We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Gavaudun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domaine de Gavaudun to your Saves list
Domaine de Gavaudun
Vezou | (March to November), 47150 Gavaudun, Monflanquin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our party of four (two couples) stayed the last week of October - actually October 27 through November 3 and we could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay during the last portion of our visit to southern France. Our host Eric was gracious enough to provide us with a map and itinerary of points of interest and day trips that we found quite beneficial. We utilized his expertise on the area and seen many a site the normal visitor to southern France would not see and we are eternally grateful to him for this. Our accommodations were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed all that Domaine de Gavaudun had to offer us during - this our first visit to Europe and southern France. As others have also pointed out, the fresh baquettes we had on the mornings where we remembered to order them the night before was another delightful touch. If we were to return to Southern France, we would definitely stay once again in this fine resort.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are working a lot to please our guests and make sure they get the most out of their trip in our beautiful area. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us in spite of the fact that late October is not the best period of the year ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you like self contained accommodation in an excellent quiet rural location then this is place for you. We stayed for a week in a spotlessly clean two bedroom unit. The complex has a wide range of accommodation options and facilities. We were there in the off season October and hence the facilities were closed but the place was nice and quiet.The hosts are just wonderful and friendly and will gladly offer advice on what to do and where to go. We found their advice invaluable. You do need you own transport though. We thoroughly enjoyed our week here and could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom chalet which was just delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We are working a lot to please our guests and make sure they get the most out of their trip in our beautiful area. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us in spite of the fact that October is not the best period of the year ...
We are quite a long way from Australia but we hope to see you back in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband & I loved our stay. It was relaxing while providing many opportunities for exploring a fascinating area full of historical & cultural sights & experiences. A car is needed, but getting about is easy. Loved the fresh baguettes every morning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we did not respond earlier (we have to get used to TripAdvisor). We are always pleased to welcome American guests and help them exploring our very rich area. In spite of the distance, we hope to see you again some day ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week last summer - we did not know what to expect as booked via RCI - the area was beautiful - the Domaine itself is excellent friendly atmosphere and you are made most welcome. There are group activities if you wish to participate, but you do not need to. A beautiful quiet remote part of france - definitely a must for those wishing to escape for a few days.

Accommodation Gite was well maintained and equipped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry for not answering earlier (we have to get used to TripAdvisor).
In the summer we do indeed organise various group activities, like a barbecue or sports tournaments, in particular for children, but in order not to mislead the readers of this review we must honestly say this is only in the summer. Out of the high season, we orient our guests towards visiting the area (medieval villages, castles, prehistoric caves, etc.).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

"Le Domaine du Gavaudun" is a quiet, well maintained and pleasant place. No big luxury but everything needed for a pleasant stay.

Inconveniences or problems are quickly and efficiently solved. Eric and Michèle are excellent hosts, helpful and hardworking to please their guests.

We were very lucky with the weather and had two sunny weeks.

Beautiful views from our terrace on playing birds at breakfast and at the evening twilight.
Nearly every evening, after dinner we did long beautiful walks in the vast domain, very good for digestion.

The resort is a good starting point to explore the region and the never ending and alternating nature.

Beautiful region: many forests, nature and agriculture, ideal for the real hiker.

Lots to see:
Medieval towns, castles, rich nature.

We also enjoyed the delicious wines of Cahors.
The village of Gavaudun itself has a nice restaurant in the shadow of the castle, nice card, good food and friendly service.

We enjoyed our 2 weeks holiday, we felt completely at home.
We recommend this especially to hikers and active people who are interested in medieval history.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your comprehensive comments.
We hope to see you back in the near future ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Others have criticised, but I think this is pretty good value for money with an excellent pool and lovely houses. The current owners have done a great deal of work building new accommodation which fits in well with the surroundings. Personally we like that you can't drive your car around the site - good to be free of the exhaust smoke for a while. It is quite remote from shops, but we came fro peace and quiet and that's what we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavaudun, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We make a lot of efforts to please our guests. I hope you can come back and visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

On arrival we gratefully took the option of 2 adjacent one-bedroom units as building work was taking place next to the available and booked 2-bedroom unit.

