We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning !!! DO NOT GO HERE YOU WILL !! BE DISSAPOINTED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Solway Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silloth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway Holiday Village
Save
You added Solway Holiday Village to your Saves list
Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warning !!! DO NOT GO HERE YOU WILL !! BE DISSAPOINTED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Absolutely the most run down filthy depressing holiday park you could imagine. do not be drawn in by the fake claims of romantic chalets with hot tubs!! we took one look at the chalet and went back to reception to complain about the filthy damp run down chalet and were given a caravan instead. !! and believe me it was an upgrade. the photo's on the web site have been cleverly taken trust me. The chalets have a fenced off bin area that have a hot tub in instead of bins. the hot tub lids are not all on the tubs some are just left on the floor and the tub is full of leafs and dirty rain water. the park is really run down it was obviously a nice place 20yrs ago but not now. I asked for the key to the gym and went to use it expecting a small but usable facility. what a joke!! If health and safety walked in they would close the place down ! There wasnt much in the room but what the equipment was all!! rusty and falling apart. I stepped on the cross trainer to see if it was as bad as it looked and it simply would not move due to rust and the fact that it was so old. The Bar has been re furbished and is really nice. the bistro is ok and has been decorated according to the chef but there is a large patch on the ceiling where he said the roof fell through a few weeks ago.!! the staff are really friendly and embarassed about the state of the place. One of them asked me to please put a review on trip adviser, he said that the MD always checked reviews but never does anything about the run down park. i was told even though he has decorated the bar he insisted on leaving the old carpet and not spending money on a new one. On my last day i went round the site and took photographs of all the run down areas to put on this site i will be doing later. what a dump

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsrest, General Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We are always pleased that our guests take the time and effort to review Solway Holiday Village even when their experience has not lived up to expectations, feedback is important to us and helps us to improve and enhance standards. I would ask that you get in contact with me personally to discuss your concerns. Regards, Kevin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    160
    91
    87
    124
See reviews for
343
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

as a caravan owner at silloth for the last 8 years we have seen a lot of changes ..this new season they have total refurbished the bar ..It is a breath of fresh air to walk into such a lovely place.they have a new entertainment team who really know what they are doing.Im sure this will be the turning point for the Solway village.It is now a pleasure to go for a good night out ...The food is exellent with a very good selection ..If things are kept to this standard .im sure it will be very busy .Looking forward to a good season

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

5 why's
1 why did we come here
2 why did i get distracted by the price
3 why do they not care about the park surrounding them
4 why did i not complain 1st night there, To get a better sleeping arrangement
5 why do the entertainment staff work there they out class the accommodation by 1000% if it was not for them i would not recommend this site they are the glue that to me made all the difference

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Read reviews after booking, so had planned on having to do everything away from park..... However as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the entertainers and Felix, one of the characters which the children loved and hadn't expected, as it stated on website that not everything would be running due to low season programme. Reception staff were friendly and informed us of activities planned for the week.
Our accommodation was clean and spacious.
The park itself is slightly old looking and could do with a revamp.
Thought the entertainment was fantastic with the two guys Aj and Paul, who kept us entertained and laughing throughout the evenings with games for the children, bingo, open the box, adult gameshows, party dances… I could go on! During the day there were kids clubs where all the family joined in and were made to feel welcome! With a different activity every day and with appearances from felix the children were never bored!

Obviously things have changed here this year and we will definitely be going back throughout the year, and hopefully get to see the other two rooms, as we were told they only open in busy periods, but the Nags bar which was open for us was light and friendly with welcoming staff. We didn’t use the Bistro whilst away, so can’t comment. Childrens soft play was brilliant and free of charge, it is unsupervised, also wrap up as it is quite chilly in there!
Overall we had a fantastic holiday, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

although work was going on to improve the site we had a fantastic time.no complaints from any of us,which included teenager,grandparents,2 forty somethings and the dog.Alex(AJ) and the entertainment team were great and Mark and his staff in the Bistro will be a massive hit,nothing too much trouble,food excellent.all staff very friendly.all looking forward to retuning later in the year.great value for money.thanks to all involved at solway for a great break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend here and found it brilliant. My kids both had a great time, the chalet (borrowdale) was very clean, plenty of room and had all the kitchen utensils we needed. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the entertainment is fantastic for the kids. The site is just over the road from the beach and walking distance from the village. I will definitely be going again. I think the bad reviewers visited a different place, or were expecting 6 star luxury! yes there are some things that could do with updating, but from what i saw, there were improvements being made so may well be fine by start of season

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

we booked our holidays with the sun, was our first time and we did the first mistake "didnt look the reviews first" , we pay a extra money for passes and linen that for what my friends said you dont have to pay for this normally, but like I said were our first time and we didnt know
when we arrive the reception was friendly but not information about at all, just give us our keys and no explication about the site that I thought was weird.
the accomodation was clean but is all I can say about it, as very old decoration, very uncomfortable beds and very poor utensilies in the kitchen.
Is not facilities for kids at all in site, the outdoor area didnt look bad but not good when is raining and nothing more to do, the pool is ok ish, and only one of the bars was open in the evening and the kids entertaiment nule, (few songs from a cd, and colouring with crayons) after a hour in there one of the girls that I think was as well the pub manger got changed and converted herself in a cabaret diva for the adults that finish giving us a headache and we left.
the holidays was save as we travel around and we went to see the lakes, adrians wall, carlisle casttle....but that finish in a expensive holidays as you have to drive for more than a hour to see anything
I wouldnt recomended this site to anyone, creepy, old.......

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solway Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Silloth
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solway Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.