We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Velvet Cannons Tour of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa la Selva

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Casale Marittimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa la Selva
Loc Pagliano, 52021 Casale Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Velvet Cannons Tour of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our group was 6 couples, we stayed in the main villa for 10 nights and each had our own ensuite bathroom and plenty of room to get lost if you wanted privacy. The location of the villa was perfect for day trips and morning walks and Giovanna our host was a fabulous and could not do enough to ensure our stay was hassle free.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a dreamy week at Villa La Selva. The main villa is stunning with views to die for… seriously. The staff (Ms Giovanna) are so helpful and pleasant and really helped make our stay very special. I would recommend this setting for a wedding or a family or friends reunion- it will take your breath away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful in the main villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We returned from our fabulous holiday at Villa la Selva and it was the highlight of our " trip of a lifetime"!
Our stay at this beautiful villa exceeded everyone's expectations. The villa itself is so beautiful, spacious and luxurious - it was perfect for our group of six couples, all of whom are used to staying at the finest resorts. Everyone enjoyed the pool, the tennis court, the vineyards and the walks through the countryside. The meals that the cooks prepared were exquisite and so much fun to enjoy on the covered veranda overlooking the pool, the gardens and the vineyards.
The villa was perfectly located with easy access to Siena, Cortona, San Gimignano, and all the great wineries that we visited. We tasted wine all over the region and found none to be better than the excellent ( and inexpensive) wine that are produced at Villa la Selva. I only wish we could find the wine here in the States.
Everyone in our party has told me that the Villa was the highlight of our trip. They would all come back again ( we are already planning a return trip) and would recommend it to anyone who was traveling to Tuscany. We really enjoyed the cooks, the cooking classes, even the polo match down the hill was great fun. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What an amazing week. The place was beautiful. My wife, myself, my mother and father had the pleasure of staying here for our Tuscan adventure. The estate was perfect. Rolling hills of Cabernet and sangiovese grapes, a pool, tennis court, and even a bocce ball court. Our house on the property greeted us with a 2003 estate cabernet sauvignon ripe with blackberry flavors and a very mature swagger (bring a few bottles home). One day we jogged to the top of Montebenchi. We saw a family of wild boar in the distance below traversing a vineyard. Then walked through the rustic castle resort at the top (http://www.castelletto.it). Each day we would either take day trips to various vineyards or Tuscan sites and could always return to our villa to end our night. BTW - I strongly suggest a visit to Dario the butcher of Panzano - both his shop and his restaurant - I love this man and you will too. The kitchen was great for cooking a Tuscan dinner. Our host, Giovanna, who we met upon arrival in the tasting room, was very gracious and helpful. Overall, a wonderful vacation and an impressive and relaxing estate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Villa La Selva (www.villalaselva.it) is a wine resort located between Arezzo and Siena. There is a town nearby with supermarket etc. The villas for rent are beautifully furnished and well-maintained. The kitchen has everything you need and the villa has a barbecue area, garden and privacy. Beautiful pool and tennis courts on site too. We stayed in September 2011 and would highly recommend it. Prices are very reasonable and guests receive a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Il Guardia has 2 rooms, 2 doubles, one twin all with ensuite. The uptairs room is a climb up rustic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at Villa La Selva in one of the larger villas, "Oliveto," at the end of Sep 2009. What an amazing time we had. The Villa was in a prime location between Siena and Florence, with easy access to wonderful food, vistas, sights, welcoming local people and the best wine the hills of Tuscany has to offer. The pool on the Villa's grounds, along with the tennis courts, bocce court and paths for walking and running made it a wonderful time for the children as well. Our villa's rooms were in perfect order, exquisitely furnished and decorated, and wonderfully relaxing. Patrick Spencer, who manages the property, is an American who has been living in Tuscany for over 9 years, speaks the language fluently and makes the best possible recommendations for things to do, see, and eat. Every single one of his recommended activities was spot on and perfect for our family. Go see Tuscany and make Villa La Selva your base of operations!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Il Guardia from the 10th to 20th May and we would like to share our wonderful experience with you.

Firstly, we were very impressed with the warm welcome at the estate and by how Patrick Spencer (Marketing manager) made great efforts to make our stay very enjoyable.

The villa is very well maintained and everything that was mentioned in the list was there. On the first morning when we noticed the microwave missing, we informed Patrick and one was sent to the villa within the morning.

On the first night of arrival, we asked for recommendations for dinner and we were pleasantly surprised by Patrick's recommendation. We had the best steak of our life and the prices were very reasonable. Throughout our whole stay, we were very pleased by how Patrick recommended good quality to price locations. Having travelled in other regions, we have had bad experiences of other PR persons recommending over-priced places.

The only time we experienced an "okay" dinner and mentioned it in passing to Patrick, he immediately brought us a bottle of wine the next day and we thought it was such a nice gesture.

The only negative point about the villa is the lack of washing machine as mentioned in the list. We thought there were coin-operated ones and did not bring as many clothes. Thankfully, Patrick solved the issue by helping us with the laundry.

The property was fantastically maintained and it had great toiletry ;-). Super charming place that is a not more than 100km from all the major sights, which is great as eating in the neighbourhood was much cheaper than having meals at Florence or Sienna.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa la Selva

Also Known As:
Villa La Selva Italy/Casale Marittimo
Address: Loc Pagliano, 52021 Casale Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Casale Marittimo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Casale Marittimo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa la Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa la Selva to your Saves list