We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Corinthia Palace Hotel in Attard, Malta is simply wonderful, so relaxing it is like a 'massage of the mind'. Nothing is too much trouble for their professional and very friendly staff. The pool area is beautiful and the waiter service second to none. This is a palace by name and nature, marble flooring, walls and pillars, beautiful gardens and thoughtful layouts, spotlessly clean with diligent attention to detail. Couple this with Malta Sun and warm Mediterranean breeze and the excursions, leads to a memorable and worthwhile holiday. We have never been so relaxed and looked after. Our thanks go to all staff at the Corinthia Palace, very well done.

Room Tip: We think a room off the ground floor would make best use of the room balcony as it would add scenic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

It is a particularly warming experience to see your positive comments, and gratifying to know that you were pleased with our efforts to provide superior service.

We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back soon and should you require any assistance with your booking, please do not hesitate to email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    224
    68
    24
    5
See reviews for
117
444
31
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past 15 years and its best asset is without doubt the staff. They are all very good, but I must mention some by name. Anna on reception was not only efficient but charming. Similarly we had superb service from Raymond and his excellent staff in the Villa Corinthia restaurant. The rooms and bathrooms however are beginning to look a little tired and in need of an update. The most disappointing aspect of our 14 night holiday was the limited menu at the Villa Corinthia restaurant. Having booked our holiday on a half board basis we were forced into eating in the Rickshaw oriental restaurant and the poolside Pizza and Pasta restaurant to achieve a degree of variety and avoid selecting the same or similar meals each night. I would still recommend this hotel but for stays of over 7 nights, perhaps bed and breakfast would be a better option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We have read your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa and, on behalf of all team members especially those you highlighted, thank you most sincerely for your kind comments.

I have placed a copy of your feedback on our noticeboard for all to read as I find it to be very encouraging.

We also appreciate your constructive comments as such advice helps us in our endeavour to improve our efficiency, and are pleased to advise you that we are in fact changing Villa Corinthia Menu as of next week.

In the meantime, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and thank you again for your valued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited the hotel once again in August,we are well into double figures since 2002,and each time is an absolute pleasure.New features this year include the pizza pasta being moved to the side of the lower pool,still vey nice with the pool lights on and the food as good as ever.The old area is now for worship to the sun god,this we found very good, at times we were the only ones there.Quiet and with plenty of shade if required,which it was and a shallow dip in the fountain pool as well.The service and food quality in all restaurants is still as good as ever,with breakfast being a delight to the days start.The Rickshaw has consistently been one of our favourites in Malta and with Memely and her attentive staff the standards never drop.If you can't get a good nights sleep in the double or should is say treble bed you never will,so very comfortable.The staff are too numerous to mention who aim to please and be of service suffice to say,Raymond and all San Anton room staff,The Caprice lads,Martin Manny and Matthew in concierge and Curran Anna and Ivan on the front desk deserve a special mention,and yes the pool boys who always were willing to help and assist each dayIf you want value for your money,good food and service together with the quiet and ambience of a quality hotel this is the place to stay,mix with the locals in the nearby villages and sample real life in Malta.Cant wait till next Easter.

Room Tip: The third floor has a little bit more to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa last month.
It is a particularly warming experience to receive comments such as yours, and gratifying to know that you were pleased with our efforts to provide superior service and exceptional food.
We believe that the loyalty of guests who take the time to post such feedback is our greatest asset in maintaining quality and hence I have taken the liberty of placing a copy of your review on our staff noticeboard to be enjoyed by every member of our team.
Meantime, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Corinthia Palace Hotel, your home in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent few lovely days in Malta and stayed at this hotel. Everything went well and the staff were very helpful. To get around we hired a car and there is a public free car park right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

