We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just popped in for a drink...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cactus Bungalow to your Saves list
Cactus Bungalow
175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 133 Bophut B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 77 Reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a drink...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

And was met with a warm welcome one evening (we where staying next door at Free House).
Lovely little beach side venue.
We didn't see rooms but I met a couple staying there and they where happy enough to extend their stay whilst there.
Looked clean & tidy to me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

everything was fine, less the swarm of flies and mozzys in our room when we first arrived, until the last night when halfway through my shower, the water decided to stop. So for our last night we had no flushing toilet, running shower or sink tap and it still wasn't running when we left the next morning! According to the owner the water tanks were being refilled but we had to go and find that out.. a simple knock on our door to pre warn us would have been something better than nothing, but he wasn't bothered and offered no alternative.. on a plus side bophut is the nicest beach around!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

For the price, you can't really go wrong with this place. The bungalows are decent enough, though I would advise people not to book into the fan-only rooms - they get incredibly hot and uncomfortable in the night. The showers are cold, but why you'd want a hot shower in southern Thailand (and most of Indochina) is beyond me anyway. The restaurant is pretty good and the location on the beach is excellent. We went up the coast on a few day trips whilst we were there and Bo Phut was easily the nicest resort. All in all, pretty good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Budget-friendly, but that's about it. The bungalow was very basic. Beware the cold-water showers! More of a backpacker vibe; if you like some creature comforts, avoid. The staff was friendly enough. Also, there are better beaches in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Choose aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Amazing bungalows, good people, good food and very good Margaritas ;)
Right at the beach, you can relax and 10min walking you can have fun at the fisherman village.
You can rent a motorbike and go around the island without any problem.
The price is very good !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a nice place and cheaper than most on boh phut. Fan bungalow was comfortable and clean but concrete so consequently sweltering (in may) which did not make for restful sleep. They got no breeze either as set back from the beach. If only there were mosquito screens on the windows it would be much better as then you could sleep with windows open. Staff are lovely, as is the food which is reasonable. The sunbeds are very tatty and only about 4 of them, which is a downside. fine for a budget few days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samui
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We have travelled thailand for the last few weeks and found the facilities at cactus bungalows way below standard at high costs when compared. No fridge, no kettle, cups our daily fresh water. Shower pressure non existent, safe not useable in bungalow one. General upkeep shows decay. Staff seems uninterested and unmotivated. Management not available. Glad we could move next door to a excellent,beautiful resort with pool for a lesser rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Bungalow

Address: 175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Bophut Beach. Created 13 years ago and designed by the owner. Still considers itself as a guest house. One of the last old school getaways in Samui. Attractive prices. Great food from traditional Thai to home-made pizza. Cocktail bar (great mojitos) and free pool-table. For the ones who like it smooth and simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cactus Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
Cactus Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.