We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Silloth....(did not want to leave)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solway Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Save
You added Solway Holiday Village to your Saves list
Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Silloth....(did not want to leave)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed last week in the Solway Holiday Village. We booked via The Sun newspaper and extended our holiday to 7 days as it was to be a special trip (we popped up to Gretna Green to get married while staying there!). I truly cannot understand the bad reviews for this place. Upon arrival I was greeted by a friendly and helpful female staff member at the reception. We were given our key and guide book and then then eagerly found our Cumberland Caravan that was situated in peace a quiet in this spaced out and roomy park. As we had our dog with us the green areas were much appreciated for walks.It was a pleasure to gently stroll around the park with its open spaces. The holiday village is attractive to look at with well tended flower beds, and with views over the Solway Firth at the end of the drive. The caravan had a spacious living area and was well equipped. We were close (but not too close) to all the park facilities which was lovely. There was a little shop perfect for a morning paper, we saw the lamas and pigs at the farm, and the swimming pool was great for my son and I to relax in while we were there. All staff seemed helpful and their friendly demeanor helped us to unwind if we needed any help or anything. During the stay we made a friend with a little cat (from the farm I presume) who would come each day to our caravan (no.70) and ask for milk. Such a lovely little cat, our son was thrilled! The views across the Solway Firth to the Scottish mountains are beautiful, we took many photo's and I felt sad to leave! The park is a great place to be a base camp to visit Scotland and the lakes. Like I say, we stayed here and got married while we were up there, although no one at the park knew we weren't let down and would recomend anyone to stay here. Thank you Solway Holiday Village!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    160
    90
    87
    123
See reviews for
341
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well, where to start?? Read the many poor reviews on here prior to our visit but nevertheless went along with an open mind - obviously what suits one does not suit another right?
The entrance to the site itself is rather dismal & unkempt so in that respect a bit off-putting at first sight. But, on arrival at reception we were very friendly greeted by the two female receptionists and in no time at all were checked in, handed our key and directed to our accommodation. We were allocated caravan Nr.22 which was directly behind the reception area and this (albeit not the type stated on our booking confirmation) was in excellent condition, well maintained and very clean/tidy and well equipped. A lot of the poor reviews here seem to refer to the chalets - can't comment on them internally but exteriors looked extremely poor to most of them)
Once settled in we set off to check out the facilities and that's when everything went downhill!
All surrounding areas to "farm" /mini golf (that's a joke in itself!! just a small grassed area - didn't realise it was the " golf " until very closely inspected) and other areas are all reached along pot holed roads. General concensus appears to be how neglected the whole place is and I really do have to agree. Shame really, as with a bit of TLC it could be very nice - no, make that a LOT of TLC. Although all the grassed areas around the caravans were all very neat it must be said but why stop there???
Entertainment - or rather the lack of. Advertised as having 3 bars - true but only one open! In fact with the exception of the swimming pool ALL indoor facilities were closed and also looked very neglected. I appreciate it maybe a quiet time of the season but then should it not be mentioned that some areas are only open during certain dates prior to taking bookings?? Yes, I think so.The bar that was open was the Nags Head and all 'entertainment' took place here - on offer was : Friday - bingo, karaoke and a game show and disco. Saturday - Bingo & game show** and a live singer but the least said about his performance the better! - dire. Sunday - Bingo followed by a music quiz which was all over & done with in half an hour. No effort whatsoever seems to have gone into the entertainment programme. I feel totally robbed by this as having paid £6.95 ea (4 of us) for an entertainment pass I did at least expect much more for my money. Basically, we'd paid £6.95 to go to a pub and like several reviewers here found the bar staff in there the most miserable, unhelpful people I've ever come across. They made you feel as if they were doing you a big big favour by serving you. Also, don't seem to know that different drinks should be served in their suitable glasses, or maybe just don't care?? and I suspect the latter. Pricewise - 2 pints Carling, 2 small wines & 1 small lemonade £16.80 but don't expect service with a smile as it's just not available.
** With ref to the Saturday night game show - this was their own version of Deal or No Deal. £1 per ticket and the prize money that evening was £28. One ticket nr. was drawn out and the winner went up to play. She ended up with the 1p box! end of game. I am still trying to establish where the other £27.99 prize money got to???????
The location of the site is very nice and if there for the sightseeing only the you won't feel disappointed. From the holiday village it's a very pleasant walk along the seafront into Silloth with lovely views across to Dumfries. Silloth itself is very pleasant too although nothing much on offer that we could see by way of shops etc. (There is a Co-oP and a Spar here if required. On site shop is very limited for choice).
Try a drive along the coast road into Maryport - lovely harbour area and town centre offering old style traditional shops. En route we stopped at the seafront village of Allonby. Definitely worth a mention here is Jacks Surf Bar - can highly recommend it. Friendly pleasant staff, excellent service and good home cooked food and choice of dishes at reasonable prices. All their meat is sourced locally and the lamb chops are particularly worth a mention - superb. These were served with mash & 3 fresh veg and gravy - £7.50.
So, Solway Holiday Village, would we go again? NO. As stated earlier we were on a "Sun" break and will hopefully be doing more of these in the future but will definitely be avoiding the Hagans Leisure Group sites.

Room Tip: Value rating marked as very good only because it was a "Sun" offer. Had we paid brochure p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Solway Holiday Village between 26th and 29th April 2013. My wife and my 2 daughters stayed in a chalet which also had a hot tub. The price was very decent at £179.10 for 3 nights with a private hot tub.

