We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melati Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have just got back from spending 12 days of our honeymoon at Melati. After a hectic time with the wedding, Melati gave us a relaxed and chilled out rest. We stayed in a Pool villa which was such a treat for us it was well worth paying the extra to stay in one. (The villa did give us a great deal of privacy). We tried out all of the restaurants and really enjoyed the food, especially the meal we had at the Kan Sak Thong Restaurant.
The general facilities of the resort are very good and the hotel does offer some great activities during the day like Tai Chi, Yoga & Muay Thai classes to name a few. My favourite was the Thai cooking class with Chef Dam. He was great to cook with especially as my other half is a vegetarian and does not cook, Chef Dam was very helpful in giving us alternatives to the meat options and we cooked some great veggie dishes.
I think what makes the hotel great is the staff. They are excellent, they are so friendly and helpful they cannot do an enough for you.
During our stay we did find ourselves going to Bophut regularly. This was no fault of the hotel, normally we do not stay at resorts like Mealti and like to get out and explore. This fishing village has some cracking restaurants and some great sunsets. Definitely worth a visit on a Friday evening as they close of the street to hold a night market.
The only improvements I can say about Melati is that they already provide a shuttle service to Chaweng but they should maybe consider an evening shuttle to Bophut. Also we found the coffee cups in the restaurant a bit of a pain as the handles were small and a bit fiddly.
But overall a 9 out of 10 from me.
Many thanks for a cracking stay.
PS we didn't use the Spa so we didn't rate it

Room Tip: We had Pool Villa 502 and had no issues. It was quite nice coming back to the room late afternoon an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed your honeymoon with us!

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    194
    68
    37
    17
See reviews for
201
503
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Melati and have nothing but praise. The staff were all extremely friendly and always willing to assist. You got the sense they really wanted to help, not just because you were staying at a top hotel.

The views from the main pool are to die for and it never felt over crowded (was about 75% full). The quality of the food was really good and they have special events on most nights, which they make a great effort to get the atmosphere right on the beach.

We stayed in a 2nd floor deluxe room, which was all we could have wanted. Having been there I would definitely not pay extra for a pool villa..... just go to the main pool or the sanctuary.

One small comment would be about the price of the food and especially the drinks, which are on the high side before they add the 10% service and 7% tax. Maybe worth having a few nights at the hotel for a special occasion, otherwise worth trying the local villages/towns. We went into Choeng Mon four or five times and had excellent food at very reasonable prices and no sign of an upset stomach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed our resort and spent "fantastic two weeks" with us!

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Firstly I would like to start with how awesome our room was, we stayed in the pool villa suite, it was very spacious, it was the perfect room, perfect spot especially for the wedding. Our guests have not stopped talking about how amazing our wedding was (so can't we) and also how amazing the resort was, the food, the service, everything about it which was such a relief for us also not being at the resort before.

We communicated through a travel co-ordinator for the wedding, as soon as we got to the Melati we wish we had of communicated with Marnie, she was incredible to deal with, very calm and made sure everything was going to be perfect for us at our wedding and it was, we wish we could do it again.

I really would recommend having your wedding at the Melati because you are guaranteed to be in good hands with Marnie.

Ive posted a few photos of our wedding

Room Tip: Pool Villa Suite as they are located literally 2 min walk to the pool/bar/restaurant, if not request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I would like to congrats you and your husband again as a just married couple! I wish you both a prosperous life together.

I will share with Marnie your comments and I know she will be so happy to know how much you enjoyed your wedding at Melati.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent three nights at the Melati Beach Resort and Spa in one of their grand deluxe rooms. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished, with more than adequate hanging and storage space for our belongings. The room opened out onto an attractive balcony equipped with a spa bath! The bathroom and shower stall were extremely spacious and ran the length of the already large bedroom. The room contained the usual fittings and equipment, ie room safe, bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. The room was serviced daily and supplies were replenished daily.
The View Restaurant was located at the lower end of the resort, overlooking the beach. A shuttle serviced the accommodation and beachside restaurant, bars, pool and beach, but we only felt the need of the shuttle on the return journey from the beach to our room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was available in the View Restaurant, which was a perfect setting to enjoy a relaxing meal overlooking the beach.
The accommodation provided by the resort justifies its five star rating, and although the small private beach is very attractive, we missed the close proximity of other restaurants and shopping areas which abound at Chaweng Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed our resort, the restaurants and the service staffs.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Melati Beach Resort. The room was huge and well appointed. The resort was set in idyllic grounds and the pool/bar/beach and breakfast area is simply amazing. Staff were friendly and attentive and the ambience was peaceful and relaxed. Sure, it's a bit out of the way, but this tended to add 5 or 6 bucks to the taxi fares, not a great drama in the scheme of things. Eating in the Thai restaurant was a pleasant experience, nicer than the room service meals. A perfect resort for couples wanting a comfortable and relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed the ambience, staff attentiveness and our Thai Restaurant Kan Sak Tong.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a beautiful resort. Never had 1 issue with either the resort, our room or the staff. Received lovely honeymoon package on arrival, stayed in garden pool room. Photos were not one but deceiving :-) If you are wanting a quiet, peaceful and relaxing break, I recommend this resort. Only 10 min drive to main district of Koh Samui

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed our resort, your room and the staffs.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Yes, I've had a better stay at another resort, but the Melati was definately not the worst place I've ever stayed.

The staff are friendly. The gardens pool and beach are beautiful. The rooms were kept clean and the bed was massive (if a little to hard for my liking).

We enjoyed spending the morning around the resort, heading into Chaweng in the early evening by 'private taxi' for around 500THB (really not that expensive, given that we were a group of six and always required a van) and then spending some time in town before escaping the raucous party street that is Chaweng Beach Rd. We found that we could get back to the resort by Songthaew (a local shared taxi truck) and the cost would not be that much different for our group of 6.

We would then return to the hotel for a late dinner, or evening cocktails at the swim-up bar in the pool.

All in all it was a great time and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad appreciated your feedback and we are glad you had a great time with us.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 79 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melati Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.