We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise found again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cactus Bungalow to your Saves list
Cactus Bungalow
175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 134 Bophut B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“paradise found again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a lovely place. Decoration ('boutique') is suberbly done, with great furniture and loads of ceramic art and pastel colours. Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, and really want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Free billiarts. Good massage facilities. Splendid view from the restaurant on to the beach. Really laid back atmosphere. Good food and plenty of choice, although quite expensive, as everywhere on Koh Samui. The bungalows are allright, I prefer the stone bungalows of Cactus to the wooden ones in other places: it just feels more safe and is less noisy. The airconditioned bungalows have very cool sliding glass doors, that are shaded, so you can look out but people can't look inside! You can walk to the nice 'fisherman village' in 20 minutes.

Negative:

-The airconditioning makes a horrible noise, so much that I had to turn it off to finally get some sleep. Later I used earplugs. Only a trickle of hot water, and not really hot either. The tv shows mainly local channels, so isn't really of much use either. So maybe a cheaper fan room without hot water and tv is a better idea (the cold water is tepid, so almost the same as the 'hot' water in the more expensive bungalows, and the fan makes less noise than the airconditioning).

-The area in between the bungalows could use some gardening: it's all a bit dried out and rather sandy.

-I had a problem opening my safe because the battery had run out. The owner said he would replace the batteries, but he didn't. The whole place is very secure so I guess you don't need the safe anyway.

-There is a disproportionate large amount of French guests. So it's even nicer if you are French, then you can hang out with the french owner and other french cronies, get discounts, and behave totally chauvinistic and ridiculous towards the other guests. If you are not French, the owner will not really care about you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
33
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is a difficult review to write as I have a mixed impression so I will lay down the facts and let you decide for yourself. We booked and stayed for 4 nights.

It is right on the beach, quite a walk from the main fishermans village but right on the beach. There are two rows of bungalows that face each other, only one of the bungalows actually faces the beach. We were in bungalow 2 with air con which was right next to the bar. I didn't feel comfortable sitting outside reading as it felt kind of goldfish bowl like. As all of the bungalows face each other I guess they all feel like that.

The bar was quiet when we were there as it was not full occupancy but I imagine this has the potention to be a problem for room 2 during busier times. But it was quiet when we were there and we were not disturbed.

There is a menu that is ok, the food is ok. Good croissants. However there were cockroaches in the restaurant area on 2 nights that we were there. They were climbing up the table legs and were on the back of the chairs. Also one of the other guests mentioned there was one in her room in the middle of the night. We got the waiter to come and help us to get rid of them however the second night it happened the owner was sat there and despite the commotion didn't even raise an eyebrow. I was really disappointed with that. Not even a "oops sorry about that, we will try to fix this" to make us feel better (considering one incident was just as our meal was being served). This issue is what gives me the inclination to give this place a bad review.

