We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great valley view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Ambrosina to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montebuoni 95, 50029 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great valley view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is located on a hilltop about 20 min from center of Florence. Very quiet romantic location. We were travelling by car and this hotel was very convenient for us. Free parking. We have not tried their restaurant as we ate in the city both days. The room was contemporary furnished and clean. Internet was free. There was no refrigerator in the room, no in-room safe, and no place to store toiletries in the bathroom. Front desk staff was very helpful and polite. Check-in was too early for us - 11 am. Overall, ok for a short 2-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful room with breathtaking view overlooking florence. A simple yet elegant reception area as we were greeted by a friendly front desk staff. The courtyard has a very welcoming feeling as one walks in. It is far from shops etc. You need to have a transport to get here. But it is worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is located conveniently near Florence, if you are driving, and so could be a great base for visiting the city. We had a little difficulty finding the hotel, but it was worth it. Helpful staff, a beautiful hill top location, an adequate restaurant on the premises. Our rooms, in the main building, were very pleasant, and spotless, with nice showers. My two minor complaints are a very pedestrian breakfast -- e.g., canned fruit -- and spotty wifi availability.

Would definitely recommend this for families. We had three under five years of age children with us. The staff were very accommodating and very kind to the children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

South of Florence at the top of a huge hill you can wind your way through narrow streets to reach the Hotel Villa Ambrosina. The restaurant was closed the Monday night we stayed but a short walk down the hill was recommended by the staff where we were treated to a fantastic meal. The hotel itself is nice enough and the air conditioning functioned well enough to allow for sleep. The free wifi was sporadic and unreliable. The room we got was very nice but typically European small despite the enormous bathroom. Everything was nice but the selling point is the exterior decor and charm. In cooler months I could see myself wasting the hours away here with a bottle of wine and a smile. My family and I would stay here again but not until we speak to management about the internet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We chose this hotel, because it had everything we needed, in terms of price, breakfast, and most importantly, free parking. Do not choose this hotel if you want to be in the centre of Florence! You need to take a bus, but it's convenient. Good breakfast spread, nice staff, and beautiful views of the city. The hill is a bit of a hike, for those not in very good shape though. Really enjoyed our stay and don't have anything bad to say about it. We stayed August 2010.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, MT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

There is almost nothing bad to say about this hotel except it is hard to get into and out of without a vehicle. The staff is wonderfull, the resteraunt nearby is excellent, and the view is just specatular. I stayed at this place almost a year ago and i still remember it fondly despite the 1/4 mile walk up a steep hill everday to travel into florence proper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

It's a great place to stay if visiting the Tuscany area by car. I would only recommend this place if you have your own car as it's on top of a 1mile long windy steep hill. The view from the top is great. The restaurant up top is ok but I prefer the one right at the bottom of the hill just to the south(along the major road) because it's a better value. The rooms are very clean and modern in decor. We stayed at the 2nd building and not the main building where the front desk is at. Free wifi near front desk and the included breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ambrosina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Address: Via Montebuoni 95, 50029 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Impruneta > Tavarnuzze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambrosina 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambrosina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosina Hotel Florence
Hotel Villa Ambrosina Tavarnuzze, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ambrosina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.