We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B in Saint Emilion!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clos de la Barbanne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clos de la Barbanne
Save
You added Clos de la Barbanne to your Saves list
2 Les Grandes Pieces, 33570 Montagne, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Montagne B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
1 review
“Amazing B&B in Saint Emilion!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided to spend the last holidays in a nice and quiet place in Saint Emilion - France... A friend highly recommended us Le Clos de la Barbanne and we were not dispappointed!!!
First of all, the suites are giant and very elegant, as well as the rest of the house: the decoration is different in each room, and they are much bigger as they seem to be on the website.
The hosts are really nice and available: Laurent, the man, spent time to tell us the story of wine in Bordeaux, and gave us good advices for our visits. He makes is own wine there, "Concerto", so really knows about the business!
Annie, the lady, prepared amazing french dinners. She was also always available to reply our questions and organize our holidays.

Also, the landscape is splendid!

We were told that the couple bought this house and vineyard a few years ago, because it was their lifelong dream to leave in this region and welcome people there. We could really feel this as they warmly welcomed us!

I would definitly recommend this place to my family and friends, as it can be nice for a romantic stay or for friends holidays!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had difficulty in finding this place in the first instance given that it is in the middle of nowhere. Having said that once you get used to the area it is much more convenient than it first appears.
Lovely B&B and the room was large but we felt more than a little uncomfortable that we were not given a key to lock the bedroom door and/or that there was no safe.
We were shown around and shown the pool but really felt that we were not encouraged to use it given that it was inside and accessed through the owners living area to which they kept the doors locked!
Breakfast was wonderful and the lady of the house made the best juices we have ever had, however she just never seemed to relax and it constantly made us feel on edge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I were planning a WE in the St Emilion area to learn more about wines and found this very charming, welcoming and relaxing B&B.Indoor pool onsite!
The big plus: the owners taking their time to suggest the best wineries to visit and to share some history and fun facts about wine.
The only thing is that Bordeaux is a bit far away. Peace has a "price".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We enjoyed this B & B enormously. Great hosts, good food, excellent small wine estate. Only disappointment was the in-door swimming pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clos de la Barbanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos de la Barbanne

Address: 2 Les Grandes Pieces, 33570 Montagne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Montagne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mansion nestled in prestigious Saint-Emilion wine region. 4 Spacious and luxurious rooms – Relaxing atmosphere – Private garden or terrace – Indoor swimming pool. Haute-cuisine prepared on premises. Dedicated service to our guests. Discover the Cultutral Heritage and the great variety of Bordeaux Grands Crus. An Original and Indulgent Getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos de la Barbanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.