We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lotus Terraces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lotus Terraces to your Saves list
The Lotus Terraces
12/18 Moo 5, Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHTS!
5.0 of 5 stars 149 Reviews
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Incredible food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed there for a week over Christmas & New Years. We were provided with custom catering (we even got to choose the daily meal that was cooked!), enjoyed a swim in the ocean AND pool every day, and received daily massages for only $10 per hour!

I recommend this place to everyone I know traveling to Koh Samui!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, and we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and services. We look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed in the luxurious Banyan Beach Villa, which we found wonderfully comfortable and well equipped. It was like arriving at an oasis after the hustle and bustle of Bangkok - and the road teeming with local life that runs around the island just away from the coast. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive and made sure that our every need was satisfied. We particularly enjoyed being able to walk out from the villa onto the beach and stroll along for an evening meal at a nearby fish restaurant. We certainly felt relaxed and at peace with the world after our excellent stay at the Lotus Terraces.

Room Tip: We liked the Banyan Beach Villa because of its location right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us and we are pleased that you found the Banyan Beach Pool Villa comfortable and you had a relaxing holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The trip got off to a rocky start with the Lotus Terrace car service we had pre-arranged nowhere to be found at the airport. After waiting in the pick-up area for a while, I left the family and walked backed to the airport information desk, who were kind enough to help me call the resort. We never did get through to anyone. I walked back to the pick-up area planning to take a taxi but by then our van had arrived (about an hour late). The welcome at the resort was warm and friendly. We were greeted by Sue, who gave us a tour of our villa and the resort. Our family of four (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in a 3 bedroom Heliconia Villa. The villa was lovely - luxurious and tastefully decorated. We had pre-ordered some groceries and a Thai dinner, which Sue had arranged to be there on our arrival. The staff are all vey friendly and helpful. It is a small resort - just a handful of villas and the main pool by the beach. The salt water pool was refreshing and offered stunning views. We enjoyed walking up and down the beach but the beach was a little rocky for our kids. Sue did arrange for a day trip to one of the more touristy beaches and that was spectacular (sorry, I forgot the name). The villas are ideal for a family looking to relax in comfort and enjoy the pool and views. There was not much else in the neighborhood for us to see, but we enjoyed the villa and going out for day trips. One problem was the wifi - the connection was not stable and even when on it was too slow. I could not work remotely and this would be my main reservation in returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the time taken to provide us with a review of your stay with us in June last year.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the problem experienced with the late pick up. Perhaps not in your case, but sometimes this was due to guests waiting for pick-up at the area immediately after baggage collection not accessible by our driver, instead of walking out to the meeting area of the airport. Nevertheless, we recognise that efficient and timely pick-up is important as it often forms the guests' first impression of our resort, and we now provide clear pick up information to arriving guests, besides making sure transfers are always there on time.

We also appreciate your feedback on the internet connection at the Heliconia. The internet connection should be working well for the Heliconia and we are monitoring this.

It is gratifying to know that your family and you have otherwise enjoyed your stay and our services. Thank you for your encouraging comments.

Our sincere apologies again for the shortcomings and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome all of you again.

Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our group of 7 (my mum, husband, nanny and three children, aged 6 year, 3 years, and 5 months) decided to celebrate the 2012 Christmas in Koh Samui. We were referred to Lotus Terraces, and could not have been happier. The villas are all beautifully designed and equipped, down to all the smallest details. Our personal housekeeper, Ci, was warmly attentive and always made sure the villa was neat and clean at all times. The property manager, Sue, was also very warm, efficient and extremely helpful - especially because both my husband and 5-month old fell ill and needed to see doctors. And the whole staff was extremely warm and friendly all the time, especially to the children.

But what made our holiday absolutely perfect was the attention given to even the smallest details. Upon our arrival, the kitchen and bath were full stocked with things we needed for a baby - a proper small bathtub, and a proper steriliser, not just one of the really flimsy ones you can get for a cheap price. And as it was over the Christmas period, it was nice to have a decently-sized Christmas tree up as it allowed us to continue the charade of Father Christmas delivering presents for the children.

The food was also amazing - we opted for the services of a chef for 2 nights, but the in-house menu was also very good. We were also quite excited about being able to barbeque on our own one evening.

Two months later, the children still talk about our Thailand holiday and all the people who helped make it special. Lotus Terraces is the perfect place for an extended holiday with family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a good review of your stay with us over Christmas. We are delighted that all of you enjoyed your stay and we are part of wonderful memories your family, especially the children, have of Christmas 2012 spent in Koh Samui.

