We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful secret we hope not too many people will find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fernery Lodge & Chalets to your Saves list
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forest Ferns Estate, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful secret we hope not too many people will find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have to say that because of the reviews I read before we booked there I was slightly nervous about the stay. Having heard from friends what a lovely time they had had we thought we would try it. We were VERY happy with what we found. It was perfect peaceful and quiet and well away from the noisy N2 (the off-road experience isnt that bad....just depends what sort of a traveller you are!)The chalets were very comfortable and had every thing we needed with additional touches. The family had a blast trying to catch giant bass(or so we were told)in the dam- all tackle and boat provided. There were mountain bikes to hire and lots of fabulous hikes. We cannot comment on the food as we stayed self catering the whole time. The evening dining is not child friendly but they will gladly take food to chalet and organise babysitting should parents wish for a evening "off" in a grown up enviroment. For the rest of the day there was nowhere that seemed off limits and I rather liked the feeling of minimal staff! They seemed to be around when you needed them and on the end of the phone if nessesary. The Fernery itself is a fascinating place to look round and this is a "fern farm" despite the additional chalets and luxory acomodation. We will definately go back and stay much much longer. A really peaceful escape destination.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    76
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
188
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights of our honeymoon at The Fernery. Upon arrival we were told that a bottle of champaigne was waiting for us in our chalet to congratulate us on our recent wedding.
The next morning after a lovely breakfast, we met the local dog, Jack, who was eager to take us hiking! We couldn't understand why he kept barking at us but then realised that his intention was to take us on a beautiful walk to the Sundowner deck. What a pleasure! We fell inlove with the scenery and with our guide, Jack!

We spent our time relaxing and taking walks on the farm. It was so quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed bird watching and took some amazing photos.
We also enjoyed the jacuzzi! Wonderful view from there!

Our chalet was lovely with a fantastic view from the deck. We took some magnificent photos of the sunrise. We loved the bathtub overlooking the river and ocean! Thank you to the cleaning staff for doing a great job every morning.

We would like to thank The Fernery for a wonderful stay. We returned home rested and rejuvenated.
Thank you to the friendly staff for making our stay as comfortable as they could.
We recommend The Fernery to all who feel the need to escape their busy lives. Here you will truly find peace.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I can agree with most of the earlier reviews about the mixed feelings.

We stayed over New Year and the place was just amazingly beautiful. Although we were according to our travel agency booked in a chalet we ended up in the lodge, which was probably good. The room was huge, light and stylish - which we liked. The bed was comfortable.

We rented some bikes the day we arrived and enjoyed the beautiful area and being in the middle of nowhere.
It was a chilly and misty day and we were freezing so we asked about the Jaccuzzi. One person from the staff told us where to find it but did NOT mention that it was broken. After trying to turn it on for a while, we gave up and asked someone else who informed us the jaccuzzi was not working. So we asked them to put on the sauna for a specific time later that night and went for it... it as about 50 degrees... not really sauna temperature and rather funny for my Finnish fiancee :) We ended up just taking baths...

We had no trouble chosing the menu for the night after we arrived and were not rushed to do so. Dinner service was good, food arrived promptly and was delicious and reasonably priced.

Being very tired from the day we went to sleep early and got up at 6 to go running (great area for this). As we were informed breakfast starts at 8, we were ready just after 8... but noone was to be seen in the breakfast room (ok, it was 1st of January, but noone specified if this should make a difference). We waited for some time until a waitress came and slowly brought in breakfast supplies. It took almost 1.5 hours to get everything. We ordered to sets of eggs, but only got one after a long wait (maybe due to the waitresses lack of English skills?). We waited almost 20 minutes for the second one until we gave up and left - as we still had a far drive that day.


So, if you look for a secluded place in beautiful settings and outdoor activities that you can enjoy as a couple, this is a great location. Bring time and patience though and don't expect too great service. I would not pay for a full rate but we got this in a package deal and for one night, this was a good place... more than 2 nights I would probably not stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The Fernery has obviously taken on board the previous comments made as we found it to be a fabulous place to stay. The staff do still require some time to come up to scratch to 4 star but were helpful and pleasant. The chalets were stunning and really spacious. The secluded location made it so peaceful and relaxing- but 1/2 nights probably enough as its too far to travel anywhere else for dinner. The food was really good and we only had to choose whilst having our sundowners! there are really well set out trails for running/ hiking or cycling which are great and safe also. Bikes could be borrowed for free. Would definitely recommend for those looking for peace, quiet and realxtion.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

First of all, do NOT stay at the Fernery!

