We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Wings Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Wings Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palm Wings Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Altinkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21, Didim, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Didim
Essex, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Firstly, I start off by saying that we paid in total £530 for 2 for 1 week though Teletext holidays via Sun Wings. We meet a couple who went through First Choice @ just over £600 EACH (although for 2 weeks but still way too much), so shop around before you book.

Anyways, we were basically expecting what we paid for i.e not great, but the hotel had everything you needed and more.

Although hotel rated as a 5*, it's not. But apparently, in Turkey, the 5*'s are what we would class as 3* and you wouldn't wanna go any less then a 5* in Turkey.

Transfer from Bodrum airport was about 1hr 30mins, although our driver did take us to the wrong hotel first of all (thank god!) and made a few wrong turns so could possible be quicker.

Check-in:
Check-in was smooth - there was approx 20 people checking in at the same time. There was a help yourself bar with hot/soft drinksWe did have to wait some time for the Bell-boys to come meets us and take us to our rooms but me and my boyfriend decided to find our room ourselves.

Room:
Our room was very spacious. Double bed – although a few couples got twin beds and went to reception to complain but got moved straight away to a double room. Loads of wardrobe space and draws.
Flat screen LDC TV on the wall but tiny size for the room. TV had 2 News channels, movie (movies I’d never heard of) and Music Channel – but who goes on holiday to watch TV anyway!?
There is a mini Fridge but this is filled with only one bottle of water each day.
Plenty of plugs in the room (European) and loads of Lighting. Full length mirror with large mirror in bathroom and large dressing table mirror.
Bathroom was very clean but yes the shower does leak ….alot! We rolled up the foot towels around the shower to soak up the water and they would be soaking wet when we had finished showering. But no big deal for us – it’s only water.

Swimming Pool.
Oh my god, the swimming pool was FREEZING. We had a day that was about 35c and was still cold. It ended up being a game of who would be the bravest to get in, and then stay in it. Recommend that you just go down the slides so then you got no choice! The slides by the way are great fun – although maybe give the blue one (black hole type slid) a miss as I was told that there is a big bump in the middle of it. The slides are only on at certain times of the day and are manned by a life guard. The pool was massive though with a bit of the pool a spa bit – although this was never turned on. There was a tiny separate kids pool. I would say though that the hotel holds 800 people and there is no way enough beds or space at the bar if the hotel was full.

Bars
The only bars that were open was the Beach Bar, Pool Bar and Lobby Bar and the only inclusive alcoholic drinks was beer, white/red wine, gin, vodka, whisky and vanilla liquor. I did dare to look at the cocktail list but quickly walked away from that idea – looking around £8 for a cocktail. The waiters were quick though and know near on every time what you were drinking. There was no favouritism depending on what nationality you were.

Food
There is early Breakfast, Late Breakfast, Lunch, Snacks and Dinner.
Oh my god the main restaurant was amazing. The staff went all out in decorating it with carvings out of fruit and decorations of food. So much to choose from - from about 20 salad dishes, main food dishes and loads of choice of deserts. Although food is aimed at adults i.e no kiddies food like chicken nuggets or fish fingers or what ever kids eat. There was always a Turkish specialty – different each night on offer. Never made it for early breakfast but late breakfast consisted of the usual sausage eggs, bacon etc and cereals, freshly made omlets, and salad. Bread for toast with about 5 different flavours of jam.
There was smoking aloud in the restaurant, with no smoking areas, but I was told that the smoking ban comes into effect in turkey in June?
Snacks were chips, pizza, burgers and some sort of meat bread. Snakes were served on the outside decking area with gorgeous views over the sea.
There was a part of the day where coned ice-cream was served at the pool bar – Vanilla, Choc and Strawberry. Very yummy and refreshing! Had no complaints with the food what so ever – loads of choice and always fresh and hot.

Beach and Quay.
The hotel is built into a cliff with stairs – landscaped really well – down to the beach area, although this was not a big area. There was a decking area surrounding the beak with beds and also a quay going out into the sea again decked with beds. There is a beach bar serving soft and alcoholic drinks. Didn’t vist the beach much – spent most of the time round the pool.

Entertainment
Only thing that was bad about our stay as the entertainment didn’t exist. Every night there was a disco from about 8 till 1ish – all inclusive finishes at 12. The hotel had only opened for the season a week prior to our arrival and assume that entertainment was yet to be arranged. The Entertainment team did their best though , getting people up in the evening to play a few games although this was repetitive. There was water polo, darts, bowls etc during the day.

Other facilities:
There is a spa area with the Turkish Baths, massage rooms and Fitness Centre – and as the hotel is only a year old, these areas are still amazing. The massage areas are filled with scented candles with relaxing ocean music. The Turkish Bath area has a steam and sauna room. Please note though there is an excursion to go out for a Turkish Bath for 10 Euros (£10) but we went on this and worst experience ever. The place we went to was a back street place with dirty Turkish men doing the massages. The place also smelt degusting like dirty water. We all felt cleaner before we went in. Recommend that you pay the extra and have the Turkish bath in the hotel I think it was 33 euros) as it would be well worth it.

