We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity ... it could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ambrosina to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ambrosina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montebuoni 95, 50029 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Palamos, Spain
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“What a pity ... it could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Yes, the view is spectacular. Yes the price is sharp when you do an online booking (the rack rate is a ridiculous €150). But, as many posters have noted, it is way outside Florence and a seriously steep hill sits between the two. I suppose one could walk and catch the bus, but that way a lot of time would be wasted, so I would certainly recommend a car. Don't trust your GPS ... ours took us via the 'alternative route' which involved very narrow streets and an even steeper hill.

The rooms are neat and clean, and parking is lightly shaded. That's the good bit. The breakfast is unimaginative and the coffee, by European standards, is appalling. Our airco did not work which meant sleeping with the windows open. On the ground floor this felt like being in a zoo. During the night 6-legged beasties entered the open windows and remove bodily fluids from us. But the worst was that I reported the faulty airco to the desk mid-afternoon and was promised that it would be seen to. When arriving back at 10:30pm, there was no note and a hot room. That is NOT acceptable. I would have been happier with the broken toilet seat (points 2 posts down); at least it wouldn't itch.

If you are without a car, try somewhere along the bus route or closer to Florence. If you have a car, try somewhere without broken toilet seats or aircos.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, MN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We just got back..,stayed 3 nights in room 202 which had a wonderful view of the valley and top of the Florence Duomo from afar. Average price about 90 dollars per night. Food in the restaurant was good and fairly reasonably priced. We had a car, which was fairly essential for reaching to top of the hill. If you walked up it with bags, it could be a lot of work. Breakfast not too special, but got us out the door. Wifi kind of spotty, but two local networks were available and functioned acceptably. The bathroom floor could be slick when wet, but that's rue of any tile floor. Would be sort of hard to find without a good map or gps. Since we always took the "wrong" way up or down the hill, we didn't notice the restaurant at the bottom of the hill ( AS you go RIGHT out) until we left. it looked really cute. It was a little bit older and tatty in spots, but we really liked the place and recommend it highly. Heck, for 90 bucks I would even get one of the larger rooms facing north for the extra window space. Some of the double rooms looked pretty small...we checked a few out while they were being cleaned after people had checked out...and a couple look like they have not as nice of views. Our view, however, was awesome. Three thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We have emailed this hotel twice while still in Italy, to give our views and asked for a refund if the overpayment but have not received any acknowledgement. Although the hotel is close to Florence, we had several problems.
1) We had not pre-booked and on enquiry when we arrived at the hotel were told by management that it was a FIVE star hotel and the reception desk tended to reflect this although the rooms didn't. We were told that the normal cost was Euro150 per night (NZ$300) but because of the time of year and the fact we were staying 2 nights we could have a room 100Euro per night (NZ$200 per night). During our checkout we were pre-booking our next hotel and the desk clerk in conversation remarked that the hotel we were enquiring about was the same rate as theirs - 80Euro per night. Because this remark raised doubts in our minds, we have since checked the star rating and the nightly charges for the hotel. The hotel is only listed on the internet with Expedia.com, Booking.com and Trip Adviser as 3 star - which is probably realistic - with a full price range of NZ$112 for std room to NZ160 for a family room. (From 56 to 80Euro per night). We were definitely overcharged and given the wrong star rating.
2) On arriving at our room, which was spacious, it did not reflect the 5 star description. On using the toilet I nearly flew into the shower glass as the toilet seat was not secured to the toilet bowl. There was also no plug in the bidet or any shampoo, soap etc. The hotel had to know that the toilet seat was insecure - you can't clean the seat without realising this. We went to the reception desk to advise them of the problem and we given shampoo etc, but the toilet seat problem was dismissed by us being told that the plumber didn't work at the weekend.
3) Next day, in daylight, we discovered that the car park area had numerous piles of dog excrement making it difficult to know where to park without getting our shoes soiled and transferring this into the car.
4) The restaurant has a different management, and is advertised as offering 10% discount to all hotel guests. This didn't happen.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay at this hotel. We had stayed there 4 years ago for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We were in Italy in August 2010 for three weeks and stayed at this hotel again for 8 nights. The staff was great, especially Victor. He was a great help in mapping out the interesting places and restaurant's to visit and has a wonderful personality, the hotel is very lucky to have him. The room was just what we had requested, a wonderful view of the Florence valley. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip to Italy very special! We will definitely stay at the Villa Ambrosina in the future when we visit Italy again. Julia & Ken Taylor (California) originally from England.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We loved this hotel, it has a beautiful view. We were a little concerned after arriving in Florence to find out that it was 20 minutes outside of the city. We were able to take a taxi for only 20 euro. Each morning we walked down the hill, which is pretty steep but only 10 minute walk to the bus stop. Loved this hotel, it was clean, ample room, the breakfast was nothing special but filled the stomach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I really wouldn't recommend this place if you are 2 females travelling alone. We were made to feel incredible uncomfortable by the staff, one man thought it was OK to try and kiss our cheeks at every available opportunity and butt in, whilst we were trying to talk to each other.
One female member of staff felt the need to shout at us when THEY booked a cab for us by mistake. No one seemed to speak very good English at all.
The rooms are very old fashioned & uncomfortable with no tea or coffee making facilities and no welcome pack.
It's miles out of Florence, up a really steep hill and just basically a horribl;e place to visit!
My recommendation, go to Florence it's awesome, but stay far FAR away from this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Two couples travelling in Tuscany, using this lovely hotel as base. Yes, it is up in the hill, but the view is beautiful. You will need a car, definitely and park the car to get the bus to the city centre. Park your car close to the bus station, and enjoy walking in Florence. Rooms were well decorated and breakfast was OK. Very friendly staff. Free parking. Yes, the restaurant down the hill is really good. We were there every night for dinner. And we had met the same people having dinner there, also, evey night. They were Italians. I will definitely recomend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ambrosina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambrosina

Address: Via Montebuoni 95, 50029 Tavarnuzze, Impruneta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Impruneta > Tavarnuzze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarnuzze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambrosina 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambrosina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosina Hotel Florence
Hotel Villa Ambrosina Tavarnuzze, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ambrosina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.