The resort of Bo Phut is in my impression mainly for couples, the beach is very grainy which makes it not pleasant to walk on however it is very pretty. In my opinion the resort of Bo Phut is best suited for honeymooners, the restaurants are all very lovely and the shops are much, much more expensive than anywhere else on the island, I guess we are paying for the "boutique" conversion of the Chinese Shop Houses. The Fisherman Village has all been done out really lovely with lots of very good restaurants but as I say expensive compared to the rest of the island. If it is a quiet honeymoon get away you are after then Bo Phut may be the resort for you however the Cactus hotel doesn't really give you the luxury of a honeymoon so if you want honeymoon on a budget then maybe it would suit. I personally think there were better spots on this resort for the money and was surprised it made it to the recommended list of our travel guide which hasnt let us down before. I would not stay there again however I would visit Bo Phut again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The cactus was recommended by a guide book, and the description sounded great. However, we were quite disappointed with our stay. The bathroom had moth balls in it, and the smell was quite strong. We weren't sure if we could put them outside as perhaps they kept some moths away. There was also quite a collection of dead mosquitoes in the shower, which had minimal water pressure. The bed was stiff and very uncomfortable, and the air conditioner was quite loud. Neither of us had a good sleep. The homemade pizza was good, but the pad thai was overly salty. We ended up eating breakfast next door at a similar hotel called "The Free House". We then checked out their bungalows, which looked much better than ours. I would recommend staying at the Free House.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This place is such a hidden gem. First there is the value...you rarely find such nice accommodations for such little money. We stayed in a fan room and were very comfortable and surprised at the lack of bugs...no need for netting even. The rooms are pretty sweet...kind of like Flintstones Bedrock. The bathrooms are nice, and very finished compared to most bungalows we'd visited. The staff here is unbeatable. They are so helpful and laid back. They helped arrange cabs for us to the ferry and airport, rented mopeds to us directly (thereby cutting out the crap of dealing with moped dealers - beware of the moped dealers in the direct vicinity of cactus!), and had a pretty nice eatery there on the beach. We'd read in the guides about being weary of your luggage on Samui but this place felt super safe, mostly b/c it was family run and a bit hidden from the throngs of tourists in Chewang. The bar area and restaurant are relaxing and welcoming (It seemed like the place is owned by a few French dudes...who happen to make really good pizzas, too). I preferred staying in Bophut, rather than down in Chewang (Chewang just seemed so lackluster, especially if you've been to Patong or other cities that try to jam it all into one stop). Staying up here will make getting to Koh Tao/Penang ferries a bit faster/easier in the early hours of the morning shuttles. Also the strip of shops along Bophut are pretty cute and fun for at least one afternoon/evening. The restaurants in Bophut are kind of iffy...either canned tourist seafood places or fairly savvy western food or western-thai food (the latter two we avoided as much as possible, opting instead for the food courts in the two nearby supermarkets), though some are set up right on the beach which makes up in atmosphere what's lacking in either taste or price. You'll probably be wanting to rent a moped during your time on the island, so why not stay up on the quiet northern shore and have everything taken care of at your affordable awesome hotel? The only downside is that the beach here is not clear or really all that inviting, compared to Chewang's crystal clear vast beach. But who cares? You're only going to see it in the morning and then again at night when you can look across the sea at Penang in the short distance. All in all this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We spent 4 days at Cactus Bungalows. The pros: location was very good, right by the beach and a stone's throw away from all the massage stalls (there are many on the beach and the ladies are not too pushy trying to get you in). Service at the restaurant was very decent and so was the food (though not exceptional). Free wi-fi, which works best around the restaurant area :-) That was very practical.

Cons: All would have been perfect, except that the air-conditionning in our room did not work !!! It blew hot air and not cool air! April being the hot-hot season, we ended up sleeping in a room at 28-32 ° (which you do get used to, but still...) It was noisy as well and gave the impression it was going to blow up any minute (sudden starts and stops, with weird stuttering noises). Not a nice experience. Mosquistos were there too...
- The bungalow was relatively clean for the price but the towels had bleach stains on them and smelt of damp. No big deal though,
- The shower was a trickle of lukewarm water. Let's put that down to the water-saving scheme that's in place in Koh Samui!

On the whole, we got the feeling the air-con was a rip-off but the rest was OK for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Thailand, after some average reviews we were pleasantly surprised. We had a room with a/c which was very close to the beach. The restaurant which was situated on the beach also served lovely breakfasts as well as gorgeous food for dinner with a very helpful waiter who suggested dishes off the menu.
All of the staff were helpful and exceedingly friendly, i would definately recommend this to anyone going to Koh Samui who wants a quiet break away from all of the noise of some of the larger resorts on the island.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I was a little worried when I booked this hotel because it was soooooo cheap (about $30 for their only oceanfront bungalow) but I wanted to stay in a bungalow on the beach. The good first: the room was as described, a/c, hot water in-room safe & TV with big sliding glass doors that opened onto a patio that faced the ocean. It was right next to the bar/restaurant so it was just a few steps for a drink or a bite to eat. The beach had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas and was very clean. The food in the restaurant was very good, my bf loved the spicy lemon soup. They had a good mix of Thai & western dishes and they even had a pizza oven. We went out to another restaurant down the beach one night but ate the rest of our meals at Cactus Bungalows. The staff was always very nice and even if they didn't speak English a little pointing and hand signals always got us what we wanted. The other guests were great also, this is the laid back type of hotel where the guests & staff hang out together. Now for the negative, but keep in mind the price and it doesn't seem all that bad. The room did have A/C but in the middle of the day it couldn't really keep up with the heat, mornings and evenings were fine but afternoons were still quite warm. We did have hot water but the pressure was not very good and when you turned on the hot water the lights in the bathroom would dim, not really a problem it was something we laughed about & I would have liked to have had a refrigerator in the room. The restaurant/bar was a great gathering place but it got so hot during the day you really didn't want to eat, it would have been nice if they had a few fans.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Bungalow

Address: 175/7 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Bophut Beach. Created 13 years ago and designed by the owner. Still considers itself as a guest house. One of the last old school getaways in Samui. Attractive prices. Great food from traditional Thai to home-made pizza. Cocktail bar (great mojitos) and free pool-table. For the ones who like it smooth and simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cactus Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
Cactus Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.