My wife and I stayed at the Fernery during our recent honeymoon. We stayed at the Lodge on 20 January 2009. Even though the place is beautiful, we had so many complaints about the level of service that we've received. I've discussed this with the manager at reception, who seemed very shocked by it all and endeavoured to give me thorough feedback of her findings. To date I have not had any correspondence from her.

Before booking, I read a few postings on Tripadvisor advising people not to stay there due to bad service encountered. I thought that it might be over-exaggerated, but it was not. Everything started when, about a month before our stay I contacted the Fernery to confirm my booking. I was told to send my proof of payment again, as they did not have any knowledge of my booking. After a strong letter back to you, my booking was eventually found.

Upon checking in, we were met by one of the staff who promptly escorted us to the lounge of the Lodge, only to prop two menus in our hands and being forced to make a choice in terms of dinner for the evening. This was still before even putting our bags in the room! We then asked if we could have more time and if we could take the menus to our room, but the response was a blunt "No".

I then had to ask her to show us the facilities. The jacuzzi was out of order, but no apology was offered. I then had to ask if there was an alternative, upon which I was informed that I can walk there.

As honeymooners, we were offered bubbly in the room. This was a nice touch, but unfortunately the service is so poor, that they did not even think of putting glasses in the room to drink from.

Breakfast the next morning was a total disaster. We had to get going early in the morning and planned to get to breakfast just after 8am (the time that we were given as the start of breakfast). Upon arrival, the breakfast was not set up yet and no excuse was offered. We had to wait for almost half an hour for everything to be organised, with the waitress running around and making a terrible noise while trying to set things up. We ordered eggs only (did not want to waste any more time), but was then told to make our own toast as the kitchen would not do that for us. My wife had to stand at the toaster and try and time it right to have our toast ready by the time the eggs arrived! The last straw came when I was asked to clear my plate in order for her to serve our eggs (this is after we had to clear our other plates as well, as she was still running around setting everything up!).

Upon checking out, I communicated all of the above to the manager. It was actually almost laughable when we were told that the waitress claims that we were at breakfast at 7:40am!!! This was the best she could come up with as an excuse for her not being ready at 8:05am when we arrived for breakfast. A blatant lie and I can't believe that she would even think about accusing guests like that.

We are regular travellers and definitely not snobs, but believe that there is a certain level of service to expect when paying the rate that we've paid at the Fernery. We stayed at some truly wonderful places during our honeymoon in SA's Garden Route (what a great place!), but the Fernery (and the service received from their staff) sticks out like a sore thumb in terms of being last on our list. Everything seemed like an effort to the staff and there was definitely no pride in their work. We left the place thinking about how wonderful it could be, but how awful it is. Great scenery, but unbelievably bad service. We will endeavour to tell everyone not to stay at this place!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Terrible service!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestferns1, Owner at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, February 27, 2009
It was with great concern that we read the negative feedback posted on Tripadvisor and felt extremely vulnerable as we were not aware that we were on this site. It is for this reason that we have not replied to the individual criticisms levelled at us on previous ocassions, and would like to take the opportunity now to respond to the negative reviews. May I mention that we were made aware of the site by one of our regular inbound travel groups who stay with us for 3 days at a time, and who were perturbed to see such negative comments about an establishment that they have chosen to use for the past 6 years.

The negative reviews obviously create an extremely bad and one sided impression that is available to thousands of viewers, so after being made aware of the site on 30th January 2009, we launched a full investigation into the criticism levelled against The Fernery and the general levels of service and client satisfaction. We hope that this will put the reviews into better perspective and allow prospective travellers to make a better informed decision. We have 6 Lodge suites and 12 beautifully appointed chalets which can accommodate a total of 40 people at any given time. Our current annual occupation is approximately 4000 bed nights. We analized the response forms that all guests are requested to complete when they check out, for the past two months namely December and January, these also being the busiest months of the year. One form is completed per couple or family at the end of their stay which varies from one to seven days. The breakdown is as follows:

December 2008 summary of feedback forms on overall experience was “Excellent” totalling 109, “Good” totalling 12 and “Poor” totalling 0.

January 2009 summary of feedback forms on overall experience was “Excellent” totalling 67, “Good” totalling 5 and “Poor” totalling 1.

These results speak for themselves but we are aware that extra training is needed in the areas of the dinner experience, breakfast and the checking in process. As owners we set high standards and will therefore react firmly and quickly to get service delivery back to where we believe it should be. We have already commenced with corrective training for the new year.

