We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue H. Customer Service!!!! Oh dear Gary.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Golf Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sue H. Customer Service!!!! Oh dear Gary.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from a '2' night stay in the Golf Hotel....err 2 nights? Well it turned out to be only 1 actually as we ended up having to spend the first night in our car!!! We arrived back at the hotel late on Saturday night after joining a party in one of the clubs with some of the very friendly locals...unfortunately we could not get into the hotel front door with the yale key. We had NOT been told that the key actually fitted a door to the hotel which was further down the street!!!
The staff we came into contact with in the hotel were all very pleasant and cheerful, however this was an oversight which was simply not of our making!!
On checking out we were asked to pay £20 for the bottle of wine we had had with our meal on the Saturday evening, when we asked for this to be complimentary due to the Saturday night fiasco, the receptionist rang Gary the Manager and he said in no uncertain terms NO!! As far as Gary was concerned we should have seen a telephone number which was at the very bottom of a notice on the wall outside (in very small letters may I add), which we were shown on leaving and which was advertised as a booking enquiries number anyway! According to Gary had we seen and phoned this number then we would have been given the instructions as to which door the key fit!!!
We paid for the wine as we did not want to cause a fuss in the hotel reception and neither were we wanting to get staff into trouble. My husband called Gary when we got to the car and he got no response. Up to this moment we have had no return call nor any apology from Gary the Manager, the staff however were really apologetic. I'm afraid if this is Gary's Customer Service policy then it is terribly lacking, which is a shame as the food, staff, room comfort was value for money.
All things considered a bottle of wine was the least we should have expected after not being told how to get in should we return late and as a consequence having to spend a night in the car (we were also lucky we had the car keys with us)!!!
We never saw sight nor sound of Gary after the event, not even a note through the door saying sorry! Such a shame Gary!!!! If not for this I would have given a score of Very Good!

Room Tip: Remember.....The yale key fits a front side door not the main door!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. I would like to apologise for you not being informed of our late access policy and staff have undergone retraining to prevent a reoccurrence. Glad to hear that you found our team to be pleasant & cheerful. Sorry to hear of your Saturday night issue, but this could possible been avoided had you phoned one of the phone directory providers to access our telephone number from your mobile device. We would have been able to assist with your situation if we were made aware.

Your husband phoned me when I was on leave from the business and left a message on my mobile, which he stated had he not been charged for your wine he intended not to complain. As he had in fact been charged his message stated he would now complain to our head office.

We did in fact serve you a late breakfast at 12.30pm in the Sunday.

We are at present setting up a new late access policy to prevent any further occurances. Once again please accept my most sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    23
    5
    8
See reviews for
23
82
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first visit to the golf hotel and I can't rate it highly enough!

Everything from the room, to the service and food was absolutely first class throughout our stay.
We spoke to the manager on arrival who was readily available over our stay, and I must say this was impressive; a manager who is accessible and a visible presence.

During our stay, we were treated with kindness and all the staff had a smile for us. The little details like remembering my girlfriend's sweetners at breakfast and having the baby's highchair set didn't go without notice.

The room and bathroom was spotless and we all enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep. We dined in the evening and the food was a delight. Again, our experience at breakfast was wonderful.

It is clear to see everyone from the manager to the cleaners and bar staff work very hard and we appreciated your contribution to a extremely pleasant first visit to Silloth.

I must say the hotel is fantastic, but it's the staff that make it what it is. Gary, they are a credit to you. A huge "thankyou" and well done, we will hopefully see you again one day.

Dave and Lisa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. Your comments are warmly received and I have shared them with the team, who are all delighted they all contributed to your enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards


Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked via Groupon deal, we had a pleasant and relaxing short stay.
We were greeted by a most helpful and cheery lady and shown to our room which proved to be very spacious, clean and the bathroom was obviously a recent refit and was immaculate.
We had an early evening meal of good wholesome food, nicely presented and served by very friendly , attentive staff. This not a part of the world that you will just pass through and has to be a conscious decision to make the trip. This hotel and its young but caring staff certainly makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your recent review. Delighted to hear you found our team cheery, attentive friendly and caring. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and its facilities and found them to be immaculate. Nice to hear you enjoyed your meals. I have passed your lovely comments on to my team who work tirelessly to ensure all our guests receive excellent levels of customer care.

Please return soon.


Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked KGB deal for overnight stay on 1 November 2012 for my husband and myself. Deal included dinner. Upon arrival exterior of hotel made us apprehensive, it needs sprucing up on the outside. However, found room very clean and spacious. Bed big and extremely comfortable. Lovely new bathroom. Staff pleasant and accommodating. All toilet facilities in public areas of hotel new and kept very clean. Hotel surrounded by cobblestone streets and because it is close to the Port of Silloth the hotel warn that there can be some lorry traffic early morning. We were not disturbed at all but earplugs placed in bedroom just in case! Only flaw was hotel not willing to swap chips for potatoes on menu dish chosen for dinner. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. The exterior of our building is due for re-decoration and will be taken care of as business permits. Glad to hear you found our rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. I have passed your kind comments on to my team. The issue over dinner has been addressed and staff trained accordingly. Look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed overnight on a cycling trip at the beginning of October. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ample safe storage for bikes. Room very comfortable and newly refurbished. Service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was really good. The cooked breakfast in the morning was probably the best I've ever had (including some hotels that charge a lot more for a lot less). Excellent value for money. This place definitely punches above its weight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be a friendly helpful bunch. Glad you liked our food and service in the restaurant and you judged our breakfast excellent. I have passed on your very kind comments to my team who are delighted to hear you had a great time.

Please come back soon.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and 2 kids decided to stop in for a meal on our last night of our holiday( sunday) after driving several miles for somewhere nice to eat, and was very happy when we found the golf hotel, very friendly, meal was beautiful, staff very pleasant, and inside was lovely! Would highly recommend, and my husband won't stop talking about the banofee pie! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for posting your very kind review. I have passed your comments on to the team who are all delighted you enjoyed your meal with us.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Golf Hotel for two nights on 21 and 22 September 2012. On arrival, a warm welcome from the staff awaited us.When shown to our room we were delighted- it was bright and airy with lovely views and was spacious with a four-poster bed and a huge bathroom. The food was delicious both at breakfast and dinner and the hotel was an ideal base for touring the Lake District. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, I have shared your kind comments with my team. We are all delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind Regards

Gary P Conlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel

Address: Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silloth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates. Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday. Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Silloth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.