We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melati Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 819 Reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Small and quiet resort perfect for families or couples. Away from the bustle of the local towns. Quiet beach with no vendors. Excellent service. English spoken by most staff. We found the restaurants adequate, serving a range of menu choices from West to East.

Tips: ask for a room near the beach. It is a long walk to the far end of the resort.

There is a lovely little Thai restaurant next door on the beach called Thong Son Bay Restaurant not associated with the resort. It's a great laid back place perfect for lunch of dinner. Prices are reasonable and service is always with a smile.

Having coral shoes might have been nice for swimming off the beach. Free kayaks were a nice touch. Waves at our beach are generally small. Don't expect to do any body surfing.

Bring your own insect repellent in the evenings or after a rain. The insect repellent available in the bathrooms near the pool caused my girls a great deal of burning. We had to wash it off immediately. They were both in tears.

Massage poolside is half the price of a massage in the Spa. You can ask for a 30 minute massage for a child. Fitness center was great.

The mixed drinks at happy hour (buy one get one free) are watered down and the glasses half full. Stick to the beer. The local beers in the mini bar were half the price of the same beer at the pool bar. Go figure.

They have a special menu for half board customers. It excludes some higher priced menu items. Prices on the ala carte menu are Western prices. We used the half board (breakfast and dinner). We found this to be perfect for our family. You can use the half board for lunch or dinner. It can not be used for room service. The kids menu could use more healthy choices and vegetables. I think my kids ate french fries at every meal for a week. Breakfasts are good with a lovely selection of western and eastern foods, fresh juices, and egg chef.

We arrived in the morning and our rooms were not ready. The staff let us change into our bathing suits in the baths and showers next to the spa. They then stored our luggage and we swam until our rooms were ready.

The excursions are not run by the resort. Prices for excursions are pretty much the same how ever you book. We did the snorkeling and kayaking at the Ang Thong National Marine Park. The coral reef was a bit beat up, but for my kids, it was like swimming in a fish tank. The Marine Park itself was stunning.

I took a taxi to the Friday Night Market in the local fishing village. If you are non-Thai, expect tourist prices from the vendors. Haggle for the best price possible and good luck. Taxi to the villages runs about 400 baht (or 10 euros). The market was large and impressive. A great place for photographs.

There is very little night life in this place. They organized a beach barbecue with fire juggling one night, which was fantastic. The pool bar is very quiet after dark despite happy hour from 10 to 11 pm. If you are looking for a hopping night spot, this is not your place. If you have small children, like we do, this works out well. It's very quiet there at night.

In an effort toward full disclosure, the resort upgraded our room from adjoining rooms to a family villa about 3 days into our stay. We have no idea why, but I can tell you a villa was much nicer than the adjoining rooms. The private pool was a luxury. One bathroom for five people was a bit of a stretch, but we made it work.

The mattresses were firm, which my husband loved, but that is a personal preference.

On the whole, I'd recommend this resort to any of my friends. Thanks, Melati, for a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear PhillyGirlAbroad,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Melati Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed our resort and that the food was to your liking. We are sorry to hear that our drink selections did not exceed your expectations and apologize for our shortcomings. Please trust that your comments are duly noted and will help us further improve ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you a happy and prosperous 2013.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    177
    63
    33
    15
See reviews for
179
465
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my first review and we are staying over Christmas 2012. The Melati is a great hotel in a very quiet part of Koh Samui. Overall I really recommend this place, great hotel, very friendly staff, good pool on an amazing little beach and perfect for families.

The only thing I would say is they could do a lot better on the food. Breakfast is great but the rest if average at best. To be honest the cheap shack next door does far better food for 1/4 of the price.

I would still come back but definitely feel transport to get out of the resort & see & eat in other places is neeeded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rustyrussler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our facilities, even though we're saddened to know our food did not meet your expectations.

We want every guest to enjoy our cuisine; your feedback is important to us as your valuable suggestions help us to improve continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon and wish you a very Happy New Year!

