We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all inclusive more like full board” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tuntas Hotel Altinkum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tuntas Hotel Altinkum to your Saves list
Tuntas Hotel Altinkum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 sk No 2, Didim 09270 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Didim
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not all inclusive more like full board”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A bit disapointed with the facilitys , it says 2 resturants , they only have 1 , no snacks at all , same food all week , no out door snacks availabe, resturant has not got any air conditioning , room tidy. Freindly staff , no ice cream or drink faciltys in rooms

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    196
    115
    70
    108
See reviews for
258
252
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came on holiday to altinkum as our first holiday away we booked online and were overly pleased at our arrival we were checked in by the friendly gent on reception and took upto our neat cosy room by our fave member of staff charlie, room was neat tidy and cleaned everyday, pool area was busy and decent music was played daily aswell as fun games, location was amazing on beach front with 15 min walk into dolphin square the over all experience was amazing we were sad to come home and we cannot wait to return next year! Thankyou!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is quite a long review but I want to be thorough and honest.

We were staying at the apartments, which meant all our food and inclusive drinks were at the hotel, which you have to walk to (but they’re very close). Drinks at the apartments are NOT included even if you have paid to for an all-inclusive holiday. When we arrived, the two men on reception seemed very confused about our booking, ignoring us and talking in Turkish to eachother, but we did eventually get given a room. The room was really lovely, spacious, clean etc, with a lounge area and a kitchenette and fridge (although the shower/bath is small and quite hard to manoeuvre) overall no complaints. The air con wasn’t working and the light on our balcony was broken, which was quite annoying when we arrived. However, both these issues were rectified by the next day. You should note that if you don't have bug spray you will be bitten to death! You couldn't see bugs flying around everywhere or anything gross like that, but they seem to get you in the night :(

The staff all seemed nice and helpful, however communication was quite difficult as they didn’t seem to understand everything we were saying.

We were actually grateful to be staying in the apartments when we saw the pool at the hotel. There is no sunloungers, you have to sunbathe on the beach, and you’re under shades anyway! However there was a larger pool at our apartments with many sunbeds, so lots of choice of tanning position – although we picked a quiet time of year, going early June.

The first day we went along the beach where all the shops and restaurants were, we were shocked. All the shop owners yell at you to come into their shop and try and engage you in conversation. If you ignore them, they sometimes call out abuse to you. It can get quite tiresome after walking down the long road of shops with this constantly going on. For the rest of our holiday, we were expecting it so it wasn’t so bad, and learnt that generally if you say “No, thankyou” they will just stop and leave you alone. It’s still pretty annoying though.

Location-wise, it was good, there were a lot of shops and restaurants nearby, however they do all sell pretty much the same stuff, souvenirs and whatnot. The customer service in general was good… except the fact that sometimes it verged on annoying with how much they try and engage you in conversation, even if you’re in the middle of your meal or whatever. Also I found the men were quite creepy at times.

The food in the hotel was good, it did get a BIT samey, especially the breakfast foods which had no variation whatsoever, but I didn’t really mind this, and we did go out to eat at restaurants two of the seven nights we were there. The food itself was really nice, well cooked and we didn’t get ill or anything!

The entertainment quite frankly was crap. Maybe it is slightly better when the hotel is busier and children are out of school, I don’t know, but while we were there it was not very good at all, just the wait-staff dancing or something.

Overall, I had a good holiday, owing to the company and the fabulous weather, but I would not return here, or actually return to Turkey at all. This is just my personal opinion but it just wasn’t really to my liking, I think in the future we’ll be sticking to Spanish holidays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our holiday got off to a bad start on arrival in Turkey when the coach driver couldn't find the hotel. He even had trouble finding Altinkum and managed to make a 90 minute transfer last 4 hours. On arriving at 1:30 in the morning we were met by the manager and night staff who quickly sorted our room key & a couple of cold beers! The hotel is clean & the staff are friendly & helpful. I wouldn't say it was the most disabled friendly as the lift from reception required you to either climb or descend about a dozen steps. if you are wheelchair bound it may be worth checking. The restaurant area was a bit like a staff canteen. The staff ensured it was clean but the decor was bland. Tablecloths especially for the evening meal would have smartened the area considerably. The food especially salads was always well prepared, but the main course lacked variety. You were OK if you liked grilled chicken chips & rice. Other options of meat dishes were available and were well prepared but the supporting cast was invaribly chips & rice. If you do need to improve your dining experience there are a number of good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel along the promenade around the bay towards the marina. Don't expect much in the way of class acts for your evening entertainment, however, the entertainment staff do their utmost to ensure the limited resources at their disposal are enjoyed by as many people as possible. The pool is small for the size of hotel and apart from a small childrens pool the depth is 2 metres. There are no sunbeds around the pool probably due to the limited space. This isn't a problem as the hotel has its own allocated beach area within five steps of the pool. The sunbeds seem to be crammed in a little but if you don't mind a 50 yard walk and spending 15TL a day for two beds with mattresses and a parasol, the beach widens out and you are less hemmed in still with easy access to the gently sloping waterline. I say easy but there is generally a short stony area to cross first. The beach is protected by a lifeguard team who believe it or not do take their task seriously. Ignore the negative comments above these are just my personal opinion on how it could be better. I really believe this is a value for money hotel that will do its utmost to make you feel that you have had a holiday! My wife and I probably wont go back but if the price is right wouldn't hesitate to suggest it as a place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We would not return to Tuntas Hotel.

