We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsitsikamma Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tsitsikamma Lodge to your Saves list
Tsitsikamma Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Km East of Storms River Bridge, Entrance on the N2 | Eastern Cape, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great evening with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed just one night and wished we could stay longer. The opportunity to have a BBQ was lovely and the BBQ packs provided by the hotel were very generous. Breakfast was also good.

The cabins were great for a family and our visit included a trip to the lovely Storm River.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsitsikammaLodge1, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Katie,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us on Trip Advisor for the Lodge, We at the Lodge are so happy that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to your next return.
Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM
Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    85
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
53
122
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Tsitsikama Lodge was the ideal place to book for our upcoming 28th wedding anniversary as well as the mountain bike challange that took place nearby. The honeymoon suite, chalet no 9, was very private, and offered the peace and quiet we where looking for. The rooms in the chalet were spacious and the log construction blended well with the surrounding forest. The best feature of the chalet was the spa bath.

On arrival we were greeted by James, a very helpful and friendly chap, we saw him quite a couple of times over the weekend and he was always very friendly and helpful.

Part of the package incuded a couple spa treatment. Although the two therapist were very friendly, the one was dressed the part, but the other one was less professionally attired.

On Saturday night 2 busloads of people arrived, consequently the staff had their hands full and the dinner service suffered, leaving us much to devices. As the dinner was a buffet, we could dish up and finish the meal unassisted. The table was not properly set, missing in some utensils and servettes. Still, the food was good, a choice of 3 meats, on each night, with 2 desert options. Salads selections, however, were limited.

Having to leave very early on Sunday, we found the admin office closed early, as everbody was assisting with the dinner service. Fortunately James came to the rescue, opened the office for us to settle our account and organised the gate for our early departure. Everything considered, we enjoyed our stay over the 2 nights and will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Select the honeymoon package to secure the most private chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsitsikammaLodge1, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Johanria,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for the Lodge, We are happy that you had a good stay with us and thank you for bring all the problems you had to my attention and I hope with your return all will be in order for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM
Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very tranquil and relaxing . Perfect for a quick getaway from all the hustle and bustle of life. Cabins are very cozy and the scenery and hiking trails are stunning. The staff are very friendly and make one feel at home.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsitsikammaLodge1, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review on tripadvisor we at the Lodge are happy to hear that you have a good stay with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Tsitsikamma Lodge is a pleasant place to stay; the staff are really lovely and very helpful. The lodges are set in lovely grounds and you can have a nice evening walk along the edge of the forest. Dinner is basic but plentiful and provides value for the money you pay. I think this place would really suit families on a budget. Those are the positives and now for some suggestions. The pool could do with some repair work and the pool surround does not meet the high standard of the rest of the lovely grounds. The lodges look great on the outside but inside they are becoming a bit tired and could do with some updating. Nevertheless this place does represent value for money and was a good place to stay after a busy day at Storms River and before driving on to Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTsitsikamma, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi,
Thank you taking the time to write a review on the lodge, we at the lodge are happy to hear you had a good stay with us, We are in the process of upgrading all our cabins and the pool area but as you know this all takes time.
We hope to see you in the near future and you will see all the changes to this lovely lodge.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good day.
My wife and I was guests at the lodge this past weekend. We stayed in cabin no 14.We would just like to thank all the staff that attended to us for the exceptional service. They truly made it a special and memorable weekend for us that will stay in our harts and thoughts for a long time to come.
Kind regard.
Arthur and Jill Norris

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTsitsikamma, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Arthur,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was loverly to have you and Jill here at the Lodge and we are happy that you had a loverly time with us its so nice as a manager to get good feed back.
Hope to see you in the near future look after your selves.

Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had 3 nights stay in February 2014. Absolutely lovely. Rate included buffet breakfast which was just absolutely awesome. Had dinner every night which I will highly recommend as well. Chalets are well presented and clean. Cellphone reception just about non existent. Hope they can make that better and air conditioning will be most welcome in summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTsitsikamma, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Peter.

Thank you for writing a review on the Lodge. We at the Lodge are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us . thank you for the points you have laid out cell phone reception had always been a nightmare at the lodge we have spoken to the cell phone providers to try and sort this problem out and are waiting for there response. We are busy upgrading our cabins and aicons are on the list for this year.
Looking forward to your next stay with us in the near future.
Kind Regards
Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here and it was just fantastic. Champagne in the room when we arrived, unbelievable friendly staff-nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were great, lunch not advised. Perfect location, tranquil setting.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsitsikammaLodge, General Manager at Tsitsikamma Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Sophie,

Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor, we at the lodge are very happy that you and your boyfriend had a good stay with us.
Its so nice to get good feed back from our guests, and we look forward to your next stay with us at the lodge.
Kind Regards

Leon Bruigom GM Tsitsikamma Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tsitsikamma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma Lodge

Address: 8 Km East of Storms River Bridge, Entrance on the N2 | Eastern Cape, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsitsikamma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tsitsikamma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitsikamma Hotel Storms River
Tsitsikamma Hotel Knysna
Tsitsikamma Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsitsikamma Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.