We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not pay for your room until you inspect it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 2D Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel 2D Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel 2D Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Neptun I, Neptun 905550, Romania (Formerly Hotel Sulina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Neptun
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not pay for your room until you inspect it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Travelling with Friends, we booked two rooms for the long weekend in August. Our rooms were on the lower levels ...the smell was horrendous! Our complaints were certainly dealt with politely and we were given rooms on the next level up (still in the lower area on the left of the complex)... To no avail...whilst the smell was certainly less, it was still there. We requested a refund of our money (which was happily refunded) and we went elsewhere. The pool/ bar area is fantastic ....the beach is 7 minute walk from the back of the hotel. Definitely only book rooms on the right of the hotel...if none available I strongly recommend you look elsewhere. Breakfast was survival of the fittest ...you literally have to fight for everything!

Room Tip: Only book rooms on the right of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and our 6 year old daughter and overall the experience was good. The room we stayed in was spacious and the double bed was big and comfortable so the three of us fitted in quite comfortably. When we first got to the hotel, they assigned us a renovated room without a balcony which was a 4* but we decided to swap for a room with a balcony which was a 3*. The rooms are very clean and the service is good, especially for Romania which in my experience is not always the case. The bathroom is very small, the shower is tiny and could do with renovation.The staff at the reception desk were friendly and again, this is not always common in Romania. The hotel facilities were good, the indoor and outdoor pools were kept clean at all times as well as the shower and changing rooms.
The only negative comment I have is about the breakfast - the food was of very bad quality and the juice (if you can call it that way) was particularly horrible and undrinkable. They did have other juice available in the same breakfast area but when I tried to use it, they told me it was only for 'all inclusive' guests so guests that booked full board. My daughter had to drink water instead. Why offer cheap nasty juice to some guests and decent juice to others? I paid for a 4* experience which includes breakfast and the fact that the hotel is trying to save money by offering bad quality food is a real let down. A 4* service should be offered across all facilities and that includes breakfast. I do recommend this hotel but if breakfast is important to you, I suggest you get it elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony which is handy to hang your wet towels out after returning from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel has 2 buildings: one restored and one not, make sure you seek accommodation in the renovated, located on the right as you enter.
The rooms are spacious, Mediterranean-style furnished, new furniture style Mobexpert, large bed, roomy bed with good mattress with wicker trim on the walls and lampshades, everything in Mediterranean style ... As already change the camera to about 4 *.
Hotel front lawn was freshly trimmed and watered, with light reflecting between pavers.

Pools, there are three: one inside unheated though they boast that yes, swimming pool for adults and one for children are ok and big enough, clean water is pumped continuously without chlorination too strong, cleaned of impurities or any leaves. Sunbeds although without mattresses are clean, very well maintained, no showers.

As services change job pool here, there is a bar where many beverages brew theoretically, practically, in the evening, there were lemons for lemonade and lemon frappe becomes a long and possibly swollen foam. No Piccoli exist for about 4 but some kids are off the streets without little experience Carere had to pray to bring you a coffee, I do pay attention you want something, their main concern is to sit quietly in the shade and discuss among themselves.

About receptor that is highlighted in the official description says I have no bad: it is large, roomy armchairs and sofas, baths 4-8 5 * (so you can) with air conditioning and it did take your eyes . What good that just do not sleep in reception. By the way, only wireless reception and lobby.

The restaurant is spacious with comfortable chairs and tables but lacking blinds that you forbid morning sun beat straight in her direction and the AC not cope at all. For ex. butter into cubes after 3 min to bring the room was so warm it was all melted. Of course you can dine on the outdoor terrace but there are only 10 tables ...

Breakfast quite varied but remained the same during the entire week.

Place the food place was cramped, small, just 1 coffee machine, toaster and considering one of about 250 rooms, the morning queued around platters of food which put a bit questionable hygiene around the table.

About beach and sea: the hotel with a small child doing about 15-20 min to the beach on foot, besides Island hotel restaurant, bypassing the right or left bypassing 20-30 min (where there is more vegetation, are benches and overlooks vilute smekere closed circuit very well maintained green space and more).

The beach is divided between those chairs and bedding (further back). During the week sunbed - £ 15 over the weekend - 20 lei. They have large thatched umbrellas with 4 chairs for (rent as many as you).

I do not know whether to recommend to the full hotel or not but considering other offers at least 3 * Neptune still inclined to think that I would need to stand again on this hotel ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a renovated hotel, located in quiet area, next to Neptun Lake and close to the beach (aprox.300m) and very close to the center of Neptun (aprox.200m).
Our clients, were delighted by this hotel. They appreciated the big outside pool, children pool, indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, spa, fitness, varied buffet breakfast.
We recommend this hotel mainly for the families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was very disappointed about quality of bed mattress ;bathroom are very small and installation its very bad.Pool and facilities are good but very short running program.Breakfest and dinner was good.About parking can not speak ,practically did not exist .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Leaves to be desired when it comes to cleanliness. The bathroom is particulary dirty. Moreover, strange smells sometimes come from a hole in the pipe duct (which itself looks quite scary).
Not the most confortable mattresses (perhaps they are already starting to show their age).

On the good side: quiet area, good breakfast, not a bad redesign for an old hotel, aircon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatina, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

First of all now the hotel name is 2D (hotel sulina and hotel dobrogea form the 2D*** hotel). I stay there for 6 nights and it was a nice staying. The most liked was a nice dinner to the pool on the last night.

Room Tip: The rooms from the main floor don't have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 2D Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 2D Resort & Spa

Address: Lake Neptun I, Neptun 905550, Romania (Formerly Hotel Sulina)
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Neptun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Neptun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 2D Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 2D Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 2D Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.