We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Ecluse

Hotel L'Ecluse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Ecluse to your Saves list
Hotel L'Ecluse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Limoges, 24420 Antonne-et-Trigonant, France   |  
Hotel amenities
somerset
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

booked here after being let down at chateau reynats,what a difference here they were pleased to have you to stay and treated you like welcome guests and the resraurant was very pleasant with open windows overlooking the river

Room Tip: look out for the mosquitos in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in August. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist (English, who was able to deal with our questions. We were in a room that overlooked the river with a good sized balcony. I would agree with other reviews, the rooms were outdated especially the bathroom which I must add was also very dark. But in the glorious sunshine in August we sat on the terrace to read our books and watch the local wildlife and resident goose.

We have only one complaint about the hotel and that was the number of dogs that were in the hotel and to our disgust even allowed into the breakfast area! There was a large dog insitue in the room above us which made a lot of noise in the room and it was also unnerving when sat on the balcony, if you understand what I mean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We found this hotel by chance, when driving past and loved it - especially out of season, as we had it almost to ourselves but we would love to go back in the summer and swim in the river outside

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Can't understand how this place got 3* rating. The setting on the banks of the River L'isle is lovely and the building is attractive and imposing but the rooms are pretty ordinary, as are the bathrooms and are more 2* than 3*. I guess it gets away with it because of the setting. About 1km from the main road, it is lovely and quiet with no other buildings around except a very nice looking chateau on the opposite bank! Nice terrace beside the river for an drink, good bar area, large dining room with a good meal. Friendly staff (1 English girl) and very 1* breakfast. I'd come again because of the setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed here during the second week of July '09, on our way to Lascaux II. A little hard to find, as it is out in the countryside, just outside of town. Even the GPS couldn't locate it. It is an older place, and the rooms show it. Very basic, in need of renovations. The bathroom, while clean and with plenty of hot water and pressure, is pretty dated. The bed was comfortable, which is important. But, in fairness, the price is right for the condition of the room.

The location is very nice, on the edge of a small river, with very tame geese and ducks. The best thing about this place is the restaurant, which I would definitely rate above a 3-star. Simply fabulous. Service was excellent, the food was very good, as was the selection. Local wines are plentiful, and also quite good. Our waiter invited us to take our coffee and after dinner drinks outside in the garden. The rear of the building, which is by the river, is quite beautiful. All at a quite reasonable price.

Once again, as with all other places we stayed in while in France, breakfast is overpriced, but, due to the hotel's location, you don't have any other options close by.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Ecluse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Ecluse

Address: Route de Limoges, 24420 Antonne-et-Trigonant, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Antonne-et-Trigonant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Antonne-et-Trigonant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Ecluse 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Ecluse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Ecluse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.