The resort over-charged for everything! The spa treatments were more money than any of the places up the road, the cost to rent a motorbike was higher, the food and drink at the restaurant was higher, and the staff (while helpful), didn't seem to know much about the area when asked for directions or restaurant recommendations. The buffet breakfast was included and it was the same each day - the coffee was really bad (and the first cup every morning was lukewarm at best). We rented a motorbike, ate a few meals and used the taxi service offered at Mama Moon up the road - everything there was fabulous!

Also - on our 3rd day a huge group arrived with a bunch of pre-teen kids who pretty much took over the resort. The kids hung out in the pool, splashing each other (and anyone else in the way), ran by spraying water on you and whipped a volleyball around, hitting anything in it's path. No idea where their parents were during this but they should be embarrassed. Lucky for us, the room of kids was put directly above us. They continued like this until at least 1am, our room was practically shaking, until I called the front desk. The next night, they threw wet towels and bathing suits off of their balcony onto the path below, and ran the halls. I've never seen anything like this before. Anyhow, no fault of the hotel at all - just made me realize that I should make sure that we book "adults only" from now on...and this resort might not be as quiet and out of the way as you hope.

Room Tip: We stayed in the jasmine room with the outdoor shower - it was nice! I believe these are only on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    64
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
104
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely rooms, beach, pool and garden area. This hotel has very friendly staff. The location cannot be moaned about as it is directly on the beach front. A few reviews have suggested that it is the middle of nowhere however we would disagree. Although not close to the main town the hotel provides a shuttle bus service to the 3 main towns. Although you would need to pay for a return the furtherest town chaweng is only about £6 in a taxi.

***An added review of Mama moons restaurant*** Mama moons restaurant is a short walk away from the hotel. It does delicious thai food with massive portions for a very reasonable price. Not only this the owners are very friendly and accommodating. We ate here most days whilst staying at minosa because it was
fantastic. They really need their own review page!!!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great little place ,you can get around the island in a couple of hours and there is always something interesting to see. the hotel is right on the water and the beach is not as crowded as they are down in Chaweng one thing to remember is if you want to go riding driving ya better have a international licence.Food everywhere. The only thing that surprised me was when I went out to the toilet at the rear of the place where we were eating just down the road from the hotel I found one of the waiters washing the plates down with a hose in the toilet I hope they didn't do that every where and we never got sick anyhow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we loved our stay at mimosa the lovely staff made us feel welcome. This place is so relaxing and friendly and if there not quite sure they know what your after they go out of there way to work it out. Also they have the best/nicest waiter in the world called Coo he is the happiest, friendliest waiter that puts a smile on everyone's face. we had a big group at mimosa and Coo went above and beyond for all of us and everyone misses him!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Mimosa for our wedding on Koh Samui. We held the wedding through Faraway weddings, however all 40 of our guests and ourselves booked out the majority of rooms at Mimosa.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, if their was an occasional language barrier, they did all that they could to ensure that we understood each other.

The rooms, (we stayed in the family pool suite, but saw many others also) were exactly what we expected: clean, moderately furnished without being overcrowded. We really loved the spacious bathrooms, showers and pool.

The restaurant was generally fantastic. All of the food was cooked to a high standard and we had no concerns at all about hygiene. Small issues in terms of wait time around large dinner bookings, however the service and quality at every other time definitely made up for it overall.

The spa was very nice, and the staff were lovely. It was quite expensive though, yet another (much cheaper) spa could be found just a short walk away.

We would definitely return to Mimosa on our next visit to Samui. The staff there are so lovely and they did everything that they could to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are all on the ground floor and were lovely to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cozy and modern resort by the beach. The rooms are good with simplistic decor an modern design. Some signs of wear and tear but still in good condition. The highlighlights of this place are the proximity to the beach(+ for being almost deserted) and beach side pool - giving you all the incentives to relax.

Downsides: shallow beach best suited for children (reef outside makes swimming a hassle) and the lack of good eateries close by. Getting a nice dinner can be quite an expedition.

Considering we payed 310USD for four nights w/breakfast this resort comes highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a wedding ceremony at Mimosa resort&spa and stayed here for 4 days. I was absolutely amazed by this ceremony! Everything was done brilliantly and we have great memories about that day! I want to thank Mr. Methee for organization of our unforgettable ceremony! The honeymoon suite we had was beautifully decorated with flowers and candles and we had jacuzzi in room.

The hotel itself is situated in picturesque place, far from noise, it is nice and peaceful. You can find everything you need in this hotel: swimming pool, restaurant (I advise to try healty drinks and chicken breast), spa and massage and different sport facilities.
We spent great time here and would like to come here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mimosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Resort & Spa

Address: 32/2 Moo 5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mimosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Resort And Spa
Mimosa Hotel Koh Samui
Mimosa Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimosa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.