My team and I are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we helped to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and do send me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commequiers, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Corinthia Palace Hotel three times this year already and have just booked a fourth stay there for November. This hotel was a beautiful Maltese villa which has been very tastefully converted into an hotel retaining its beauty and elegance, the main dining room is quite amazing complete with minstrels gallery. The hotel grounds are well kept and the pools very clean, a beautiful place of tranquillity extremely relaxing.
All the hotel staff are exrtremely helpful and friendly, they all have the guests best interests at heart, nothing is too much trouble - my husband developed a sore throat on our last visit and Jennifer brought hot milk and honey to the room for him - amazing, helpful service.
The food in the Corinthia room (formal) and in the Rickshaw (oriental) is superb quality and very well presented. In Summer the pool bar restaurant services, pizza, pasta around the pool, a lovely atmosphere here in the warm evenings |(informal)
The Athenaeum is a place of tranquility with pool, sauna, steam room and various treatments available, again very pleasant staff. There is a large gym with plenty of equipment to suit all fitness requirements.
Can not recommend this hotel and its staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Third floor executive rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Allow me to thank you most sincerely for the complimentary comments you kindly posted on Trip Advisor following your third stay with us this year.
We are so happy to note that you find the atmosphere, our hotel facilities, grounds and most of all, the service given by all members of our team so impressive.
I have placed a copy of your feedback on our notice board for all to read as I find that it is always a good boost for all team members, including those at the back of house.
We are extremely happy to note that you will once again be returning in November and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Corinthia Palace Hotel, your home in Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it is highly recommended.The staff are fabulous and the hotel grounds are the best I have ever seen absolute tranquility at night with fountains and exotic plants and trees.The reception staff couldn't do more for me especially Anna and indeed all of the staff were great that is what makes a 5 star hotel in my opinion and it was lovely to add that they spoke to you by 1st name terms in the restaurant- a nice touch and I have stayed in many 5 star hotels but didn't experience the first name bit .The hotel is well out of the way so peace and tranquility are achievable,public transport is close by and taxis are available from the hotel although they are a little costly so if you can hire a car that may be a good thing,I should add that they drive on the left so this suits all UK and Ireland guests.There is a free bus to Valletta daily and the swimming pool and spa are excellent.I will return here and I met a couple who are back for the 7th time so that lets you know that they must be good.I know that the bedroom furnishings are not in keeping with a 5 star establishment but I understand that this is being dealt with during a future period of planned maintenance where room upgrades will be done.The huge bed however was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in and I at first thought it was a waterbed.The quality of food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast was also fine although I would have expected to have had waiter service for breakfast in a 5 star establishment.I will definitely return to this hotel if I am back in Malta which I think will be the case.So in summary it is money well spent for a classy hospitality experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments which we have received through Trip Advisor following your three night’s stay at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

It is indeed pleasing to get such positive feedback from guests who have experienced our hotel and we are glad to note that the hotel’s location, ambience and service were to your satisfaction.

We do hope that you return visit will be in the near future and when you have decided on dates, please do email me on: david.woodward@corinthia.com.

Thank you once again.

David Woodward - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times in the last few years, I still have mixed feelings about the place.

It is a lovely old Maltese building set in the quiet heart of the island and surrounded by the most wonderful mature gardens.

The Corinthia Palace is faded elegance in a sea of marble, until you get into one of the tiny lifts and wonder if you are ever going to reach floor three. The rooms are comfortable with huge beds and the air conditioning is pleasant and not as fierce as in many places nowadays. However, the windows betray its age and the doors and decor are starting to look dated. The pool is one of my favourite in the world and I always enjoy a lunch in the excellent pool side restaurant. Unfortunately a superb pasta salad is let down by following it with tasteless ice cream smothered in ghastly synthetic 'cream' squirted on top. This echo of the 70s is unforgivable in a top notch hotel on an island which now has superb and delicious italian style ice cream readily available on every street corner. To give the staff their due, when my wife and I returned our ice cream, they did give us a complimentary liquor as a compensation.

The evening set meal for our party of 40 (which we have had there for the last 12 years on the same date) was something of a Curate's egg: 'good in parts' and four of the party returned their fish which was clearly 'off' and should not have been served. The staff seem to have lost their edge and became very slow at replenishing glasses.

Nevertheless, we will probably return next year, even if it is just to wallow in the glorious swimming pool and its ambience.

As the Corinthia group seems to be expanding around the world, I do feel that some investment in this, their first hotel, I believe, would be money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We have read your comments on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay at our Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa.

Whilst we are pleased to note that in general our facilities and services were up to your expectaions, however we also note your constructive feedback about our food, mainly in Pizza Pasta e Basta.

Would you kindly drop me an email on david.woodward@corinthia.com as I would like to appreciate further details about the food, particularly at the pool Restaurant.

In the meantime, we thank you once again for taking the time to insert your post on Trip Advisor.

With best regards


David Woodward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: De Paule Avenue, San Anton, Island of Malta BZN 9023, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > San Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised midway between Malta’s capital, Valletta, and the so-called ‘silent’ city of Mdina, and just a short distance from the 17th century San Anton Presidential Palace, the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa is an oasis of serenity.Originally built in the 19th century as a luxury private villa, the grand design and immaculately-landscaped gardens have inspired guests from around the world.Now an icon in our international portfolio, and a pioneer of signature facilities such as our Athenaeum Day Spa and Orient-inspired Rickshaw Restaurant, the Palace remains a testament to sumptuous living and time-honoured personal service.The Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Inspired opulence in the Land of Honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Palace Hotel San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel And Spa
Wyndham San Anton
Corinthia Palace Hotel Malta
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa Malta/San Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.