Your review will be shared with all in the team, great reviews always keep us motivated and smiling!
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming all of you back again.
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Lotus Terraces took my breath away from start to finish of my one week stay. The Banyan Villa I stayed in (solo female traveller) was so tastefully done and luxurious, with an incredibly comfortable bed, and spacious washroom - with all the amenities you could imagine (every detail was considered!). Going out the the pool and the meal area, the view is absolutely breathtaking, not to mention the gorgeous landscape, everything is in its place and beautifully groomed. The beach and views were the best I had seen in Thailand, and the water was gorgeous, calm, and so picturesque. The infinity pool made for some truly stunning photos, and also, some beautiful swims in the morning after I did yoga on the deck, which overlooked the sea.
The food at Lotus Terraces was also exceptional, Khun Nam made healthy, fresh, inspired authentic Thai dishes, which were always unique and delicious. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea was my favourite part of the day, with fresh fruit and coconut jam made on the island. Dinner was always a fresh take on authentic Thai favourites - the best I sampled in Thailand. The service in general from both Sue and Kuhn Nam was exceptional - the staff are genuinely caring, sweet, attentive, and very good at making you feel like the Lotus Terraces could actually be your home. No request was too big or too small, and the staff went over and above to ensure that I was happy and fully cared for during my time there.
The spa services offered by the Lotus Terraces two in-house masseuses were also fantastic. I enjoyed an oil massage, and a manicure, in the very private and relaxing spa facilities there. You can also choose to have your massage outside in the private massage area on the patio, overlooking the ocean. The oil massage I enjoyed was really exceptional, given the many massages I had while in Thailand.
Tours of the island, the markets, and planning exciting evening activities, were all managed by Sue, who orchestrated wonderful excursions, with recommendations from the owners of the Lotus Terraces, Carol and Manfred. I can't say more about this amazing establishment. I would recommend it to friends and family of all ages, and all size of groups, the Lotus Terraces satisfies everything I was looking for on my trip to Thailand: luxury, wonderful service, delicious food, stunning views, great company, and getting in touch with Thai culture!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the Banyan Beach Pool Villa. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities/services. Your good commendation has been shared with the villa owner and our team, it keeps us motivated!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Lotus Terraces!
Best regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you're thinking of staying at the Lotus Terraces, book it! You will not be disappointed. The reality of the place is better than the photographs and the service is top notch. We occupied all of the villas at Lotus Terraces for 5 nights for our wedding guests when we celebrate our wedding in Koh Samui. The reservations manager, Jane, and villa manager, Sue, worked with us well in advance to plan not only our stay but also a welcome party, breakfast buffet, and several other bookings throughout our stay, such as transportation, spa treatments, and excursions to markets. All of the villas are of very high quality and tastefully designed. The overall property is truly amazing--beautifully maintained landscaping and flowers, a wonderful beach front pool, and villas and rooms that would suite a group of friends and family or could be as private as you want them to be. The view from Lotus Villa is especially breathtaking--you want want to ever leave! Every convenience has been thought of--kitchens are stocked with major appliances and dishes, etc. There is a grocery service if you chose to use it, and the food the chefs prepared for our welcome party was delicious. What really sets Lotus Terraces apart, however, is the 5-star service from all of the staff, particularly Sue, the villa manager and Rose and Khun Nam, the head maebans for Lotus and Banyan villas. Anytime we asked for something to be arranged, the answer was yes. They really went above and beyond. They were extremely friendly and welcoming and very professional. They make you feel like Lotus Terraces is your home during your stay. We were so happy we could bring so many family and friends together to stay at such an amazing place to celebrate our wedding. We have never stayed at a place so wonderful, and we're not sure we ever will--until we return to Lotus Terraces :)

Room Tip: All of the villas are beautiful, however, Lotus Villa is truly breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We too enjoyed having your family and friends stayed with us for your wedding in Koh Samui, and very gratified to know that The Lotus Terraces will form part of wonderful memories you will have of your happy occasion. Your review has been shared with Rose, Nam and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lotus Terraces.
In the meantime, best wishes from all of us for the years ahead together.
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This January was our third winter vacation in Lotus villa.We always stay there for at least 20 days.Our kids(on 7 and 14) also love this villa. Wonderful place, five-star service and a lot of good people around. If you want to feel at home, this is your place. We are already planning our next vacation there. Thank to all team of *The Lotus Terraces* for having them there with us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lotus_Terraces, Manager at The Lotus Terraces, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your very good review! As always, we are happy to see all of you again and delighted to know you have again enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back early next year. In the meantime, please accept best wishes from everyone in the team to you and your family.

Kind regards,
Sue

Sue Songphaison
Resort Manager
The Lotus Terraces
Koh Samui, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lotus Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Terraces

Address: 12/18 Moo 5, Maenam, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lotus Terraces is a luxury beachfront resort located on Bang Por Beach. The resort has villas ranging from 2 to 5 bedrooms, each with its own private pool and ensuite bathroom. There is also a 25m communal pool located right at the beach. Each villa is fully air-conditioned and has the convenience of all modern amenities including a fully equipped European kitchen, complimentary wireless internet and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your The Lotus Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Terraces Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lotus Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.