The hotel is very clean, rooms are percectly fine with Air Conditioning and a hairdryer. Staff are all very friendly and do there best to help all the time. They all work very hard.

The food is cooked well, but has no variety. There is only 4 hot plates.

Breakfast never changes. You get boiles eggs, mini sausages, baked beans and scrambles egg. The omelette guy was only there the second half of our holiday.

Dinner is either chicken beef or meatballs. With chips or rice or pasta. Even though it tastes nice, It gets discusting after eating the same things for 10 nights.

There is no sun loungers around the tiny tiny pool - only table and chairs. If u want a lounger u must go down the beach which is always busy and has parasols that cant go down, so ur shaded anyway.

The entertainment is terrible. Some nights there was nothing on at all. If you want to turkish dance every night then come here. This ruined our holiday. We bookes this because its a jet 2 family favourites hotel so se expect great entertainment. We done excursions like the boat trip and water park which made up for it. I recommend the aqua land waterpark!!!

The animation team are nice though. Boris Mario and Lauren are really nice people- i think they work on a low budget.

Day activities are limited. There was no kids club or anything simular. They played french bowls for 20 mins most days and threw spoons in the pool which you had to jump in and get.

Overall, only stay here if you plan on sleeping here... and going out every night for entertainment. Because it will be a waist of ur money. Dont expect ice cream for kids either. This hotel is suited for older couples or turkish families. YOUNG COUPLES AND FAMILIES WITH YOUNG KIDS STAY CLEAR.

PS: If you are going to eat out, Asia Minor just up the beach and to the right does an amazing green pepper steak. Try it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hi there,

I wondered if anyone had any advice, I am due to go all inclusive to the Tuntas Hotel, end of August for 2 weeks and have recently been diagnosed with Celiac Disease (Gluten Free products) - I wondered if anyone has been all inclusive in the restaurant and saw any signs saying Gluten Free food?
All advice would be appreciated.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel was fine we didn't like the no loungers round the pool instead the loungers were down on the beach (down about 10 steps from the very small pool) but to each their own.Food was well cooked but menu lacked a bit of choice unless you liked chicken or kebabs.Staff were all pleasant helpful and friendly.The resort itself was lovely and from the hotel about a 10 minute walk along the promenade into the centre, from the hotel.The people as usual were friendly and not at all intrusive though certainly if passing a restaurant they would ask "would you you like to come in" but would accept "a no thank you".If you do eat out then try Pinnochio's which we both enjoyed the food being very good and I think it was the Wednesday night there was live entertainment, but they'll keep you right (might have to book as it seemed very popular), which was enjoyable.So all in all we enjoyed our stay in Altinkum but wouldn't go back to the Tuntas purely because of the lounger arrangement and lack of food choice.Also watch which water cooler you use (1 in dining room and 1 in pool bar) as we saw a staff member giving a dog (plenty of them around the hotel) a drink from the bar cooler and then the dog was up licking the nozzle of the cooler spout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuntas Hotel Altinkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuntas Hotel Altinkum

Address: 76 sk No 2, Didim 09270 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuntas Hotel Altinkum 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuntas Hotel Altinkum welcomes back guests each year with a sandy beach on its doorstep. Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum is a well-maintained hotel in lively surrounding. This comfortable and popular hotel is an ideal choice for families and couples wanting a good standard base from the area further. Location : On the beach, Local Shops 50m away, 800m from the town centre. Facilities : Pool with terrace; free sunloungers; Sea Front Poolside bar serving snacks all day; Lounge Lobby bar with satellite TV; Split Level Open Buffet Restaurant 24 hours reception service; For Children separate section of pool; cot bed; Hotel Rooms have twin beds (plus child bed if required) or double bed + single bed, telephone, satellite TV, air-conditioning, safe box, hair dryer, mini fridge, shower room or full bathroom, balcony. Activities : All Water sports, horse riding, Dart, Chess, Free internet at Lobby, soft animation, live music once a week. 134 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Tuntas Hotel Altinkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altinkum Tuntas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuntas Hotel Altinkum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.