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolbotn, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

All in all a nice stay. However there are some drawbacks and "bumps".
The major pool looks great from a distance but when you get closer and dive in you will soon realise that it could do with some refurbishment. Tiles are loose and stick up from the pool floor - and that hurts when you step or kick into them. Also cleaning the pool and pool area every day should be a minimum of what is expected.
The quality of the food is OK but nothing to write home about. You are much better of visiting some other restaurants. However you will then need to go by taxi since there are no one in the immediate neighbourhood.
What does make the stay worth while are all the friendly employees that all goes the extra mile for you. They were all very helpfull.

I would love to go back to Koh Samui but would then choose to stay at a hotel closer to some of the more central areas with more options to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 68Helge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were pleased to see you enjoyed our friendly service and staff, but were very sorry to hear that our facilities did not exceed your expectations during your stay.

However, we appreciate your feedback and will be taking your suggestions into consideration. Once again, thank you for the review, and we hope to prove ourselves to you in the future. The Team joins me in saying Happy New Year and all the best!

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent one week at this beautiful and peaceful place at the northern part of Koh Samui. We came straight to the hotel after a 14 hour flight, being tired and having jet lag. We were well taken care of even if our rooms were not ready at that point in time. The entire staff (and there is plenty of them) have been extremely nice and helpful throughout our entire stay. The breakfast, served in the pool area overlooking the bay, exceeded our expectations. Lunch and dinner had a variety of different flavors. If you would like to eat at a more traditional Thai place there is one restaurant "next door" at the beach that serves good food at local price levels. The owner is a guy with a great sense of humor :)

There is a high-speed wireless network connection at Melati that works very well throughout the whole facility - not completely unimportant if you travel with teenagers as we do.

One thing to bear in mind is that the hotel is located quite far from the town (not walking distance). The hotel will help you with taxi (private company) at fixed rates if you would to explore other parts of Koh Samui. We went to Fisherman Village on the Friday evening to enjoy the market - highly recommended.

All-in-all we had a fantastic stay at Melati. We had planned to change place to a hotel in Chaweng after a week, so we did. Now we are "in the city" at a good hotel (Banana Fan Sea Resort) and enjoy to be close to restaurants and shops, but we also realize that we were being spoiled at Melati.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear BjornW,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We aspire to create memories and are always happy to hear that our guests left with beautiful memories.

Our team takes great pride in creating those extraordinary memories and will be thrilled to hear about your feedback.

We can only hope it won’t be too long before we welcome you back.

Until then, we wish you a Happy Year 2013, may it be filled with joy and love, happiness, health and success!

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at Melati Beach Resort in Samui for 5 nights in November, and we had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful. We met with the owner who was very gracious and kind. We stayed in the pool villa, and it was so gorgeous. The resort which is on the northern tip of the island is about 20 minutes from the airport. This resort is great for family and couples who want to get away from the noise. If you want to get in to Chaweng, they do offer a shuttle bus at certain times of day that bring you to their sister resort, Chawent Regent Beach Resort, which is another great resort that we had stayed before several years ago. Our experiences at both resorts have been outstanding, and we will not hesitate to stay there again. Oh the breakfast buffet was delicious, and offered a variety of food, from Chinese dim sum, pastries, fresh fruits, croissants, rice soup, Thai noodles, and rice, smoked salmon, bagel, egg station (for omelettes, fried egg, scrambled), waffles and pancakes. There was also a variety of juices, and my favorite was guava juice. The pool was huge and next to the beach, so it just presented a very beautiful backdrop for a picture. You won't be disappointed if you chose to stay here. Oh if you do choose to go to Samui, please don't forget to bring bug spray. I got eaten alive by mosquitoes and tiny ants. This is the case in all of Thailand, but it is especially for Samui that time of year due to the monsoon season. With rain brings more mosquitoes! The hotel has umbrellas for you to borrow in the room, so you don't have to worry about bringing one with you on the trip, but do bring one with you if you were to venture out to town because it can start raining suddenly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After a fairly long flight to get to this part of the world we were greeted at reception with a cold drink & cold towel to cool down.

