We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to avoid, or perhaps assure the owner or management is not overseas.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cactus Bungalow to your Saves list
Cactus Bungalow
175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 134 Bophut B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
samui
2 reviews
“Best to avoid, or perhaps assure the owner or management is not overseas.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We have travelled thailand for the last few weeks and found the facilities at cactus bungalows way below standard at high costs when compared. No fridge, no kettle, cups our daily fresh water. Shower pressure non existent, safe not useable in bungalow one. General upkeep shows decay. Staff seems uninterested and unmotivated. Management not available. Glad we could move next door to a excellent,beautiful resort with pool for a lesser rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
33
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We didn't stay here but went for lunch a couple of times. We spotted it whilst walking down the beach and its a great place to chill for a while and escape the heat of the sun. With a couple of cold Singhas, great food and a view to die for we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November.

Although the room was spacious enough. There was a damp smell in the room, and it looked a bit dated. The shower was not great, but never had a problem with not having any hot water. My room didnt overlook the sea but it literally is only a 30 second walk to the beach. TV was ok and had couple of English channels (if you really want to watch TV)and the air con worked fine. Few mosi's flying about but that was to be expected.

I did struggle to meet fellow travellers here as when I sat in the bar, there was no one else to talk to. I played pool on the poorly maintained pool table with the workers there instead. The owner was friendly enough, but not the most talkative.

The location was great, set in a quiet area as it was about a 15 min walk to Bophut or an easy ride to Chaweng. Also Thai massages on the beach next door. I also went to the full moon party from here and found it an ideal location to stay.

All the owner has to do is spend a little money on some paint and renovate it a bit and Cactus would be lovely, so at the moment Id say there are better places to stay for a little more expense

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cactus Bungalows are sitting on an absolute goldmine, they just don't seem to be doing enough with the place. It is in a beautiful setting, the food is absolutely to die for, the owner and staff are lovely, the rooms are ok and something different, bathroom very nice, but they don't seem to look after the grounds very well. There is cute little paths leading to each room, but they are all full of weeds and everything looks like all it needs is a good lick of paint and a little TLC and the place would be perfection! The rooms are also a little bare and could do with somewhere for you to hang your clothes.

The restaurant is pretty much full up every night, it was when we were there anyway. As the food is absolutely top class, as is the service and all the staff are so welcoming and it is in a very nice setting with candles, music, pool table etc.

It is definitely worth a stay, as you will be made to feel very welcome and the dining is a dream however it is just a little sad to see all of its hidden potential not being made!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice bungalows definitely upgrade to an aircon room as they only have fans in some and no mosi nets and there are hundreds if you leave the windows and doors open. Beds are uncomfortable but staff are nice and location is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Of the main area's of Koh Samui; Chaweng, Lamai and Bophut we felt that Bophut was the best. Chaweng was way too busy/loud/dirty to really stay there for too long and enjoy it, although it is nice to visit for a day or maybe two. Lamai didn't really have too much in it but Bophut was a great mixture of lots to do and places to eat and drink whilst having a beach that really allowed you to relax. These bungalows are literally ON this beach.
The location was fantastic. The bungalows are a 10 minute walk along the beach from the famous Fisherman's Village which has some absolutely fantastic restaurants and bars as well as a great street market offering clothes, food, cocktails, bags, jewellery and live music. The atmosphere is something to be experienced.
The bungalows themselves are small but clean. They have a bed, a toilet, a fan and a shower. That's about it so if your looking for luxury then you may be put off by it. But we certainly weren't and it was more than enough for the little time we actually spent in the room.
The owner and staff were extremely friendly and welcoming from the moment we got there to the moment we left, even arranging our transfer to the airport for us without us even having to ask!
I wouldn't recommend walking along the main road at the non-beach side of the bungalow. It's dirty and has nothing but a supermarket and a pharmacy so if your going anywhere walk along the beach or arrange day trips/taxi's from the kiosk right beside the bungalows.
Would definitely return here. But as I said, if your used to lots of space and luxury and feel you couldn't cope with a small room with nothing in it then this probably isn't the place for you. But for everyone else, I'd highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place has to be the most miserable little dump on Samui. A shoddy, shabby fleapit of a place. Filthy rooms (if you can call the hideous little concrete cell a room). The place hasn't had a lick of paint in 10 years (the last time I had the misfortune to stay here). Light bulbs hanging off wires, no mosiquto screens, no TV, no hot shower, no fridge, nothing. You can get much, much better for 600 baht a night else where. Remember Tenko (80's BBC TV series)? Uncared for, unloved - which is a pity because with some TLC and location-wise (right by the beach) it could be great .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Bungalow

Address: 175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Bophut Beach. Created 13 years ago and designed by the owner. Still considers itself as a guest house. One of the last old school getaways in Samui. Attractive prices. Great food from traditional Thai to home-made pizza. Cocktail bar (great mojitos) and free pool-table. For the ones who like it smooth and simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cactus Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
Cactus Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.