We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of au fil de l'eau

au fil de l'eau
3 rue de la roquette | 33220, Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt, France
0553247260
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $65
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another excellent meal at 'Au fil de l'eau', the food was excellent and service very efficient. We have been here on numerous occasions and it never fails to deliver. We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great location spoiled by ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We dined here mid week in early July and the restaurant was not full which surprised us. It has the best location in the area, perched right above the river and beside the bridge. Decor is clean and without clutter, tables by the window are not large and fairly close together but I guess that the location has to be maximized. Service was attentive and quick. We had a 22 Euro menu. One of the entrees was melon and jambon! Not really good enough for this standard of restaurant. Both the mains, duck and mackerel, were well cooked but the mackerel came with soft vegetables that were spread across the plate and while tasty enough didn't impress with presentation. Having said this, we would still go back. As an aside, we find it a bit strange that people can bring their dogs into restaurants but this is France. The dog owners were English.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough Northants
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On the river dordogne with a nice view across the bridge. A perfect evening with my gorgeous beautiful wife who deserved a lovely meal after a days hard bike riding, never complained about the hills, nor saddlesores, nor my grumpiness-she is a saint. I would re-name the town of St Foy ---St Linda! Any way the meal was just fantastic.In the UK this standard of cooking and presentaion would have been £50 each just for the three courses but no it was 22Euros each ( ex wine)
and the wine was very reasonable. We were so pleased we went the next evening for the more expensive set meal at 29 E If you travel between Bergerac and St Emillion drop in cos you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pierre D'Eyraud
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch in Ste Foy la Grande France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant is in a great location overlooking the Dordogne river just off the bridge in Ste Foy la Grande from the old Bastide town. The room is modern but comfortable and the tables dressed with crisp white tablecloths, glassware and cutlery give off an air of quality. Being a Sunday in France we had a reservation and the restaurant was quite busy. The menu had two fixed options at E29 and E39 for a four or five course lunch and there was a good selection of starters, fish mains and meat mains followed by a cheeseboard and desert. The emphasis is on good quality local produce and all the regional favourites are available. I had pâté de foie gras followed by veal and my partner opted for the same starter followed by rack of lamb. The local cheeses were delicious and the deserts were great and the whole thing was beautifully presented and served by a courteous waiter dressed in white shirt and black tie (just like the old days!). The wine list centred on good local wines and were not outrageously priced. Overall another restaurant to add to our list of favourites for a special treat. Location wise you will need to go looking for it as although its 5 minutes from the town centre it's tucked away around a corner on a one way street just off the bridge Michel Montaigne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to this comfortable restaurant on several occasions for lunch and whether we take the "menu du jour" or one of the other, more expensive menus, the service, attention to detail, and flavour of the dishes is of a consistently high standard. The chef likes to please the eye with lots of colours and tastes in his presentation of the vegetable purées which accompany the main dishes. Fish or meat, always good quality produce with most things made in house. The cheese trolley is excellent and home made "amuses buches " with your apéritif and "petit fours" with coffee complete what is always a pleasant way while away a lunch time.
The view over the Dordogne and Sainte Foy la Grande is pleasing all the year round. There is always a warm welcome in this restaurant and this team aims to please. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed au fil de l'eau also viewed

Sainte Foy-la-Grande, Gironde
Sainte Foy-la-Grande, Gironde
 
Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt, Dordogne
Saint-Meard-de-Gurcon, Dordogne
 

Been to au fil de l'eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage au fil de l'eau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.