Surrounding Area and Shops:
About a 5 min walk you come to local shops selling all the usual tourist things with restaurants/bars. I suggest you try and make it out once or twice for the breakfast as you get a massive full English for about £2!
Walking in a straight line along the main beach about 10 mins walk you will find loads of bars which are open to 4am. Entertainment in the bars are excellent and all the Turks are friendly with waiter service at the tables.
There are loads of shops selling all the fake designer clothes, bags, purses, shoes etc but be prepared to haggle! The shop assistances always start off with a price which is way to much and you could easily get to at least half of what they started at. Sometimes though the shop assistance did get a bit much – always trying to get you in to their shops – word of warning, do not shake their hands as they won’t let go and drag you in to the shop. The PR people outside the bars and Restaurant also stood outside trying to get you to come in but once you said no they got the message.
There were also a few beaty places and Turkes Barbers. Well recommended for the boys to go and get a turkesh shave and the ladies to get a pedicure - £6 for full pedicure – so cheap and you get the full works!!!!

Staff
All staff was friendly and helpful.
We did have an issue with our safe – it was already locked on our arrival and took 2 days to sort out, but we never chased them and it was dealt with. On the 3rd day, the actual manager came to our room to apologise for any inconvenience and asked if there was anything we needed. We didn’t even complain and I was so taken back that the manager had got off his own back and came to apologise that I couldn’t think of anything we needed – until I was walking back to the pool and though of a million and one things!
The waiters in the main restaurant didn’t speak very good English but were learning new words by the day and they were all so sweet and wanted to help.
The maids were also very good. Rooms were cleaned top to bottom every day and made pretty patters out of towels and bed sheets on the bed.

Overall
We loved it and wanted to stay out for another week – and really would of if it wasn’t for work. But everyone has their own opinions but there is nothing wrong with this hotel unless perhaps you are a snob and expect the earth.
We have been to Mexico, Cuba, Dominican and loads of other places and would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone and most likely will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    323
    141
    48
    20
See reviews for
628
242
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I would just like to say to any vegetarians considering Palm Wings DO NOT WORRY.
We stayed here last August and I found the vegetarian options good.

As previous guests have said this is an excellent place and we spent a very happy week sunbathing on the decking area and soaking up the sun. Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Me and my girlfriend wanted a week in the sun to simply relax and do nothing but get a little sunshine.

The transfer was a bit of a nightmare as we arrived at the airport late, waited an hour for everyone to get on the bus and stopped 1 hour in to the journey at an eatery. At 1am this was a pain as 45mins were spent while people bought food and drink at massively inflated prices.e.g. £2 for a bag of crisps. Big rip-off. 1 hour later we checked in, another hour. We got to bed close to 3am

Next day we woke up and realised we were 800 metres from pool and main area. I went to reception and asked ( with £20 in hand) if it was possible to move closer. They upgraded us to a family room in an excellent location, £20 well spent.

Food very good but a bit samey after a week. I like spicy food so found the food in need of a little pep. I asked for chilli but they didn't have any as they had run out. For me kababs should be hot
so take tabassco with you

The resort is beautiful, 100% on location and amenities top draw. Great pool, staff friendly and if you are happy to swim, eat drink and be merry you will not do better in Turkey than this place i promise you.

Altinkum itself is a little tacky and i would not recommend it

The on-site shop is twice the price of shops outside. Leave complex by the main entrance and turn left through muti-storey apartments. within 150 metres there is a shop selling everything you could ever want. The shopkeeper speaks excellent English.

We organised a turkish massage in Altinkum through the rep. Good value and a lot of fun but Juliet (My girlfriend) said it was a little seady. I could not see it but there you go.

Juliet had a massage and sauna on site and although it is expensive she said it was amazing.

On the whole, an excellent place an would recommend it for anybody wanting 1 week of relaxing. If you are there to experience Turkish culture go elsewhere.

  • Liked — clean and HUGE room
  • Disliked — Original room too far from pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

we stayed in Palm Wings for 2 weeks, we had many problems..

WE DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!

IT IS A TURKISH 5 * EQUIVALENT TO A UK 3 *

BEWARE - BEWARE

1. 95% Staff don't speak english
2. No food options for vegetarian guests.
3. A nightmare getting to the beach, lot's and lot's of stairs and we have a baby - so getting the pram down was hard work - we only did it the once. The beach is not sandy.
4. Swimming poolside very slipery, whilst we were by the poolside a lady slipped and ended up in hospital with a broken collar bone - ouch.
5. A friend of ours ate some chicken - cut it with a klnife - it was bleeding - uncooked.
6. A nightmare trying to get a late check out, when 90% of the rooms were empty as we went off season!!!!
7. No entertainment - we were told as the hotel was closing soon not much entertainment will be provided..well there was 1 belly dance which was very good and 2 nights of bingo.
8. This hotel is not baby or disabled friendly- not enough slopes!!!

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

  • Liked — swimming pool-water was too cold in oct though
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Initally, we hadn't actually booked to stay here, but after problems with our hotel choice - Delta Beach (see review), we paid £70 extra to transfer here.

