We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unprofessional Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Huye, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Unprofessional Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I called the day before my arrival at Tube & Axe to make a reservation and request pick up at the gas station nearby (which their website advertises they provide for free). I waited for almost two hours and spoke several times with people on the phone who kept saying the driver was coming, although he never showed up and I got a ride with other people.

Everything at the hostel is pay extra. The dorm rooms are spacious and clean, but you have to pay for absolutely everything. The bar tender guy was extremely unprofessional and got absolutely plastered the night I was there and acted like a five year old child. It was ridiculous.

On my way out, I asked for a ride back to the gas station (since again, the website advertises this transport is free) and they said I would have to pay because the shuttle is free only one way-- even though I never got the one way pick up, anyway.

Would definitely recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banc-y-felin, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and bright and the beds beyond comfortable!
The staff were helpful and informative and the atmosphere was quite laid back.
The bathrooms were clean and in good order also. The breakfast...what can I say about the breakfast? The muffins were so fresh from the oven that they were still steaming, the bread obviously oven baked and super fresh also...what more could you ask for?
I've done the tubing a couple of times and have been pretty lucky to get rapids on more than one occasion, even in low water where there are less rapids the guides made sure that we had plenty of fun with always a laugh and joke to be had with everyone and some jumps from high rocks.
I really enjoyed my whole experience at Tube N Axe in its beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have not stayed at Tube n Axe before because I wlove so close we often go there for something to drink and to play a game of pool.

Moses makes the best cocktails and for the best prizes! He makes the bonfire outside and plays the music loud and everyone has an amazing time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely setting for a clean, well maintained en-suite room. Good price for room, food and drinks. Helpful staff. Safe village to walk in evening after dark. Visit Marilyn's for cocktails or food. Explore Storm River's Mouth and kayak up the river,
be warned that the waterfall walk is very challenging when you reach the rocks, the canopy tour is a must, visit the big tree and make sure you visit the Total garage on the N2 for a walk across the bridge over the river. It is so beautiful in the Tsitikamma forest and Tube n Axe is a superb place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Private, family room en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The lodge is ok but the atmosphere is nothing special, the town is also completely dead.
We went to this hostel to do the black water tubing and I can tell you it's a pure scum and joke!
First of all I think the tubing I way to expensive for the money you get.
Second of all there is no river. There is just some water with no stream in it so you have to paddle with your hands literally for 3 hours.
Third you have to walk and climb over stones even more than you have to paddle.
I was very very angry. This tubing is not adventurous at all and is a pure scum!

The town is completely dead but if you search to do something I would recommend to go to the Elvis bar down the road. It's only a 3 minutes walk!

There is no swimming pool at the lodge but the hotels around tube n axe are happy to let you swim in their pool If you just buy a drink!

Staff was not friendly at all. The Dutch girl behind the bar was just the whole time texting and not paying attention to anything. I don't understand why everybody was so positive about this place.


Our tour took us 15 days and we did
Johannesburg
Durban
Chintsa
Jeffrey's bay
Plettenberg
Storms river
Oudtshoorn

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here to take advantage of the blackwater tubing. And didn't. It isn't cheap & when we were told by staff that
the water was low & that we would spend 40% of the time lugging the tube over rocks, we held back until we heard fellow campers reviews. To a man, they complained that they spent over 80% of the time rock crawling & the little time spent in the water was not worth it. This is disingenuous. It's over R1000 for a couple & shouldn't be promoted when it isn't worth backpackers hard saved money.
Having said that, the campsite was well kept & the showers brilliant.Tsitsikamma canopy tours were great & Xmas Day lunch at Marylins Diner was wonderful. If you're into 60's memorabilia, it's a joy to spend time with Elvis & Marylin & the genuine cadillacs.
There is no pool at Tube n'Axe, but the hotel down the road allows you to swim there if you buy a drink, which was fab.
The staff at Tube n' Axe weren't very friendly & the empty bar & outdoor fire at night laid testimony to that. Down the road is another backpackers (Njumbe?) which was very festive & welcoming, with drumming circles & activities most evenings.
The freezers in the communal kitchens were not operational while we were there, but we were allowed to use the bar freezer, although I wonder if that is the exception rather than the rule when it is busy.
We did have a great time however, thanks to the amazing people we met there. We came equipped with extra extension cables & although electricity is not offered to campers, we made it happen & shared with others who became fast friends for 30 seconds and more! ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We joined tube and axe for the blackwate tubing that they offer and i must say i was very impressed. The equipment we used was of decent quality. A special thanks to Marius our tour leader who gave some additional facts about storms river including their industries of trade as well as pointing out the types of trees in the area. Marius was also professional in his safety briefing and has a great knowledge of the river. The food after the trip was also superb. The only thing i can knock them on was my experience in making the booking. I struggled to get confimation of our booking from the lady who made the booking. All in all this was a great experience mosty due to the staff running the blackwate tubing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Tsitsikamma National Park/Storms River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.