We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach location & pool & good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutcha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hutcha Resort to your Saves list
Hutcha Resort
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   82/11 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Mae Nam B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beach location & pool & good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful beach and the sun loungers are rarely full. Pool is clean and more sun loungers here. Rooms are small but clean and comfy bed. Bathroom is open air which initially worried me but we didn't get bitten my mosquitoes whilst in the shower so OK once used to the idea. Location is quite remote from nightlife but beach bars are very welcoming for quiet evening meal and taxis to Bo Phut are easy to flag down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    76
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
80
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We only stayed for one night. They picked us up from the airport which was nice as the hotel is hard to find. The breakfast was good and the views were beautiful. I'm not sure I would stay here for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I only spent one night here arriving quite late in the evening on my way to phangan, the hotel picked me up from the airport, a really great driver who refused my tip, the staff couldnt of been more helpful from reception to bar staff. In the morning i had a great and cheap breakfast and walked down to their amazing beach.. id definitely stay here again although id probably go for aircon next time rather than superior fan room as it was so hot.

Room Tip: Go for aircon rather than fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Office staff were lovely including Katai, Tor Tor & Nussey. The business has been sold. Sadly Katai & Nussey have left. Rooms o.k. with clean linen but outside bathroom where the mozzies seem to bite your bum.

Grounds have been let go with no one to organise staff. Food in restaurant is not very good. They need a new cook.

Horrible stench in dining area - think it must be the sewage pipes being broken. Smell was so bad earlier in March this year we had to leave. Did go back & visit 2 weeks ago & the place hasn't changed. Even with new owner, not a lot has been done. There is no music or anything going on there.

Hutcha is set back from the beach with a new hotel infront of it so you have no view plus if you have a riverside bungalow, the river is so dirty & full of mozzies so beware.

Room Tip: Just wouldn't stay there again after being there 3 times in this last year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALTON ON THAMES
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have just spent a few days here as part of a year of travelling. Decided to treat ourselves to a nicer room instead of the normal backpacker options. In fact Moon Hut Guesthouse listed as backpacker worked out more than our amazing room here. They put extra beds in one of the larger rooms for us which worked out perfectly. We mainly had the pool to ourselves, and the included breakfast was generous and lovely. Staff great to and very helpful, all with smiles. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Paid way less than 3000B a night for all of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked two weeks in Thailand without hotels etc, relying on booking.com to hop round the islands.

We stayed here after a few days, and couldn't believe how cheap it was, (£103 including breakfast for the top superior room)! The room was very clean, with a mosquito net over the bed, a very comfy clean bed, a fridge, safety deposit box included and a fab open aired bathroom, so you could shower whilst looking at the palm trees! Ok, there were some mozzies in the bathroom, as it was wet, but we were never ever bitten (but we did use Deet daily)!

The room itself was a self contained little villa, which was spacious with a balcony next to a stream, with many trees, including palms.

The geekos visited as well- again, some people may be put off by this. I loved them, they don't come anywhere near you, are very small, and if anything help by eating the bugs! I loved the nightly visits from them!

There were a couple of stray dogs, one visited in the restaurant- it never begged and was very sweet, and clean. She would even walk us to our room!

Water was left outside our door daily (like a milk delivery), and we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the resort! The staff were all very friendly, even the very busy gardeners who did a brilliant job.

The pool was spacious, and as we visited in the hot season, we had it all to ourselves!! There were plenty of deckchairs and parasols!

The beach was a couple of minutes away, and again had sun loungers! There were even two sea kayaks for the resorts use, we just didn't get a chance to use them!

The breakfast was lovely- which was included in the price. There was a choice of any type of egg, with toast or cereal, continental or cereal. Or even waffles and French toast. This all came with fresh fruit, tea coffee and juices! We were certainly full!!

We didn't use the restaurant for a evening meal, just lunch and breakfast. Lunch was also extremely good, with a large variety of Thai dishes, sandwiches or burgers. We stuck with local food, sampling something new each day which was always tasty, quick and cheap- about 80 baht for a main!

We were so impressed with this place, and will be recommending it to everyone. I'm very sad to go, writing this at Koh Samui airport!

Staff were very friendly and helped with taxis! I think the only negative was the laundry, we paid 60baht a kg, whereby just round the corner, it 40! We weren't very bothered though, seeing as it was dirt cheap and came back the very next morning!


All in all, this was a brilliant find, use the booking com website for a bargain also!

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I loved the fact that you are in your own little villa, its so nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy beautiful koh samui! The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is great. I really enjoyed the service we received. The restaurant is also very enjoyable and quite reasonably priced. I don't know what kind of tartar sauce they use, but it goes AMAZINGLY with their hot chips :). Great pool, great cocktails beautiful beach, what more can you ask for? Were super helpful in arranging tours and have bikes that you can hire for the day. Also their dog is really sweet :) If we return to Thailand we will be back.

Michelle and David- Australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutcha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutcha Resort

Address: 82/11 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hutcha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutcha's design is chic and comfortable; simply designed modern stucco huts blend smooth tile floors with natural thatch decorated room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hutcha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutcha Hotel Mae Nam
Hutcha Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutcha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.