We had a fab holiday - 3rd Oct 08 for two weeks. The hotel is excellent, accom was cleaned every day, fresh sheets and towels too. We stayed in room 1617, this was in a good location, overlooking the pool on one side and the ocean on the other. it was only a few steps to the pool area and pool bar and a short stroll to the restaurant and beach.

The food was excellent and staff were very attentive. Sesu - one of the bar staff had good customer service, always smiling and went out of his way to assist guests needs.

Breakfast is from 7.30am - 10am then late breakfast 10am-11am but they serve exactly the same kind of food. Lunch can be eaten in the restaurant from 12.30pm-2.30pm or alternatively snacks such as pizza, chips, burgers etc are available at the Beach snack bar from 12 noon until 5pm.

Then ice cream is served from the pool bar from 4pm till 5pm followed by coffee and cookies from 5pm until 6pm.

If your not full and can manage dinner, this is served from 7.30pm until 9.30pm. Most evenings they also have a chef on the BBQ too.

This is a new hotel, only opened this July and I don't think it was featured in brochures. As we stayed toward the end of the season we found it to be very quite but to be honest it was nice not having to get up early to reserve a sunbed or queue for food, drinks etc.

The managers, including the General Manager were very visual throughout our stay and spoke to guests regularly.

I belive this hotel will be featured in First Choice brochure for the next season and i would definitely recommend this hotel, you won't be disappointed. It is suitable for couples and families alike.

The pool is fabulous and very big, they also have 3 water slides and you can use inflatable beds etc too, no restrictions. The hotel also run a childrens club and activities. There is a disco bar and ampitheatre too, however as it was at the end of the season these were closed and all entertainment was held in the bar area.

The accommodation is mainly made up single storey buildings, like little bungalows. Ours had a lounge, bedroom, bathroom and small entrance hall. Patio with furniture. TV in lounge, safe in bedroom (no charge) and hairdryer in bathroom.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definately return.

The only negative, but this is nothing to do with the hotel, is that it's approx 1 hour 15 mins transfer from Bodrum airport.

  • Liked — The design of individual accomm buildings rather than a tower block, which meant that you did not have problems such as people slamming doors and running down the corridor. It was cleaned everyday, clean sheets and towels everyday and the location of our room was excellent.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We arrived for our 2 week stay on 9th September ,2 adults,2 children 12 and 3yrs.After a very efficient check in we were wisked away on a golf buggy to our fantasticaly big family villa.Our rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided when ever we needed them .The bedding was changed ,in our experiance every other day and general house keeping standards were good.Our villa was semi detatched and we had no one stay next to us for the whole fortnight so it was very quiet.The pool area really is fantastic(although as everyone has said before slippy-this i'm sure over the winter period will be rectified).We also enjoyed the lovely beach and deacking area with beautiful views and never had a problem getting a sunbed(peak summer months i'm not so sure).The snack bar above the beach has wonderful views and the food in our opinion was lovely.The main restaurant was lovely and clean and the waiters despite what has been said before were very friendly and extremley efficient(people should maybe smile and speak to the restaurant staff and you will get the same in return).We really enjoyed the food and remembering that you are in Turkey not the UK you should enjoy the food to.There was plenty of choice for all meals and our 12 year old had no problem finding something he liked.The only suggestion may be for next year would be to have a child section of the restaurant with small chairs,t.v and food that would appeal to younger children.
We used the creche twice and Sacha was lovely our youngest had a lovely time.
The entertainment was scaled down due to the time of year we were there and the first week was held in the amphitheatre and second week in the main lobby of the hotel as the weather was cooler,they all tried very hard.
We visited two of the other big hotels in the Altinkum area,the Didm beach and Garden of sun and The Palm Wings Hotel is far superior,modern and spacious especially the pool area(Just go see for yourself) compared to those 2 hotels.
Overall we had loveley holiday ,we travelled out with Onur Air and again in our experience we found everything to be absoloutly fine.
Thank you to all the staff at the Palm Wings for trying so hard to make our stay a really lovely one.

  • Liked — The beach and pool
  • Disliked — Surrounding area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

westayed for 1st two weeks of sept. we had a good time because itwas less than half full so we did not have to fight for anything. this is a work in progress and will be a better resort next year. everything is,currently,average - food, staff,entertainment is good in parts. even by turkish standards, i doubt that this is a 5 star as it stands. we went through sun wings - onur air not the greatest - £5 for 2 cokes seemed a rip off until we experienced the prices and standards of bodrum airport. something should be done!
peter and sally , isle of wight.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — distance from amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Wings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Wings Beach Resort

Address: Altinkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21, Didim, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Didim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Didim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Didim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Wings Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday is nice...Having a holiday in Palm Wings Beach Resort is something excellent...Crystal clear sea of the Aegean, very hot sunlight and green nature invite you to the holiday you are dreaming of.We promise that you will have the best moments of your life in Didim, which is one of the unique gifts that sea and the nature togetherness has presented to the Aegean Region...Didim is 150 km far from İzmir Adnan Menderes Airport, 80 km far from Bodrum Airport and 3 km from Didim Coach Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Wings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Wings Beach Hotel Didim
Palm Wings Beach Didim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Wings Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.