We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Brighton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“5* Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We have just returned from a 7 night half-board stay at this hotel. It really is as good as most of the recent past reviews have indicated. We could not fault it in any way and would highly recommend it to anybody looking for a relaxed stay in a beautiful building with very professional staff throughout.

The dining at breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant was a real experience. The room is the main hall to the original villa with smaller rooms coming off it on both sides. It manages to retain a real intimate feel, but is actually a large room with a very high ceiling and a false balcony on 3 sides. It is very tastefully decorated to fully retain the character of the old building. The food is outstanding in every way and is based on Mediterranean cuisine. Expertly prepared and silver served by very attentive staff.

The bedrooms are large and very comfortable with good facilities and very good beds allowing a fine nights rest. Ours was also very quiet.

The hotel facilities include a fine indoor pool with associated steam room, Jacuzzi and sauna, and a large outdoor pool, although the water is getting a bit cooler now as we approach the end of October.

The staff throughout are all really nice and cannot do enough for you, they go out of their way to help with any queries or issues you may have. The general manager is always around keeping his staff on their toes and is very friendly, even helping out in the dining hall when needed.

We thought the hotel was very well placed in a relatively quiet part of the island and on a very good bus route to all parts of the island. Compared with the tourist parts we visited or passed through it could not be more different.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    212
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
100
416
30
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

From the personal welcome by the general manager to the small details provided by housekeeping you know that you are at home at this hotel.

An exceptional level of service provided by staff that enjoy, embrace and rise to any challenge that you might set and then some.

A great location from which to tour to the island. Huge rooms with good quality bedding, air conditioning and design.

No worries about the rooms, services, location, restaurants, bars, staff etc.

Expect hotel bar prices if you are drinking in but there’s a great choice, good cocktails, piano music.

Breakfast was good with a good selection. Service second to none.

Didn't have time to take it the spa treatments but spoke with many who had. Again great feedback on the quality of treatments, two pools, steam, sauna & lots of towels.

Free shuttle service into Valletta, golf clubs, beach and other locations on request. You can also arrange tours, get advice on attractions, arrange for special occasions, flowers, birthdays and anything else that you might require.

The food at the Rickshaw was fantastic as was the main restaurant but don't forget the local restaurants.

Negatives? Well outside of the hotel there are two restaurants, a wine bar and a great coffee and cake shop - and that's it.

A hire car is recommended but not if you're an inexperienced driver. Taxis and the famous buses are on hand.

If you need to know anything else drop me an email.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antlet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

a very enjoyable stay, it was comfortable and clean, the facilites of the palace are very good, my only suggestion would be to heat the pool outside of summer. The staff were fantastic and very helpful at all times.

Its not central to the sights, but they have daily buses to the major tourist areas so it depends on what you're after, it worked well for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband & myself stayed 29 sept- 5 Oct, and had no problems whatsoever, prior to going I would read the reviews on here and think guests must have gone to 2 different hotels, the views are either so pro or so anti, with no middle ground, I admit some areas of the hotel are possibly a little shabby, but to us it added to the charm of the elegance of the hotel, the staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble, and for our part we would rather stay at an hotel were we are people and not just anonoymous faces which so often happens with many " 5star " establishments, a recent review heavily critisised breakfast, but again I don't know how, we had no problems at all, we did have a dissappointing meal at the pizza restaraunt, but that was one out of a week, so can live with that, overall we had a lovely stay and would certainly return, I suggest perhaps the moaners left their check lists at home and just enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This hotel is located far from Valetta. All areas are large.
Garden needs extensive landscaping work.
Sauna needs renovation.
Steamroom had been out of order 7 weeks prior to my stay. This I regretted since it is one of my choice's criteria. Next time I'll call to make sure it is available.
Buffet breakfast very varied in classy hall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Fabulous, classy, clean and quiet.....cheap as chips too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Third visit over a period of 5 years. Facilities and standard of service remain high. Good value for money, especially if you are flexible on dates - the price varies quite a bit over short periods of time. Will be back

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.