We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zazen Restaurant

Zazen Restaurant
177, Moo 1 | Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 430 345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 301 Restaurants in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 773 Reviews
Price range: $26 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great restaurant , service and atmosphere is perhaps the best we tried on samui , the food was excellent , we went for the Thai which was good and well presented.the restaurant overlooks the ocean very romantic .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review about Zazen Restaurant!

We are delighted to learn that you really liked your experience in our restaurant. We transmitted your comments to our Chef.

We really look forward to welcome you again very soon in our award winning restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    165
    63
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great setting (excellent really), great food, great wine list, great service, great staff. Expensive by Thai standards (even Samui) but well worth it - bill for 3 with 2 bottles of good wine was 8,000 baht or 200 euro, but had starters, main course, desserts, coffee, and a few beers after as well so cheap by European prices

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear David,

Greetings from Zazen Restaurant!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great pleasure to welcome you.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us from the service, to the food and the wine list.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Zazen Restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Place..You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked here for my 50th Birthday. What a lovely romantic place this is! From the minute I got out of the taxi I was spellbound by the setting! The trees were covered in lights all the way to the restaurant. We ate upstairs and it was very beautifully decorated with cream chandeliers,and the chairs and tables were decorated almost like a wedding setting. The lovely waitress was even wearing a stunning cream gown. We had the 7 course menu. Each course was small and manageable and prepared individually by the chef to perfection. There is a nice gap between each course (not too long but just right!). The finale was a lovely spread of little desserts with some classy sugar artwork for my Birthday. Thank you Zazen for a memorable 50th.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Pamela,

Greetings from Zazen Restaurant!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant, it was a great pleasure to welcome you, especially for your 50th birthday.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening with us from the service, to the food and ambiance

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at Zazen Restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“overrated...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Atmosphere:
the settings and ambiance for the hotel leading towards the restaurant was fantastic. very Moroccan-esque feel. no issue with that..

Service:
slow and a bit slack in way, even though the restaurant looks like its fully manned.

Food:
We had the Zazen Lobster Decadence, which was hardly decadent at all. The food was either lacked of seasoning or over seasoned and arrived cold.
the first dish was the Canadian Lobster Ravioli. arrived undercooked; the pasta could have been cook for a couple minutes longer. second dish was the langoustine, which was unavailable, but they did not inform us. They only informed us when the dish was about to be served and it was replaced with something else. The two lobster dishes on the menu were very similar; no originality. they served us frozen dessert. the menu was a bit misleading and under-whelming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Amadeus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Zazen Restaurant. These comments are very important for us in order to improve our services.

We transmitted to the kitchen your review as soon as we received it. We are deeply sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy your culinary experience at Zazen Restaurant. We realized that the dishes that you received were definitely not from our standards. We are working hard to avoid these kind of issue and to receive a review like yours oblige us to work harder and harder to permanently increase our quality in our restaurant.

We would really like to welcome you again in order to show you what we are really capable of.

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious for the taste buds and eye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had almost all our dinners in Zazen and the food there is amazing. We only tried the Thai menu as that was the reason we were in thailand! It is also much cheaper than their western menu. They had excellent Thai entrees and desserts. The first night we ordered a sorbet assortment and it came out in a sugar bowl with a lid! The next night we had lemongrass brûlée which was phenomenal (taste and presentation). Definitely recommend this dessert. The only gripes were, one night they charged us 60 THB for the water we get free in our rooms, and we had ordered a room service fruit platter one night which was a rip off (not much fruits and those that were there we could get for free in the morning for breakfast). Other than that - great restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex-Andries, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Stefy,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review about Zazen Restaurant!

We are delighted to learn that you really liked your experience in our restaurant. We transmitted your comments to our Thai Kitchen & Pastry.

We really look forward to welcome you again very soon in our award winning restaurant!

With our best regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zazen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.