We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its Shine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
177, Moo 1 | Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 430 345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 327 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lost its Shine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Used to be great here but menu has not changed in years. The menu is steadily becoming more expensive and the service is terrible. Give me the old Zazen back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great pleasure to welcome you.

We have the beachfront set menu that changes weekly and the a la carte menu will be changing in near future. Indeed the menu has become slightly more expensive, due to the new government imposed minimum salaries in Thailand which doubled most of the employees salary as well as the overall costs did increase.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Zazen on you next trip to the island.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    178
    71
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If you can only afford to go to one restaurant when on holiday in Koh Samui ...go here
Food is fantastic , great location , on the pricey side but we'll worth it
They even allowed us to use the hotels own taxi to get back to our villa
Perfect service

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review Zazen Restaurant and we are delighted to hear that everything was fantastic and perfect.

We are looking forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Thailand.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Wine selection is probably the best that I saw on the island. The variety of food and desserts was stunning as well

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Boris,

We are flattered! Thank you for the great feedback, regarding the wine selection and the food.

We hope to meet you at Zazen soon again.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good location, huge wine menu and food menu ranging from Local Thai dishes to European fine dining options. Staff are very friendly. Beautiful atmosphere and decor all around you . Check out their wine cellar. Great evening with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you and your friends have enjoyed the evening with us!
And a big thank you for your compliments.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I went to Zazen spur of the moment and we absolutely loved every part of it. We hadn't had lunch, so we went for a late lunch arriving at about 4:30p. We had the place to ourselves at that point and got to sit right ocean front seating. There does not seem to be a bad seat in the house and the entrance is quite a lovely respite from the busy street. We ordered a tandoori chicken salad to start to share - was well portioned and flavors were perfect for that. The wine list is extensive and well stocked. Ours mains were linguini for my wife and beef tenderloin for me. They were well presented - the linguini was very good and my steak was overdone for my expectation (I am a beef guy), but adequate. We ordered dessert, which is worth the entire meal - the chocolate cake is worth the 20 minute wait and the mango sticky rice is wonderful. Please don't skip dessert - it is a distinguishing characteristic and beautifully presented. There is almost nothing I would change about our experience at Zazen - even the boutique shop on the way out has some nice things to peruse through. The price is reasonable compared to the experience - 3 courses with wine and high end scotch/tea to top off dessert was a little over 4,000 baht.

Please try Zazen if you're looking for a special spot - reservations after 6:30 are probably a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zazen_FBM, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here. It is very rewarding for us to hear that our guests appreciate what we do. Indeed in the afternoon it is a bit more quiet and as you mentioned a reservation for dinner is highly recommended.

We hope you had a good trip back home and that we are able to welcome you back soon.

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.