We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay travelling the Garden Route” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Tsitsikamma Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AWESOME FOURSOME PACKAGE
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Storms River
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay travelling the Garden Route”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely setting with colonial style separate cottages with an old world charm overlooking a large grass square and beautiful gardens.
Good value for money accommodation. Clean rooms with exceptionally comfortable beds, in-house cafe and restaurant with broad food and beverage range which also catered well for children (although we weren't travelling with them). Wifi was excellent.
Well situated for trips to Storms River Mouth and many other activities and wish we stayed more than one night as there is much to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
"Old World Charm" ! Thank you! This is quintessentially who and what we hope to be! Many thanks for your review and we hope you will return soon. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
131
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Make no mistake, the rest of the staff were very good, being friendly and helpful, but Mario at the Hunter's Pub is diamond in the rough. The entire weekend he tended to our every request however odd it may have seemed, without ever questioning or waivering, he and his helpers endevoured to make our weekend one of the most memorable we've ever had.

Our sincerest thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your commendation of Mario and the staff. Your comments have been printed and pinned up and your message relayed to him personally. This is really lovely to hear from a guest. Thanks again and best wishes. Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall V good indeed and willing to accomodate us on the Bed only rate due to allergies. Thank you. I would suggest a broader TV option. there is NOTHING to watch on top Tv, and if the weather is lousy and raining, and one has to be indoors,as we had, it would have been great to watch something decent. A small microwave in the rooms would have been great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your constructive suggestions. These have been noted. Again, we appreciate your review and thanks yet again for having chosen to spend some time at our charming inn. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is a fantastic family-type old- world charm hotel set in beautiful surroundings. The food was excellent and the only problem was that I could only stay one night. I will definitely be bringing my family with me next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Yes, ONE night is not nearly enough, Clive. :) Please do come again soon, and bring along friends and family. We love a crowd of happy guest. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Picked at random from Internet. Well kept grounds surrounded by one and two storey accommodation buildings. Varied in shape so the site is very attractive. Excellent restaurant and café/pub. Would have like a fridge in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Well, we are really happy that your random pick brough you to us. Thank you for your review and that you spent such a good time with us. Make memories and come again soon. Best wishes, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at Tsitsikamma Village Inn again after 25 years. Still as good if not better than the first time round. The inn suits the awesome environment it is located in. Will definately stay their again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Wonderful to hear!! Please dont wait another 25 years to return!!! LOL. Kind regards and best wishes, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My partner and I went to stay over for the weekend so as to celebrate his 40th Birthday, and what a magnificent choice he made by booking us in at the Tsitsikamma Village Inn. If you're seeking cold, commercial, and impersonal perfectionism, I'm afraid you should rather stay away - in fact rather go to the Waterfront in Knysna or Cape Town. The owners and staff of this stunning establishment have managed to maintain and hold on to a culture and warmth which had once made the Cape a visitor's dream. At the Inn, once you walk over the threshold, It's like stepping back in time. The heart and soul which you enter into is like a cocoon embracing you with warmth. There are a few slight quirks but these are what make this Inn even more of a treasure. We dubbed the orange tabby who seems to be managing the beautifully maintained courtyard, Garfield, and he too only seems to add to the venue's preciousness.

My only concern is that like with Knysna and Cape Town, the folks at the Village Inn will exchange the unique quality of the Inn for a more commercial, streamlined approach which will utterly destroy the heritage and secret drawing card of what the Tsitsikamma Village Inn entails.

In terms of activities: the Canopy tour is a must (the guides were very knowledgeable with a wonderful sense of humour) the Segway Bike ride into the forest is a lot of fun. The Elephant sanctuary is a once in a lifetime experience (which I'm hoping to make a twice in a life time experience - obviously upon our return visit to the Inn). The Storm River Mouth is awe inspiring and the forest itself is breath taking. At night all you need do is quietly sit and listen to the wind as it moves through the centuries old trees.

The Champagne breakfast which Chris (one of the Managers) was prepared to organise for us in the garden was fantastic.

The Tsitsikamma VIllage Inn represents the old fashioned warmth and hospitality of what once was. We will be seeing them soon again.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms surrounding the Courtyard area ... The Drostdy, Ikaya, The Cottages and De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello. Hope it was a happy birthday, with many memories stored up. This makes for such good reading. And you are so right… our “Garfield” is a treasure to us all… staff and guests, alike. It really is so satisfying when visitors to the hotel and to our gorgeous area taken in by it all. Hope to see you soon. Happy travelling. Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tsitsikamma Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Village Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This privately owned and managed country hotel consists of 49 village-style rooms, where each cottage is individually decorated to match its specific colonial building style. Enjoy a drink in our famous Hunters Bar, indulge in al fresco dining at Café Bacchus or select from our extensive a la carte menu at De Oude Martha Restaurant.The Hotel is renowned for its good food, old world charm and has been a favourite for many a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tsitsikamma Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Village Inn Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsitsikamma Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.