We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solway is fine, but bring a mortgage for the beer !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solway Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Save
You added Solway Holiday Village to your Saves list
Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solway is fine, but bring a mortgage for the beer !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at Solway Holiday Village for a weekend. The site is a little dated but not as bad as some make out on here, and the bar and entertainment staff make up for that in bucket loads. They were helpful, cheerful and friendly.
The only major downfall is the price of the drinks in the pub !! £3.50 for lager. paying a little more is expected, but £1.50 difference from my local pub a pint is rediculous (a pint in the middle of london is cheeper). if i go again, i'll be stocking up on cans !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    150
    84
    81
    117
See reviews for
316
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

All I can say is
"Stay away! dont even comtemplate the idea of going here! It is a disgusting shed site!"

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

For a start solway holiday village does not cost the earth to stay at. So don't expect the Ritz. We went away for a birthday weekend and booked two accomodations to cater for our group. One, the ullswater chalet and the buttermere chalet plus. Both were clean, cosy and warm and great sizes. Yes, the chalets were a bit dated with flowery curtains and ullswater had conservatory wicker seats but the sofa beds were a double bed size and the kitchen was well equipped but do remember tea towel, washing up liquid etc as we did forget! We had a great stay, the area is lovely, quiet but very picturesque. We did use the co op in the village which was a few minutes drive away, the bar staff were very helpful to direct us to it. The hot tub took a while to heat up but was well worth the wait even in the Feb weather! From some reviews on this site we were quite worried about our weekend away but we were pleasantly surprised, if you want cheap, clean and cosy its great. If you want a 5* holiday pull a few more pounds out. You get what you pay for anywhere and at solway you do get more than your moneys worth.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Solway is a basic three star site and would look nicer with a lick of paint here and there, however the staff are great. The facilities are perfectly adequate and I visited with two 5 year olds who loved it all. We stayed in a caravan, which was very warm (even in Feb), well appointed (two loos - essential for two families sharing), nice lounge and good size kitchen. Only downside for me was having to make up the beds on arrival.

The staff were always cheerful, helpful, lovely with the kids. Kids club was great fun and pool was warm and clean.

Indoor play area would benefit from some heating.

Room Tip: Choose a caravan. Book an online shop to be delivered from ASDA direct to your accomodation when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

My family and I visited this hell hole earlier this month having found a cheap deal on groupon. To put it briefly the place is a run down prison camp in the middle of absolute nowhere, dirty, dated and very depressing place with rude unhelpful staff. Staying here is like a prison sentence which you can't wait to get out of !!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The welcome we received when we arrived was very warm, the staff were also very helpful. The caravan was clean and modern.The entertainment crew were excellent and the staff in the restaurant could not do enough for us. This is the best holiday park experience we have ever had!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hello,

I have to firstly say that I have left quite a few reviews and feel that they are well received and varied, we have to say that we usually stay in 4 star hotels or 5 star camp sites and use trip advisor to help us decide if somewhere is worth visiting or not going on an average score, we booked this place after reading a totally mixed bag of reviews with no conclusive score. We booked a Coniston Chalet Plus with hot tub, I paid £133 including early check in and requested a chalet midway in the site, not too close to anything and not out on a limb, when we arrived we were greeted by a very very swift check in, at 2pm we were given our keys where as everyone else was told to wait until 4pm, we were alocated our Chalet, it was sat under a beautiful old tree, all the chalets around us were in good order, the roadway and parking was ample and the green areas were well kept. The chalet was clean, there was nothing wrong with it, it had just had a refurb in some areas and everything worked, the children were taken with the 6 person hot tub that was bubbling away and HOT. the heaters were on when we went in and was nice and warm, we had a tv, dvd and freeview, 2 brand new sofas that were very comfy, nothing like on the website, the walls had been painted and the bathroom was brandnew, infact I dont think anyone had used it but we are very confused by the refurb as some areas were superb, the lounge and bathroom but not repairing holes in walls and refixing headboards coming away from the wall, or just painting the kitchen but not replacing dilapideted units that are is a serious need of repair is false economy, especially when you put in a £5000 all singing all dancing hot tub!!!. We used the bar one night and have to say that the entertainment was excellent totally family orientated, shame about the watered down beer though, the bar looked great and was very comfy, the shop was bare, no milk at 1pm is not ideal but the coop and spar are minutes away in the car. We spent every evening in the hot tub, it was simply superb, the clear sky and all the stars including Orions belt directly overhead was lovely. The facilities were all run down, the play area looked dirty and is disrepair in parts, the football pitch was the same, there were empty static caravan plots everywhere and broken up roads about but around all the chalets was just fine, the farm was also great and the children enjoyed a visit there. Overall we loved this Holiday, I have already booked for the summer again in the same chalet, something we have never done before, it was just so relaxing, almost on the sea front, the chalet was in good order and was clean and warm, when reading reviews look at the person leaving the review, and never base your decision on the 1 or 2 bad reviews, take the middle ground and all will be fine, remember this place is rated 3 star and that is what it is, dont expect Haven standards and just look what you have paid, the guy who spent £70 on a weekend away, the same as 1 night in a travelodge simply got a bargain but remember you dont get £300 chalets for £70. Good luck and i am happy to answer any questions

Room Tip: Always book a Chalet plus with hot tub if you can afford it, it was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solway Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.