We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th year returning to Stanwix Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
Save
You added Stanwix Park Holiday Centre to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Greenrow, Silloth CA7 4HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“5th year returning to Stanwix Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Been going to Stanwix park for the past 5 years for the glasgow September long weekend as we call it. First few years we stayed in usually Florida caravan which I have no complaints about at all, always spotless clean. The past couple of years we have since bought a touring van and stayed in the Skiddaw area of the site - again no complaints. shower block spotless and showers were always warm. We have always enjoyed our long weekends some years the entertainment has not been as good but its what you make it, we enjoy walking into Sillolth and spending a few hours there maybe going to one of the hotels for a bar lunch which have always been lovely. Kids are grown up now but when they were younger they had a brilliant time. Only down side was one year my son and his girlfriend came for a couple of days and a member of staff was really quite rude to him after he left the swimming pool because he wasnt completly dry !!! Was really angry and at the time said I would never return but I did put my complaint to them and they fully understood it was a bit over the top. All in all though this a a great wee getaway not too far for us Scottish to travel and always something to do.

Room Tip: Caravans at play park are not far from entetainment complex and are ideal for families with younger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    99
    40
    13
    17
See reviews for
181
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just stayed at Stanwix Park in an apartment for a long weekend. We were very impressed with the accomodation we were allocated. It was clean and spacious for the two of us.
Probably due to being during school term time it was nice and quiet, which is just what we needed. The pool area was lovely. It was very pleasant to have an adult only bar area. My only comment to the site is - those bright lights just outside the bedroom window need to go off during the night. I kept waking up thinking it was morning only to find out it was still the middle of the night.
Silloth itself is a lovely place. The locals are very friendly and always say hello when passing in the street. The chippy just outside the site was a real treat. Big portions at very reasonable prices.
All in all - we needed to get away and relax - and that is exactly what we managed to do.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Downstairs appartments looked to be larger - but you do get the sound of furniture moving round abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If your looking for a great get away for the kids this is it. It is a closed off caravan site with everything you need on the door step. During the day the swimming pool is very very clean and with water attractions in it its very fun for the kids. My daughter fully enjoyed the baby pool being able to float around with out ruff children. The amusments are a reasonable price and you do win in there. There is a little soft play also which i think should have a soft play ball pool in there instead of the climbing frame as my baby couldnt go in there due to risks of falling or being jumped on.
There is a adult room upstaires out of the way where they play bingo ect very clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The disco downstaires has poor entertainment. The bingo is too loud for children and there are kids running around everywhere throwing hulla hoops. The drinks are over priced and the bands that came on were poor.
Overall the accomodation was superb and clean

Room Tip: Pick a caravan as the apartments are not very holiday feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The facilities on site were great & my 4yr old son loved them. I used to come here as a child & not much has changed (in a good way).

We stayed in a caravan hired from Stanwix Park, the caravan was in very poor condition & not worth the money we paid to stay there. For this reason I'm not sure if we would bother returning to this site, which is such a same as they facilities were great

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back on Saturday from a week in Stanwix we have stayed here 3 times now the entertainment was perfect every night for families Andy,Graham,Audrey and Sarah well done on the job that you are doing.Every day 12pm - 2pm there is something different for children to join in with Andy or Graham and if its cold outside they will come indoors.
Foxy fox is very popular with the kids
We had a few minor repairs that were needed on our caravan but they were fixed within 3 hours (good service)
The pool outside was open every day because we had nice weather people were playing cricket on the grass outside the apartments
Silloth itself is a quiet place but bank holiday Monday was carnival day so was really busy with lots of people but all well behaved
There is places to go Walby farm in Carlisle is good for young children also we took our boys Karting in Maryport, there is a small fair on the water front which is only £1 a go waltzers,bumper cars and a few other small rides
we have booked again for next year before we left
p.s. i would like to thank anyone who was there last Sunday talent and cheered when my son when he won singing A thousand years

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a Richmond 3 bed caravan which was very clean on our arrival. We had a four night midweek break and although the weather was mixed we all enjoyed ourselves. Especially my 5 year old Grandson, who loved swimming every day and the club at night. Had his picture taken with Foxy and loved the amusements of course. Ten pin bowling and pool tables went down a treat too.

Only negative comment was 'the crazy golf'. Needs a bit of care and attention, was very sad looking.

Also could do with more information in the caravan as to what entertainment is on daily, both during the day and at night. We were directed to the board for the night time entertainment by reception but couldn't find any information about what was on during the day for the kids.

Silloth itself was great for the young children. Lots and lots of grass to play on at the front and they loved the splash park and the adventure/assault course area in the wooded area near the splash park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As always these parks are expensive but we got a good deal and stayed 4 days. The Park was excellent! We stayed in an Appartment as a family of 5. Very clean and modern, great swimming facilities with indoor and outdoor pool and guests can swim until late with suited my children. Very spacious with 3 bars, arcade, bowling, great entertainment for kids. Food served in the cafe isnt cheap but is actually very good, definitely pub standard and large portions. Siloth itself is quite run down but the park is only a drive away from the beautiful lake district and Carlisle. Modern, clean, great facilities, would definitely return and recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanwix Park Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwix Park Holiday Centre

Address: Greenrow, Silloth CA7 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanwix Park Holiday Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Hotel Silloth
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanwix Park Holiday Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.