We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull setting with everything you need.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tsitsikamma Village Inn to your Saves list
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautifull setting with everything you need.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Inn. All the rooms are nice and clean. We stayed in the barn which is a bit small but nice finishings with DSTV and aircon. No complaints with the room. The gardens are awesome, service is good with friendly staff. The restaurant there is very good. Great food, and the buffet breakfast is fantastic as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great just the bigger you go the more you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you. Next time, please do extend your stay for a few more days that you can get to sample more of the delights on the menu. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    166
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
111
207
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The only place we would not raccomend is Tsitsikamma village with no
tradition and very poor accomodation.
I thought it could be useful for you to have this feedback.
Thank you very much again and Good Easter


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings from the beautiful and scenic Tsitsikamma. A belated Easter wish to you too, and so happy that you had a good one. Could we please request that you advise which room you were accommodated in as tradition and character is what we pride ourselves on, and would very much like to respond to you with clearer details. That would help. Thank you again and warm and sunny greetings. Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The village inn provided everything that we needed and wanted. Would recommend to others and would stay there again.
We ate at the restaurant one evening and although the food wasn't spectacular it was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We value your review. Many thanks and hope you will stay over again soon. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent a night over a long week-end at Tsitsikamma Village Inn while exploring the Garden Route. It was a pleasant experience and we would definitely re-visit the Inn in the future. The staff were friendly and professional and the setting ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We hope you will return soon as there is never end to exploring the spectacular Tsitsikamma. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here a few nights with family while exploring South Africa. The hotel is located in a quaint village with a couple shops - clearly aimed at tourists. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and picturesque. The rooms were comfortable but a bit run down (our ceiling fan didn't work, the furniture is quite dated). The aircon didn't seem to dehumidify, so while we had cool air, it was very, very damp. Son was disappointed by how dirty the pool was... I was still willing to swim, but there was too much algae and dead bugs to convince him! We saw this problem twice on our trip - really, keeping a clean functional pool should be high on any hotel's list of things to attract families. Oh well.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. I loved sitting on the porch, sipping coffee and listening to all the beautiful bird calls of the rain forest. Stunning. Dinner was also quite passable. The food was wholesome and decent, but not fancy by any stretch. That's ok, their ostrich steak was perfect!

The location is nice, nestled in among massive trees, but bear in mind you are NOT on the mouth of the Storms River. You have to drive 5km to get to the mouth, at the Tsitsikamma park. Our first choice would have been to stay in the cabins in the Tsitsikamma park, right along the coast. Due to lack of availability we had to stay at the Inn instead. It had its own charm, but it is hard to compete with the rugged beauty of the park's coastline.

Our room could use a bit of maintenance and the dining menu could be spruced up, but really these are minor complaints. Overall, this is a nice, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are always thankful and grateful to read feedback as it allows us to meet all our valued guests needs. Thank you for this. We have noted the comments on the aircon. The pool did get rather a battering over a period of daily gales and storms. So sorry that you were not able to utilise it fully. Your review is constructive and appreciated. We hope you will return in the near future. Best wish and kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent five days at the Tsitsikamma Village Inn, longer than most travellers maybe, but we knew the area and wanted a relaxing stay after a month's touring and before our flight back to the UK. The hotel turned out to be excellent from all points of view. A very attractive collection of individual buildings in varying styles, mostly Cape, grouped round lovely lawns, courtyards and flower beds. There are lovely trees on the property too and plenty of bird life. We had a semi-detached cottage with a shady verandah, lovely large bedroom, spacious bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. The cottage was serviced daily and towels and linen were excellent. We could come and go directly from the cottage, with our parking close at hand, or avail ourselves of the beautiful lounge in the the main building, the cafe and the pool area. The breakfasts in the very attractive dining room were delicious and full of variety and the service was very good. Reception staff were efficient and very helpful and very prompt in answering requests. We were actually booked into one of the top quality rooms, but when we discovered on arrival that it was upstairs, which would have been difficult for me, the staff could not have been more helpful in changing us to our lovely cottage and refunded us the difference in the price without being asked. We felt this was a very professional and caring approach. Our only slight criticisms would be that if you are staying longer than a couple of nights, as we did, the evening menu is a little limited and we feel this could be improved, especially starters. Secondly, it would be nice, especially in a warm climate, to have a small fridge in the room, even though this is a hotel. The hotel is in the heart of the little village which adds to its character and makes joining tourist and activity trips very easy. It is also very close to the main road and withing easy reach of more commercial resorts such as Plettenberg Bay and of the airport at Port Elizabeth. We enjoyed the beautiful locations of Nature's Valley and Storms River Mouth a few minutes down the road. All in all a lovely stay which we would thoroughly recommend. We were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from the village road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was such a pleasure having you with us for this period of time. The charm of the area and the hotel requires a lengthy stay to take it all in and relax. Glad you could do that, and your points of value have been noted and will be addressed. Please come again soon .. and next time, make it a longer stay!!!? Best wishes, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The ambience and layout of the village is wonderful. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast was of the very best and the food in the restaurant good. However, although the waitresses were doing their very best, service in the restaurant was very slow due to too few waitresses on duty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnHotel, Front Office Manager at Tsitsikamma Village Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We value your review. Many thanks and hope you will stay over again soon. Kind regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tsitsikamma Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Village Inn

Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This privately owned and managed country hotel consists of 49 village-style rooms, where each cottage is individually decorated to match its specific colonial building style. Enjoy a drink in our famous Hunters Bar, indulge in al fresco dining at Café Bacchus or select from our extensive a la carte menu at De Oude Martha Restaurant.The Hotel is renowned for its good food, old world charm and has been a favourite for many a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tsitsikamma Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Village Inn Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsitsikamma Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.