We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   7/64 Moo 5 | Bang Por Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Le Bayburi : The Sea Samui)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Airport Transfer
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great resort in a very quiet area. Great restaurant around the corner. Furthermore not much to do in the neighbourhood. Only problem we had was the fact that there wasn't always warm water. The people atthe resort are very friendly an will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The Sea Koh Samui has a fantastic beach front where you can absolutely enjoy reading while sipping a cup of coffee. It has such a relaxing atmosphere that would really make you well rested and leave you rejuvenated. Troy was especially helpful in making sure that I had the best experience during my stay at The Sea.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family rent a 3 b/r beachfront pool villa with an expectation of a long weekend holiday. To my surprise, the premise built a kitchen blocking half of the beach view. Construction workers worked through the first day of my arrival, if it was not my request to the manager, they probably worked everyday. Even when they left the site, the unfinished work appeared very messy. For other aspects, the rooms could be cleaner. Anyway, breakfast is sumptuous.The staff is very helpful. The management is not considerate and should be aware not to accept guests to that villa at the first place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while travelling in Thailand.
It was beautiful, the location is fabulous - the beach outside is practically your own. Our room was spacious and offered a washing machine, bath, shower, lounge and balcony. It was perfect - we regretted then moving to the Chaweng Beach area and wished we would have stayed here for the full 12 nights we spent in Koh Samui.

The seafood restaurant next door is also amazing, and apparently whenever the Princess visits Samui - she goes there which is definitely saying something.

We are already planning on returning to this hotel next April.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is not brand new, but still very charming.
You have a peaceful area (not always the case in Samui), with a nice long sand beach (not many fishes for snorkelling swimmers!)
Otto, the Front Office Manager, will do all his best to give you the best stay as possible, you can trust him.
Generally, a very nice hotel, with some minor points to improve (renovation of room, restaurant a bit expensive and to improve), or to know before booking (small swimming pool, but perfect according to me, just few TV channel, wifi not always with good signal).
An hotel to recommend anyway for a wonderful stay in Samui (around 15 minutes to the airport, where you will protect yourself against mosquitos !!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This resort is an ideal spot for the independent traveller who is not expecting a full professional hotel service.

The hotel is in reality a previously unsuccessful condo development which was converted into an hotel. This explains the layout and fittings of the rooms as well as the relative unsophistication of the services offered.

The location is perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of Mae Nam and BoPhut, on a quiet stretch of lovely beach with spectacular sunset views. The pool is small but well located with the essentially private white sand beach just in front.

The rooms are reasonably well appointed with a kitchenette complete with washer and tuble drier which is a boon for the traveller who prefers doing their own thing. There is a laundry service which we did not test. The criticism which one can level is one of lack of attention to detail, for example, the towels were often rather threadbare or even with holes in them, albeit clean, and they were a bit lightweight in the number of towels provided.

The staff were very willing and friendly but clearly not trained to international standards and few of them spoke enough English to be understood.

Breakfast included in the room rate was generous and very good. The hotel does not really have a full service restaurant and claims to provide room service which we did not try out. The poolside bar provides delicious fruit and other drinks as well as reasonable (but not iutstanding) snack meals for lunch.

Overall, I think The Sea offers very good value for money relative to the much more expensive offerings in Koh Samui and competes favourably with some of the other resorts not run by professional hotel groups. I will definitely be going there again next year and will once again take the 2 bedroom ocean view suite which is in the main building. The pool and garden villas look very nice with their own private pool and are priced accordingly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite on the 3rd floor - fantastic views of the ocean with Koh Pha Ngan in the distance. The suite was spectacular and included a washer/dryer and a kitchnette. There is a jacuzzi in the living room overlooking the ocean - really a wonderful extra. We were so comfortable in the suite it was difficult to get moving in the mornings - it was so nice to lounge on the lanai and enjoy the views.

The breakfast buffet (included in our room price) was great, with lots of selections. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, offering directions to neighboring restaurants and helping us with finding a taxi at a reasonable rate.

We had lunch a couple of times down on the beach, and dinner once. The food was good, if a little pricey.

Others have commented on the hotel's location. A vehicle rental is highly recommended because it is a long trip to anywhere. The taxis and red trucks can be extortive in their prices, knowing the guests are trapped otherwise. I would not recommend renting a motorbike unless the driver is highly experienced with southeast Asian traffic, the two-lane road becomes four to six lane at times, with high speeds and little concern for motorbikes or pedestrians.

Room Tip: There are choices of suites in the main building or villas. All of the suites have spectacular ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 7/64 Moo 5 | Bang Por Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Le Bayburi : The Sea Samui)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived as luxury private villa residences, The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa has been transformed into a unique boutique resort offering unmatched space and style for those looking for a tropical island getaway with a difference. THE VILLAS are all designed with easy tropical living in mind and aim to create the atmosphere of a home from home rather than a hotel room. Furnished and decorated with elegance and style combining a blend of Asian and Western influences THE VILLAS LIVE AND BREATHE luxury from the teak wood floors to the quality silk and cotton fabrics used throughout. In the gardens, hundred year old frangipani trees line the walkway from the lobby to the 20 meter salt water pool by the beach where you can while away the hours on a longer in perfect bliss and harmony with the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Koh Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.