We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conservation levy and accommodation ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Storms River Mouth Restcamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Storms River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Storms River Mouth Restcamp
Save
You added Storms River Mouth Restcamp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Tsisikamma National Park, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Conservation levy and accommodation ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The park is closest one can get to paradise.

We made our reservations from Australia. The lady who have taken our reservation told us the amount paid includes a Conservation Levy. We have received a booking confirmation as such. On arrival we were told we have to pay R2100 levy. When we disputed this, we were told that they do not accept the booking confirmation as it is not a valid format. Also, overseas visitors has to pay R186 compared to R44 for locals. We bring new currency to South Africa, why do we have to pay a premium compared to the locals?

Our used towels were left in the bathtub and not removed as per notice in accommodation. Dishwashing liquid was not replenished either.

SANPARKS still have a long way to go to reach international accepted service levels.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    71
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
148
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had fantastic support from the staff when my family got separated on a hike. The ranger and his staff was very helpful and supportive. Beautiful place to visit. The bathrooms for the camping is spotless and the water always hot.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in a forest hut on our way to Addo Elephant Park and really enjoyed our time. The hut was simple but comfortable, although the shower could have done with a clean. The forest huts share a communal kitchen that has the basics (stove tops, sinks, etc). It is a 5-minute walk to the "centre" of the camp where there is a shop with basic groceries, wood, and momentos, as well as a restaurant if you prefer not to cook. The walks/hikes in the area are sublime and range from an easy walk along walkways to the suspension bridge at the river mouth to a more challenging clamber across rocks to the waterfall. We were also fortunate enough to see a family of bush buck, and an otter during our stay. The accommodation was great value for money, and we could definitely have stayed longer. It is probably best to avoid the December peak season if you can however, because it does get very busy.

Room Tip: If you enjoy camping/caravanning, the campsites are beautifully located with amazing sea and sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely one of the worst places I have ever stayed..had the self catering apartment and there was MICE running around..I had sleepless nights because of the mice and the staff did absolutely NOTHING..worst experience ever!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is long due, but nevertheless here it is. Storms river mouth rest camp was a beautiful beginning to our honeymoon. Waking to that view was unbelievable. The hike near by to the suspension bridge and the waterfall at the other end was some of the most exciting things I have done! So raw, so untouched! the rooms itself were reasonably priced and the clean! The oceanette was warm and private.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just 1 night in a oceanette apartment, which was self catering. Very comfortable accommodation with the most amazing views. Wish we could have stayed longer as it was very good value in a superb location.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went in as day visitors to do the Waterfall day hike and enjoy the beauty of Storms River Mouth Rest camp.
The camp was extremely busy with tour buses and tour groups and we sadly realized that it is now a hub for tourists and completely commercialised. The ideal would be to control the number of buses coming in per day, but I guess the park needs the revenue................
We stayed in De Vasselot camp in Nature's Valley and by doing that, you can use the entry permit from them to enter Storms River camp at no charge.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the beauty of Storms River mouth rest camp, try to avoid the masses , by going...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storms River Mouth Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storms River Mouth Restcamp

Address: Tsisikamma National Park, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Storms River Mouth Restcamp 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Storms River Mouth Restcamp Hotel Storms River
Storms River Mouth Restcamp Tsitsikamma National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storms River Mouth Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.