The quality of our units was OK but basic; no soap or hairdryer were provided. Domaine De Gavaudun is an RCI-listed timeshare resort; our experience of RCI resorts is that units are usually more comfortable with a better standard of fittings.

Unit heating was adequate for one of the coldest weeks known there in early May; there was light snow on one day. The nature of the drives/paths and the wet weather meant that we had to be very careful not to walk mud into the unit. As we stayed in low season, no resort activities were provided.

Television is French language only; the longwave radio on the hirecar gave us the election result from the BBC. Wifi was apparently available in the units if you bring a laptop, and an internet terminal is available in the office.

There are extensive grounds with pleasant woodland walks available. All shopping must be done in Fumel - 6 miles to the south-east, but good fresh bread can be ordered for early-morning delivery

There are 2 key offsets to the basic unit quality:
• The owners, Eric and Michele, state on their website that they have a very personal contact with guests and can give a lot of valuable advice about the area. We found this to be absolutely true - including a guided tour of the botany/fora in the grounds. Another RCI couple we met commented that they preferred the simple personal touch of Domaine de Gavaudun to the corporate approach of most RCI resorts.
• This resort is based 30 miles south-east of Bergerac. It is in the heart of an area rich in scenery and attractions. If you are new to the area, then you must attend the Sunday meeting to focus you on the best places to visit in the region.

On balance we are glad we went.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele_and_Eric, Owner at Domaine de Gavaudun, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
First of all, thank you for your nice comments about our commitment to please our guests.
Your comment was made more than 3 years ago and since then, we made A LOT of improvements. For instance, we completely revamped the older houses, we built new houses and impressive new sports facilities, … and we now provide soap and hairdryers as standard ;-)
You would barely recognize the property … I hope you come back some day to appreciate those improvements.
Kind regards, Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de Gavaudun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Gavaudun

Address: Vezou | (March to November), 47150 Gavaudun, Monflanquin, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Monflanquin > Gavaudun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gavaudun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday resort offering high quality vacation rentals (25 villas and cottages), bar, restaurant, various leisure activities. Absolutely unique of its kind in the area. Rated Village de Vacances ****, "Le Domaine de Gavaudun" is a splendid property with 35 ha (87 acres) of undulating fields and woods. A calm green oasis perfectly situated in the south of historic Perigord (Dordogne), the region of a thousand Chateaux, near Quercy, Gascony and Guyenne. Its old charming renovated buildings, its excellent restaurant, the Auberge de Vezou (in the summer), and its modern accommodations in the middle of nature, together with the many activities available, will make for a memorable stay. Gavaudun is a typical and small village, dominated by its 11th century castle with a remarkable dungeon. It is nestled between the valleys of the Lot and the Dordogne rivers and is close to the majestic chateaux of Biron and Bonaguil as well as the bastides of Monflanquin and Monpazier. Sarlat and its festival, Rocamadour, Saint Emilion, Les Eyzies, Cahors, Moissac, Nerac, the prehistoric caves of Lascaux, Font de Gaume, Pech Merle and many other exceptional sites are awaiting your visit. Perigord is also particularly renowned for its fine cuisine: duck, truffles, cepe mushrooms, foie gras, ... With a glass of wine from Bergerac, Monbazillac, Cahors, ... What pleasure to walk around the local markets! Lastly, to please all, there are numerous cultural events organised around. On site activities: floodlit heated pool, floodlit tennis and basket-ball, volley-ball, table tennis, trampoline, boules, billiards, play area for the children, walking trails ... Close to the Resort: horseback riding, cycling, caving, rock climbing, adventure park, fishing, canoeing/kayaking, varied day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Gavaudun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de Gavaudun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.