We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Vaquita Echa

La Vaquita Echa
Ramon Subercaseaux, Pirque 3355, Chile
(56 02) 854 6025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Pirque
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our driver guide at "smartturist" took us here. It was near Concha el toro winery. It was authentic with dirt floors on the patio. The service was outstanding. The price was very reasonable but the food really made it. It's about meat as expected. We had the shared for 3 grill and couldn't eat it all, but tried.
The decor really makes it all worth it. If it was a touristy place excellent... if not even cooler.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourists and Chileans hot spot in the country!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A great place to get a taste of Chilean folk dancing and music. Great service, with a selection of fabulous Chilean wines. A real tourist trap but that didn't stop local Chileans enjoying a great traditional Chilean style fare. If you are with kids ask to be seated out the back where the swings and games are.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
671 reviews 671 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,316 helpful votes 1,316 helpful votes
“Good portions, quite good meat, bad entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Well, this is a tourists' restaurant, so if you are one of those who appreciate that a "traditional" band sings along while you are eating, go for it. I do not. I go to a restaurant for having good food. And La Vaquita's meat is indeed good, so I am quite happy with that. The singing is just irrelevant and I would prefer it weren't here. Price reasonable - expensive for Chile - and service quire efficient.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“can you say tourist trap?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

sad thing about this place,
great location in the country side close to Santiago
a nice rustic look,
but they've been tempted and crossed the line of good service and trying to scam a customer.

we went there in search of a nice, simple, hearty lunch.
the waiter went around with a few suggestions, which we naively said yes to.
it was a little tabletop parrillada or meat on a charcoal burner.
nice, nothing special, but not bad either.

then the bill
we had been charged for a hundred dollar plus "parrillada"!
the normal one on the menu was like 15 thousand pesos, this was over 50!!
why?
because it had some waygu mixed in there.

uhhh, Waygu may be expensive in Japan (Kobe) but in a Chilean supermarket, you can buy it for 20 % more than regular cuts of good beef... not triple the price.

steer (I know, I know, horrible pun) clear of here if you can

and if you do go, check the menu and make your own decisions.

don't get ripped off

ah, I did complain to the manager
he just shrugged off the comment

  • Visited July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaquita Echa also viewed

Pirque, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Pirque, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Pirque, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Pirque, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Vaquita Echa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vaquita Echa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.