Check-in was fairly straight forward. Only issue I had was our suite was not ready as we arrived at 9.30am. Now after a very long flight all you want to do is shower & change & relax. This did initially did not leave a good opening impression on me. They allowed us to use spa facilities to shower up & change. We did eventually get to our suite which was lovely & clean.

The food on the resort is very nice. They have a good variety of western as well as local dishes which are really worth trying. There is also a restaurant next do the resort which is reasonably priced & the food their is just as good as the resort. Happy hour at the resort is great, it's the one time you'll see a number of people there with whom you can mingle.

The pool is open & kept clean. Even though there are little bushed and greenery next to the pool (all part of the decor) the standard of the pool is good. The pool aerobics is a nice way to relax as well as some of the water sports. The pool side bar is great touch as well as you can just swim up & order a nice cold drink. They're are a number of sun loungers but the best placed ones do get snapped up quickly. Personally I preferred the beach sun loungers (nice cool sea breeze). There is also an adults only pool which is great for couples. It's peaceful & you can relax there.

Outside the resort, you have chaweng which is a short cab ride away or fisherman's village which is about 25 minutes away by cab. To get to chaweng try using the shuttle laid on by the resort (200 bahat) as its cheaper than a cab (400 bahat). They drop you off at another resort in chaweng where they will also collect you from. They're are loads of places to eat at in chaweng. One thing to remember if you feel uncomfortable eating in very hot heat then these restaurants don't come with air conditioning facilities, most just have fans. Fisherman's village is more or less the same but I would recommend going on a Friday. They have stalls with food & drinks which is really cheap & the atmosphere is great.

We had breakfast at the resort as it was part of our deal. The variety of food again was very good. Fresh omelettes made how ever you wanted them.

The beach was very nice & clean. Best thing of all is that it was private (unlike chaweng which is open to public). If you're going with your family then your kids will be perfectly safe. There is a large selection of sun loungers available. Someone will frequently come round asking if you'd like a drink or food.

One word of warning is to check your bill the day before you are leaving. They're are those who order food & drink to your suite number. Management were very understanding about this when I highlighted what had happened with us.

We had a evening flight so the resort allowed us a late checkout. They collected & arranged airport transfer.

One tip I would give, when outside the resort always haggle, even with the cab drivers :-)

Room Tip: Always worth enquiring about pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday! & what a lovely surprise it was...as soon was we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a lovely flower bracelet (it smelt gorgeous). Our room was not ready but we had arrived early, so one of the receptionist drove us in a cart to the pool bar and told us to relax until it was ready, they took care of our bags so the only thing we had to worry about was what cocktail to order!!! 2pm we were showed to our room (a pool villa)....wow what a wonderful room and the grounds were beautiful. You walked out of a back gate from our decking area to another big pool for adults only, with fountains, so peaceful! It was clean (turned down twice a day!) and Hugh! After coming from koh lanta and staying in 4* it was a blessing as the staff in the previous hotel we're very rude! Little known to me my boyfriend had organised spa treatments for my birthday via email which the staff at melati could not have been more helpful and promptly replying to his requests.
The morning of my birthday I was presented with a lovely birthday cake (tasted gorgeous) and a happy birthday song!! Bit embarrassing but lovely! Lol...also a lovely birthday message on our bed made out of flowers..what a lovely touch!.we found the food at 'the view' restaurant very nice and the beach BBQ in the evening of my birthday catered for everyone....the food was delicious. The staff at this hotel were always friendly and could not do enough for us....carrying our cocktails back to our room (we had a few to many to carry!) even carrying my suitcase when we unfortunately had to leave and saw me struggling! We did find a very big spider in our room one evening! But called reception and they very quickly came and got rid of it! Thank god! I could go on all day about this hotel as I absolutely loved it...staff lovely, beautiful surroundings, food very good what more could you ask for...I truly did not want to leave. We will definitely be returning to this hotel! Thank you melati for making the end of our holiday a truly unforgettable experience xxx

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 79 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melati Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.