We also took up the half-board option which was for £11.50 per adult and £7.50 per child per night. The only issue there was that we did not see the menus until after we had bought the half board. We have 2 daughters 3 years and 4 months. Obviusly we did not pay for the baby but did for our 3 year old. The menu for children was extrememly limited and contained things like pizza, burges, nuggets etc, all of which my daughter does not eat. She is used to eating "proper" food - pasta, fish, chicken , potatoes etc.

After the first night we did a deal with the staff so that she could have food from the adult menu, in a smaller portion. Whilst the Adult menu was not extensive it was fine for a short stay and we managed to have something different each night - would be good if they actually offered potatoes instead of just chips with everything though!

The breakfasts were OK. But perhaps a buffet style on the non-cooked items might be an idea????

Tea/Coffee included with breakfast but you have to buy the drinks in the evening.

It does provide pay for meals services and als take-away food also.

The park has its own farm with many different animals, a train round the farm and a tourist road train around the park on 5 days a week, twice a day. There is a swimming pool with sauna, gym, soft play and amusements/slot machines.

There is a recently revamped children's playground and a fully stocked bar with Sky Television.

The park is located in the Cumbrian town of Siloth, 25 miles west of Carlisle and a few miles north of Workington and Whitehaven, with spectacular views over the Solway Firth and the Irish Sea. The park is located next to a great beach.

It is a fabulous location to explore the Lake District and Cumbria.

There is a kids club, but due to the park being very quiet when we stayed they were limited.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet with hot tub. Remembre plenty pound coins though as in the chalets yo need to feed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worst place we have ever(nearly) stayed, it was a joke, we were supposed to be staying in Lodge plus log cabin with hot tub, took ages to find log cabin, (there were only 2 that we saw), Ours had a 5ft by 3ft FOR SALE sign on it, on a site junction, the hot tub was in full view of the whole site and cars going past. One of the windows in the cabin was broken and had been boarded up with ply wood, the road had loads of pot holes. The site was run down, very badly maintained. In disbelief we went to the site bar/restaurant - at a busy time of year (Easter holidays)there were approx 6 people in the place. The reception only opens at 4pm, on arrival at 6pm the reception was closed with a note in the window directing us to the "NAGS HEAD" to check-in. My partner and myself had 3 children with us under 9 years we actually felt very uncomfortable if not intimidated by some of the other residents on the site. We decided to check out at around 9pm which by then was dark and not ideal with three young children.
Fortunately not that far away we found an alternative site which by comparison was the opposite of the first.
Think I'm exaggerating? Well if you feel compelled to go. I suggest you visit and see for yourself. Oh and by the way, the pictures of the site on the web must have been taken in July about ten years ago!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The only smiles I saw were from a lady at reception and the man up at the farm! The bar staff are miserable and rude and very unhelpful!!!!!!! They're more interested in eating their own dinner, making up new pizza boxes and sorting knives and forks. They seemed to prefer doing anything that meant they could turn their back on the bar and ignore you! This is in an ok location and the atmosphere would have been much better had it not filled me with rage every time one of the bar staff shot a dirty look at me for daring to order food/drinks while they're doing something else!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We took a holiday at Solway over Easter and I made the mistake of reading some of the reviews on here before. It might have been a good thing though as I went expecting the worst, but what we got was a decent experience. Yes, the place is dated, Yes, the facilities are meagre BUT if you're using this place as a base to explore the lakes and Hadrians wall - i.e. not planning staying on site 24-7, You'll be fine. I think most of my review has been taken care of a few posts down by Adekaz96 who pretty much mirrors my own thoughts. I'd have given three stars but the attitude of the staff gives an extra star.

I'm sure there are better places to go if you pay the premium prices to stay on this site, but we found it welcoming enough. The staff were friendly (all of them said hello and smiled on the occasions we came across them) and the park was clean enough for me. The view from the beach across to Dumfries is beautiful at sunset and the holiday village is quiet enough.

If you're not driving, and are staying at the place as a "resort" and paying a premium, then I guess I'd avoid. If you're using it as a base to explore the beautiful surroundings, can drive to the local convenience store (and john's plaice - good old-fashioned chip shop to take back food after a day's hard trekking around the lakes!) and want a nice short break - you'll be fine.

Room Tip: The Orlando caravans are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

just returned after a 'Sun' weekend, so Basically had to have what we were given from a choice of 5. Done the normal Goggle search for reviews and ended up thinking thinking surleyit can't be that .....it was.....First impressions as you go on the site, this seems OK, The Receptionist was helpful and knew her Job........so far so good, but not for long, The Toilet in the Caravan was flooding when flushed, no hot Water in the Shower, broken timer on the Microwave, to be Fair these problems were sorted very quickly.
The site advertises it has a 9 hole Golf course, well a golf course without any Greens let alone any holes ...just lost for Words. The Farm on the site, well if the RSPCA got involved they would shut it done.....The site has a Shop, but it is mainly stocked with DOG food, DOG beds,DOG leads, DOG balls, if you want a can of Beans you will need to vist the co-op , a 30 minute walk away. No take away as such, you have to order at the Bar, but not between 2 and 5pm as the kitchen is shut....but you can get a Pizza ....if they haven't run out like yesterday.....could carry on moaning about this dump, if it really has anything to do with Hoseasons they need to Spend some money on it Fast or CLOSE IT DOWN........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solway Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.