We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At The Woods Guest House

Save Saved
You added At The Woods Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At The Woods Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We planned 1 night in storms-river, but we enjoyed it so much we stayed another night.
The place is really beautiful and peaceful, rooms are clean and welcoming.
great breakfast on the upper deck,
the owners are really nice, they offer a lunch-box for the day-trips, which are very good idea..
in the evening, if its a cold night, there is a fire-place running where you can read and enjoy the worm atmosphere, very romantic..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    55
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
115
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addo, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We LOVED our 2 night stay.Tsitsikamma is a charming little town, so many things to do. At the Woods was extremely central, our room perfect/faultless/alot more than expected, service so warm and friendly. A relaxed breakfast was a wonderful start to each day although i was tempted to just stay in bed cos the bedding was so devine :-)

An ideal stop over on the garden route, but equally a destination on its own.
Cant recommend enough

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A great place to bunk up when we had lousy weather. Fortunately the day activity in the park was great, so we were not bothered by that. But, if you are passing thru, the place is ideal. They have a great dining and play area with a fireplace, books, games and wifi.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great; having booked ahead, we probably had better rooms. We wished there had bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thank you Marco and Bev for a fantastic stay At The Woods.
Your establishment should quality for more than 3 Stars. The rooms are spacious, the beds are soooo comfortable, the lounge and dining room areas are beautiful decorated.
It will only be a pleasure to refer guests, friends and family to your establishment.
Many thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronpel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights , family of 5 in 2 rooms. Guest house is very comfortable and decor is beautiful .Rooms are large and very clean . Great hospitality and service by owners. We also used their laundry and picnic basket services which were both very good value for money. Common areas are wonderful with free wifi. Owners helped a lot with where and what to do in the area. Highly recommended for the tsitiskama area.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have great views of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The guesthouse did not meet our expectations. We have stayed at almost 10 different b&bs over our trip along the garden route and this was the worst (and it was not the cheapest either!).

When we arrived, within their allocated check-in times, there was no-one to be found. We rang the bell for attention and waited for what felt like 15-20 minutes, we walked around and found a house maid who did her best to find our room and keys. We wanted to dump our stuff and go straight to storms river mouth before it was late for a walk but when trying to close the balcony door to our room the lock didn't work. After wasting time sorting this, again looking for someone to help..., my partner managed to get the door sorted eventually. We were later informed they knew the door was not working which made us question why put us in this room when only one other room was occupied?

On return that evening the room was freezing and there was no heating. We wandered the halls looking for someone to ask about heating and eventually found a gas heater to use which we dragged into our room which took a while to get started as we had never used such a heater before. It would have been nice to be advised where to find the heaters and instructed on how to safely use them. I couldn't sleep with the heater on with worry that the flame may extinguish and fill the room with gas.

Also the bench with tea/coffee facility in the room was covered in ants and wifi is only available in the lounge.

Breakfast was good but when going to check out again the same problem arose as on check in- almost half an hour later we were checked out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevCoetzee, Owner at At The Woods Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear CMay29,
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay - we do try our utmost to ensure our guests have a great stay while with us, and also in the area.
I take full responsibility for the problem with the lock. As I said to you on the day, I personally forgot to pass on the problem to my husband, but once I did he immediately went upstairs and fixed it, before you came back from your afternoon excursion, so that you would be able to enjoy the nice mountain views from Room 7’s verandah.
We do offer free Wi-Fi connection to our guests; this is available in both of our guest lounges as well as from the guest computer in the Internet Room.
As the owners/managers, we live on the property, and our team of staff is fully trained to deal with the guests when we are not on site. We will certainly follow up on the delays you felt you experienced, as time is precious, and most certainly holiday time when one wants to see what a new area has to offer.
Feedback is always valuable, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed two nights in mid-May. The rooms are not decorator showy but they are very comfortable, clean and roomy. Massive shower and lots of hot water. Enjoyed having the small fridge in the room. The decor has a lodge vibe with lots of exposed dark wood, very appealing. The upstairs lounge has a huge fireplace and comfy furniture, good wifi and adequate electrical outlets. No wifi in the rooms. Marco prepares a delicious breakfast in the morning. Bev did our laundry and it was returned cleaned, ironed and in tact and reasonably priced. Not sure why the tourist board rates this just a 3 star inn because it seems very 4 star to me. The town is quite small and you can easily walk to the restaurants, adventure providers and shops. A short drive from here to the national park and to The Big Tree. We really enjoyed our stay. Bev and Marco are great hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to At The Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Woods Guest House

Address: 43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Woods Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Storms River Village, Tsitsikamma, we offer a relaxed stay in our owner managed guest house with mountain views, swimming pool, Wi-Fi and other comforts. We have 2 guest lounges, offer a laundry service and will help with your arrangements for your stay in the area.Breakfast is served, and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your At The Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Woods Guest House Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The Woods Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.