We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe for children, dirty, nothing there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Solway Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Save
You added Solway Holiday Village to your Saves list
Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unsafe for children, dirty, nothing there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We are travelling home from solway as I write this. I had read bad reviews about the place and asked hoseasons to change our holiday. They told me they couldn't has solway holiday village had already received our money. We were ensured that hoseasons carefully select the parks and are checked on a regular basis. So we packed up and spend 3 hours travelling to the site. When we arrived we could see the site was really run down. When we got to our chalet, we couldn't believe how bad it was. The rooms were dirty and furniture was broken, it was so old fashioned. The doors were single glazed with condensation on them, and a draught coming through. The hot tub was fine, but nowhere to dry towels etc. We ventured into the park area. It was dangerous. Metal sticking out and pieces of equipment missing. We walked over to the ball pool area. There was a couple in there and their child had hurt her back on the broken slide in there. They informed staff but nobody came to check it out within the half an hour of us being there. Someone could have been seriously hurt. We complained and the manager came out and contacted hoseasons and we were given a refund and were told to leave the park immediately. I contacted hoseasons and they weren't interested that we had a wasted journey and had three crying children, because they done their part by giving us a refund. So we were out of pocket by the time we paid for petrol etc. I was so annoyed as I tried to cancel before we went. I was told people leave negative reviews and not to worry. I would urge anybody thinking of going to solway, not to go! I have never left a review about anywhere or a company but I had to, if it stops anybody wasting their time and money. I also won't be booking through hoseasons again. They were so unhelpful and disinterested. People might think a refund is compensation, but not to be offered an alternative without paying more or any apology and not acting on my concerns before, to me isn't.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Guest Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We have been a booking partner with Hoseasons for a long time, all of our accomadation , park , park facilites are checked on a regular basis.

On Saturday morning there was a minor incident brought to our attention that occured in the soft play area when this was brought to our attention , the soft play area was immeditatly closed down.
Our health & safety team and our maintenace team promptly dealt with the issue .

All of our accomadation and including our Chalets are checked by our House Keeping Supervisor and must be up to an extremely high standard before being approved for holiday makers.

Our Park Manager never told you you had to leave the park , after he had organised a full refund for you he informed you that the accomadation must be vacated that day.

After been given a full refund you then requested to stay another night and leave the following morning.
I suggest if you have any issues with Hoseasons you contact them directly. I must say they are fantastic to deal with and we never have any problems .

Many Thanks Again and If I can be of anymore assitance please dont hesitate to contact us
Katie - Customer Services Executive
04.03.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    150
    84
    81
    117
See reviews for
316
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed in a chalet with two kids aged 4 and 2 months. On arrival had to make up the beds. Duvets were covered in mud and grass as if they'd been used as picnic blankets and not washed! Asked reception to change them, which they did but replacements not much better. Bed mattresses and pillows old and filthy, really didn't want to get into bed at night having seen what was underneath the sheets! Whole chalet was dirty, old toothpaste on bathroom shelf, windows hadn't been cleaned for years, everything in the kitchen was sticky!!! Place was cleaner by the time we left than when we arrived! So glad baby was still in the Moses basket which we'd taken from home cause there is no way I'd have wanted him sleeping in one of their beds. Site itself was ok, as was pool although changing rooms again were dirty and very out of date. Only thing going for this place was the bar, which was ok for a drink and bite to eat, and frankly to get away from the terrible chalet! Would never ever book anything through hoseasons again! Yes it was cheap, but to be honest would rather have been at home!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagans L, Guest Relations Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review. As you stayed on the park in August 2012 and we are now in March 2013 would it be possible for you send private mail me your contact email so I can check your booking and notes from your stay,
Many Thanks
Katie
Customer Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed on a Sun newspaper Monday to Friday so didn't expect a lot. We paid £40 to upgrade to a double glazed centrally heated caravan. Check in was quick and received our keys and information pack. The caravan was immaculately clean with three bedrooms and a large shower room with toilet and a seperate toilet, couldn't fault it. Yes the park may be a bit dated and a lot of the machines not working in the amusement arcade but we really enjoyed it. Entertainment ok geared more to younger children earlier in the evening and then have bingo followed by an entertainer or quiz etc. Not much at all in Silloth but we used as a base to visit the Lake District and surrounding area. Would visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Site is in need of some updating. 2bed chalet was quite spacious, didn't cost much for electricity. Cleanliness could be improved. Farm on site was ok, animals kept in basic conditions. Pub on site with entertainment needs more tables and chairs. Pool was ok. Shop is very basic and expensive. Site caters for small children but nothing much for teenagers. Poor lighting at night when going to an from bar. Not much to do near by. Close to beach though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 5 year old came here for a cheap half-term break. Most of the reviews say its dated, which it is, but as you go round the park you see that they are improving a lot of the chalets. We stayed in a 2 bed chalet, it was lovely and warm even when it was -1 outside and had everything we needed and most importantly it was clean. We used the swimming pool a few times, lovely and warm and clean. Went to the park and indoor soft play. Didn't venture into the onsite pub/clubhouse but walked to the petting farm, its great!!! Went to silloth, lovely promanade and a great chippy John's plaice, they batter everything!!! All had a great time, we paid about 130 for 4 nights in a 2 bed chalet including the dog. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having read some of the previous reviews we were a bit dubious about this trip. Albeit the park etc is in need of an update (which was in progress) we enjoyed our visit. The chalet was very clean and warm, staff pleasant. If you are looking for luxury then this is not for you but if you are looking for a place to relax after exploring the surrounding areas then this would suit. One negative comment the bed and pillows in our chalet were worn and could be replaced, the shower did not work but the bath was working.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have heating as it does get cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We first found Solway Village 3 years ago after i had been unwell and needed a break. We booked for a long weekend and had a ball. My kids had such a great time that they wanted to go back.

We booked again in the summer for a group of 10 4 adults and 6 kids for a week. I run a cleaning company and my friend is a nurse. We found the 2 chalets with hot tubs we had booked spotless and well equipped.
The hot tubs were well maintained and very clean.

The staff were brill and Wendy (from the bar) who was there the first time was very friendly and helpful. The entertainment staff were amazing and couldn't be faulted so much so that we booked for new year.

When we arrived the staff remembered us from the previous visit. Again we found the place clean and tidy and Connor, Heather and Paul(entertainment staff) made the holiday for us. The pool was clean and warm and the life guard on duty was very friendly the bar staff were great as were the maintenance staff Peter especially was very nice.

All in all we have had so much fun we are going again in February and are considering buying a caravan.

Yes the park is a little dated but it didn't effect our holiday and the kids made full use of the soft play and farm.

Thank you all for a great holiday

Room Tip: Book a lodge with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solway Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.