We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good peaceful low(er) budget resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Samui Resort to your Saves list
Koh Samui Resort
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   78/2 - 19 M.5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Suffolk UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good peaceful low(er) budget resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 9 day stay, it is pretty much all that it claims to be. It is friendly, quiet and within its own beautifully kept grounds creating a more secluded location than it actually is. The staff were very helpful in accomodating a very reasonable transfer from and to the airport, much cheaper than our tour provider offered. They even stretched out our checkout time to allow us to make the most of our last day before our late afternoon departure.
It wouldn't be helpful to anyone, however, to say that "everything" was perfect.
This was the first time we had stayed anywhere that did not provide the ability to make tea or coffee in the rooms, this would have made things peachy for me at least. A couple of other guests said that it was "advertised" as being so but I personally didn't recall it but merely assumed it to be available. The TV was of the large CRT type and took up a great deal of the space on our "dressing table" but for the poor quality of picture and limited appeal of what was mostly Thai language TV, this was no great bonus to us. The computer and Internet was a first however, good call! Although WI FI was advertised in the blurb, I saw no evidence of it in the room at least. The sound didn't seem to work on our computer speakers but if it was important to us, I'm sure the helpful staff would have sorted it if we asked, as they did when the keyboard locked up. The screen has some lines down it partially masking the view but that's being picky!
There was an absence of somewhere comfortable to sit and relax, the loungers by the pool were great when it was light or not raining but in the evening (and it gets dark at 6.45pm) there was nowehre in the room or outside to sit and read comfortably. There are chairs provided outside the bungalows but the light there, isn't great (or is it my eyes?) and after 5 minutes or so they got very uncomfortable (or is it my back?).
We had the room and breakfast buffet tariff, now I imagined going up to a laid out table and helping myself from an array of buffet items ... Well it didn;t exactly work like that, we were offered to choose from a very "egg based" menu and frankly after a few days, it got a bit the same. The service was attentive and friendly but there wasn't that much difference between one plate on offer and the next. For the first few days we had ordered scrambled eggs but got omlettes so we changed to ordering omlettes to get scrambled eggs but got omlettes! On a double bluff tact we went back to ordering scambled eggs and sometimes it worked! The "sausages" were merely deep fried hot dog types and I didn't see many eaten! By the way, the shrimp omlette is excellent (eggcelent!). There was also juice although we didn't get a choice of what we received and tea or coffee. My tea came variously in a milk jug and the milk (evaporated) in a cup although the lady next to us got a teapot, out of which ran a lizard as she poured it! There was also fresh fruit and a croissant each but sometimes you got jam or butter or both, or not at all! There was also a couple of slices of very anemic looking toast, some strange rolls appeared to but these had like a hot dog sausage running through them. Cereals were available as an alternative but as with all of it, it would be nice to see what you were asking for rather than having to order it first. Personally, we wouldn't do the breakfast thing again, it was a little restricted and other food is readily available elsewhere albeit we had hired a moped/scooter for the week which greatly aided our choice and mobility.
We ate in the restaurant for the first day before we found our way about, the food is wonderful, no doubt about it but perhaps a bit more pricey than you could pay elsewhere. I had fish and the wife had duck, it was lovely.
The bungalows are nice enough but strangely without much natural light, probably because of the overhanging roof to provide somewhere to sit under outside? The air conditioning unit was effective but very noisey and we had to sometimes put up with the heat just for some quiet. The standard of construction in all of the island, is possibly less than you might hope for in all but the most expensive resorts, it was however, nice and clean and well worth the price tag. The bed was huge and really comfortable, a great playground for honeymooners!
The pool was lovely and looked great but you might want to mind children carefully, as the shallow end was about 5' and stepping into the jaccuzi meant taking care on a couple of large smooth tile steps down into it.
I hope this doesn;t all sound too negative, it's not meant to be but the more information informs the choice, well done if you've made it this far! The resort is very good value for money, the staff are are helpful and friendly. If you want a quiet, friendly and tidy resort on a great beach location, you'll do well to do better for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for the second time. Clean and comfortable rooms. Weel equipped (with PC and Internet!) Friendly staff and a nice pool. If you don't want to eat in the restaurant: there are a few other restaurants (walking distance).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a well hidden little gem providing peaceful relaxation for the exhausted traveller. Very very friendly staff who do everything to make you feel welcome and enjoy your stay. Happy to assist you in booking any kind of entertainment and providing tips where to go. Bungalows are all set in a lovely way around the pool - amidst lush green and are kept very clean and tidy. Provide you also daily with some free water in the mini fridge, beachtowels and even a beach bag! A computer with internet access (FREE) and Wi-fi (FREE) in every room - things you normally end up paying for in other Samui Hotels....is a plus for all the Facebook fanatics out there.
Tiny little walkway to the beach and reception - which is (unlike stated by other travellers) certainly not awkward unless you are in a wheelchair - people with a healthy set of legs should not have any trouble walking on a wee gravel path...maybe take off the high heels and try some flip flops, you are in Thailand after all....

