We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - one of the best places we've stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At The Woods Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added At The Woods Guest House to your Saves list
At The Woods Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Storms River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location - one of the best places we've stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Welcoming hosts and lovely rooms - this place is a hidden gem. We could have stayed here for a week. Best breakfast of our entire trip on the upstairs terrace overlooking the mountain. Great location for exploring the local area (Storms River and Natures Valley) - good eating options within walking distance. Can't recommend highy enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    77
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
153
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

we stayed At the Woods for two nights in Storms river village the guest house was very good and Beth the owner is very warm and friendly our room was very good with a very spacious balcony and there is a pool in the garden and the scenery is spectacular eating out is very limited but adequate and Storms river is very quiet and one night is long enough for a stop over unless you want outdoor pursuits other wise all very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

.....even though we live in the Garden Route, we also need to break away from time to time, and were so glad to have found our way to AT The Woods, Storms river village, a tranquil retreat off the main drag, (N2) on the drive in one is immediately greeted with this lovely neat guesthouse... Bev and Marco were so warm and welcoming, immediately settled in we explored the village, had a leisurely stroll and planned our next days activities with the help of Bev. A very comfortable night, with both boys settled into their own room, our room was well equipped with many thoughtful extra's that one often forgets......, we were lucky enough to be able to join in their communal dinner (that they host from time to time I believe) our kids were so at home.... Breakfast: Marco prepares and serves himself, (loads of options..) then set off to do a fantastic morning trip with Tree tops canopy tours. what an amazing day spent in a wonderful part of the Garden Route... Highly recommended for a breakaway!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place has a wonderful setting and is a peach of a guesthouse. Tastefully furished, with real character, the rooms were delightful in every way and you get a real feeling of peace and tranquility. Bob ,our host, (the owners were away when we stayed) could not have been more helpful or friendly and breakfast was delicious. The only (very minor) gripe wasthe fact that you have to pay for internet usage- really, in this day and age? Regardless - highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Tranquil setting, friendly hosts, large comfortable rooms, good en-suite with large shower.
Centrally located for attractions. We stayed 1 night but will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I will start with a positive note...
The location was superb and the b&b looks great on internet.
Unfortunately the rooms are vey basic and overprized in my opinion.
Breakfast was poor if compared with other places we did stay during our holiday.
Owner(s) never to be seen...staff was helpfull but not really friendly.
No explanation was giving about activities, restaurants,...
Lucky that this was just a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Went for only one night while visiting Tsitsikama and ended up coming back. It is a lovely comfy, elegant and well located place with a terrace, pool and very nice common areas where you can sit and read, talk or play chess when it rains, in front of a great fire. Loved it and would go back any day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At The Woods Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Woods Guest House

Address: 43 Formosa Street | Tsitsikamma, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At The Woods Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Storms River Village, Tsitsikamma, we offer a relaxed stay in our owner managed guest house with mountain views, swimming pool, Wi-Fi and other comforts. We have 2 guest lounges, offer a laundry service and will help with your arrangements for your stay in the area.Breakfast is served, and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your At The Woods Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Woods Guest House Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The Woods Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.