Our eventual aim is to become a boutique establishment, and our greatest challenge is to overcome a number of inherent limitations:
1.We are situated on a river ravine overlooking the Indian Ocean (plus point), but at the end of a 5 km gravel road (negative). We are in advanced negotiations with the Eastern Cape Province to upgrade this road to a tar road, and this may happen before the end of 2009.
2.We are very secluded and therefore a retreat from the bright lights and hectic city life. Our closest towns are Plettenberg Bay and Port Elizabeth which are respectively 75 km and 160 km away. This is not to everyone's liking and must be taken into consideration when choosing The Fernery as a destination. The activities we offer are all centred around nature and activities such as hiking, mountain biking, bass fishing, and birding. Lazing around the swimming pools, soaking up the sun, eating, reading and relaxing are other pastimes that are encouraged by our surroundings.
3.The Lodge and Chalets are situated on a working fern export farm, and plant production nursery. It was in fact due to the interest shown by people in our export operation that took us down the tourism path. All guests are welcome to view both the export and nursery operations in their entirity, and our experience is that most people find it extremely interesting.
4.The isolated nature of the farm, while lending itself to relaxing tourism, does unfortunately make the employment of well trained staff very difficult. Most qualified personnel, particularly if they are couples with children, would like to be closer to schools and all of the facilities that a town can offer. We have therefore taken what is proving to be a difficult though commendable route, and that is to employ staff (a total of 30) from the local community and train them ourselves. It is not an easy path, but it has over the years proved to be both rewarding and successful. Our staff are generally very willing and attentive, but sometimes a lack of confidence can be misinterpreted as a poor attitude. They also require constant supervision in order to prevent the sliding of standards, and for this reason we need strong management to uphold the standards.

We are not by any means insensitive to criticism and have in fact taken every complaint levelled at us over the past 7 years very seriously, and we follow up every problem that is brought to our attention. Our sincere apologies to each guest who has been disappointed by their experience at the Fernery – rest assured that we will continue to endeavour to deliver the best.

Yours sincerely
Frans Gerber
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

We booked two cottages for 6 adults. One was fine with beautiful views down a fern clad valley, the other was spendid and huge! We had a pleasant, if not outstanding, meal in the lodge and watched the spectacular sunset from there. Breakfast was up at the reception area and was slow and suffered from irritating music. I would agree with others - the lodge is an inhospitable place and you are not encouraged to linger there or visit at other times. It's a pity as it has the best views in the whole place. The jacuzzi was not working at all and was in need of a good clean (we were assured that it was the tanin in the water but we've been to that area before and never encounted problems). If you like being left to your own devices and solitude this place is for you. It's a wasted opportunity as the cottages were beyond our expectations. The long and dusty road didn't bother us, but then, we weren't washing the hire cars! The Fernery is worth a visit just for the experience - but only if the exchange rate is in your favour.

  • Liked — The accommodation and the views
  • Disliked — The staff and service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I would not recommend this accommodation at all.
Firstly it took us 20 minutes to drive down a very rough dirt track . A big ordeal if you don’t have a jeep. You have to drive through their fern factory area to get to the chalets and lodge- you dont want to look at work on holidays.
We stayed 2 nights. The first night (this is supposedly 4 star accommodation) we only had an option of a light menu - i.e. soup and salad. Service stopped at 8pm. When we asked if there was a restaurant around they said no - later we found out that Tsitsikamma Lodge was beside us and they had a restaurant we could have eaten in. Staff, we found were very unhelpful.
We felt stranded in our chalet. There was nobody around, our phone didn’t work and the main lodge was closed.

Chalets were very badly insulated. They looked nice though.
We had to ask several times for matches to light a fire in the chalet.
When we made the booking, we booked as a honeymoon couple - we got single beds.
The 2nd night - we were offered dinner in the main lodge. We had to decide straight after breakfast what we would like to eat that evening. My lamb was very tough. We were kicked out of the Lodge at 10 (Saturday night) to go back to our miserable cold chalet. Couldn’t staying on for a few sociable drinks.
As it is in such a so secluded location, the service they offer on their over marketed brochures should be available. It opened approx 8 years - and it looks good but seems to have been forgotton about. Management is very poor!!
We didn’t see the manager till we were checking out - and she was clueless to everything we told her. Our biggest mistake was staying around for even the first night when we found out that there were no facilities available but we couldnt face the car sickness of driving out the horrible avenue so quickly again. Extortionary prices for what they offer. They should be charging at max half price of what they are charging while they are sorting out their problems – which they admitted to us that they have plenty of. Dont do it to yourself - stay somewhere else.
It would be great to re-enact "Sleeping With The Enemy" here!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets, situated above a 30m waterfall, is the perfect, relaxing getaway for families and honeymoon couples. Fine dining is the order of the day where hearty breakfasts, light lunches and four course dinners ensure that guests are gastronomically satisfied at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.