Cannot comment on the breakfast, but lunch and dinner menu was very nice. Whatever it is you want : proper Thai cuisine or even a club sandwich and fries.... nothing will disappoint you there. The wee spring rolls are to die for, so are the thai salads and the steamed fish..lobster or crab also available if you give them a bit of a notice...just give it a try.
Enjoying all that - while gazing at the sea and beach.... it's sooo good, it's almost kitschy. More than once I just sat there smiling like an imbecile, because I could not believe how beautiful and perfect this all was.

This of course, is not for the fun and thrill seeker here, as yes - you will need a taxi or so ( I personally do not recommend a scooter,as most of them are not insured properly - road traffic accidents are the norm and the paramedics often just volunteers who are not very well trained either...as a Farang this could cost you dearly) to get around to Fisherman's Village (must see on Friday nights, when the street market is on!) or Chaweng, but if you are one of the partying kind I suggest looking for another location altogether anyway. For me it was enough to every now and then hire a taxi and get out and about at night, or just wander around in the vicinity and try out all the small joints nearby .... all of them family run and with excellent food and company - loads of people who have been coming to this area of Samui for ages....so it is definitely also fine for the single traveller - you will always meet a bunch of nice people to talk to. If you are not a grim, miseable excuse of a holiday maker yourself, that is.

One should definitely see Chaweng for a night out - Fisherman's Village for the market and a few nice cocktails (sold on stalls on the street) and food and souvenirs alike - Big Buddha Statue (plus a fantastic Restaurant run by a Kiwi Expat called BBC-Big Buddha Cafe' next to it - beautiful way to end the day with a beer in hand watching the sun set and munching on one of their monster crabs! But just the sunset alone would be worth it) etc,...
to then come back to a peaceful and tranquil resort and relax the hell out of it :-)

Will definitely go back there. Fantastic little resort with a homey feel to it and great ambience. Well hidden off the main road - yes, but that is a good thing in my book - keeps it nice and quiet and a secret....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was my first trip to Thailand. I spent a few nights in Bangkok them flew to Koh Samui with my friend from work. We did not have extremely high expectations of our hotel because we knew we would be dazzled by the island alone. So it was a pleasant surprise when we arrived from the airport. It is way from the crowds,has its own private beach, well manicured landscape,beautiful pool, delicious food, clean and comfortable bungalows, and last but definitely not least an amazing and friendly hotel staff.

Everyone in the nearby shops and businesses were so kind and friendly. I have already told my closest friends to stay at Koh Samui Resort Sarat Thani if they ever make it to the island.

I will miss the people,the resort,and the island terribly.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had as terrific time here. The place is very beautiful, the staff are friendly, the food is amazing and the accommodation is clean and well looked after. It was the most relaxing holiday i've had in ages. We will definitely be returning here the place was great and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Small and friendly resort far away from busy Chaweng. Beautiful beaches, quiet and small pool area. Helpful and always friendly staff. All you need for a relaxing vacation in Paradise.

Several small restaurants in the area with really nice food and reasonable prices. 10 minute walk to the main road, where you can take a taxi or local bus to the next beach or to town. 10 km to Chaweng.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort in November at the end of the low season (wet season) so the room rates were half price. That staff could not be more attentive, polite or professional and we loved our stay here. The "off the beaten path" location was perfect for us because we were seeking some rest and relaxation. The restaurant food was excellent - we had no need to dine anywhere else. The breakfast option was a good value and we not disappointed. An easy walk to other restaurants, groceries and massage but far away from noise and crowds. The beach is just a few steps away - we brought our snorkeling gear and had a great time playing in the ocean. The pool is lovely and the entire resort was well maintained. The only thing disappointing about our stay was we were here just 6 nights - wish we would have stayed for longer! We would definitely stay here again if we return to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Samui Resort

Address: 78/2 - 19 M.5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.