We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Fernery Lodge & Chalets to your Saves list
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forest Ferns Estate, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have had the luck to sleep in the former sleeping room of the owners and have had a large room with a sensational view to the valley and the waterfal. At any time the personal has been of assistance and very friendly. Although we have had two great dinner and a unforgettable time. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear PeterT

Thank you for your kind words, these reviews mean a lot to us and serves as encouragement to all the staff that work so hard to make your stay a happy and comfortable one.

Thank you again, till next time!!. Kind regards from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    108
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
88
247
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We two nights at The Fernery in December 2013 – it is a very beautiful setting and the staff were all charming, smiley and helpful. But there are some points where we felt that a little more attention to detail would have raised the standard. I emailed a list of 21 comments - all things that could easily be attended to with improved maintenance, staff training or supervision. I received no reply. Eventually, after a follow-up email, the Reservations Manager replied to say she had forwarded my comments to their Tourism Manager and to the owners: "They will respond to your email as soon as possible - will follow up again." A month later and I've still had no response.
Things that needed attention included chipped butter dish, leaking kettle, cracked basin, chipped paint, waiter stacked plates at the table, wine brought already opened, and more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sheila

Thank you for your review to Trip Advisor and the very detailed and descriptive email to us, we appreciate any and all feedback as that helps us to improve.

As mentioned in my private email to you....some of the points you wrote about has been addressed, e.g. we replaced the tear-drop bead missing from the candle holder and removed the chip butter dish lid, and some of the maintenance issues will be attended to in winter when we do all our major renovations and maintenance, these upgrades will then include the crack in the basin, erosion on top of the soap dish, towel and handrails etc.

The owner will get back to me on the African crake but we are very happy you enjoyed the birding and at least saw two juvenile black crakes.

I saw that you will be visiting us again in March and hope that you will be happy with the changes you suggested.

Until next time. Kind regards Angelique Drake and the Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is our second time at the Fernery staying in the well appointed chalets.

Travelling with two kids, we found there was limited choice with food. In the evening, with kids not allowed in the main dining room, you either had a choice of a rather expensive (R275) four course meal, or a light meal menu (consisting of either pasta or fish curry as a main), or a delivered braai at R180 a head. The daytime menu was much more extensive. The braai food is good but if you are staying a few nights, you run out of options fast. You are probably better off self catering but that has its challenges as your main food shops are a long way away (Storms River village is very limited).

The pool area is nice and the hot tub overlooking the gorge is great, other than they always seem to heat it up to a ridiculous temperature.

We had fond memories of our previous trip when the kids were younger. But now with them aged 11 and 14, we actually found that there were limited things to keep them entertained. We did do some mountain biking but the routes are pretty boring on jeep tracks in a plantation.

Our major problem was flies. There were swarms of flies buzzing around on our mountain bike trail. On the evening of our Braai we also noticed quite a few flies on the wooden decks surrounding the lodge. But when we woke up in the morning, there were so many flies in the cabin that we had to hide under a sheet to keep them off us. Our friends in the next cabin had the same problem.

The management offered us a free breakfast whilst they painted the windows with some sort of solution and offered to clean the cabins. But we rather opted to leave a day early. In fairness, the weather had been unseasonably wet and humid and maybe this caused the fly problem? I'm sure others would have complained on TripAdvisor if the fly problem was a common one.

In summary, this place is probably more suited to older foodies rather than people with kids. If you go, take a fly swatter and one of those Aussie hats with corks hanging down. Just in case.

Room Tip: choose one without any flies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Find it very expensive. Food were priced reasonable. Quality of food great. Enjoyed the braai. Service and everything else were very good. Would have liked to stay a bit longer. Will visit again if finances allow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ElmaF

Good morning from a beautiful and sunny Tsitsikamma!! Thank you for sharing these positive thoughts about your stay with all the TripAdvisor readers.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Until next time, kind regards and warm wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am so glad that we stayed at The Fernery for our first night of honeymoon. Everybody made it SO special for us and it is a memory that we will remember.Thank you to the staff of The Fernery. Everything was just so excellent, from the moment we arrived untill we checked out. We have only one regret and that is that we didn't stay longer. It is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. Thank you again Gideon and Sue van Zyl.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear GideonV

Congrats on your wedding and thank you for making us part of your honeymoon memories. The Fernery Lodge & Chalets family is over the moon with your positive comments and we are looking forward to making you feel spoiled and welcome again on your anniversary......

Until next time. Kind regards from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The rooms are very beautiful and they got everything you need. You have your own pool on your deck. It´s just a little far from the mainroad (about 8 km). Very quit out there. Not many options to have dinner!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The magical world of The Fernery is something one never forgets... Excellent service, great food and luxurious amenities, all within a setting quite unlike any other. We will be back. Again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelique D, General Manager at The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Miranda S

Thank you so much for your rating and your kind words on our TripAdvisor page.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we strive to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. It is great to read that we were able to do just that and that you will return soon.

We wish you a wonderful 2014 and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards and best wishes from the entire Fernery Lodge & Chalets team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fernery Lodge & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Address: Forest Ferns Estate, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernery Lodge & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernery Lodge and Chalets, situated above a 30m waterfall, is the perfect, relaxing getaway for families and honeymoon couples. Fine dining is the order of the day where hearty breakfasts, light lunches and four course dinners ensure that guests are gastronomically satisfied at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fernery Lodge & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Hotel Tsitsikamma National Park
The Fernery Lodge And Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fernery Lodge & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.