We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful tropical setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melati Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 819 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful tropical setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Melati and really do not have many complaints. We stayed in the Grande Deluxe room which was very spacious for a family of four - of course we did not spend a lot of time in there. The bathrooms and showers are huge which was great. The rooms have A/C in the sleeping portion and are in great condition considering they are open to the outside air in the bathroom for example. This was no problem at all and I do not like humidity one bit. There was a delicious treat waiting in the room for us every night and the rooms were maintained twice/day. The staff was very accommodating for any requests and very friendly.

The pool area and kids club were great!! My kids loved being in the pool and swimming in the ocean. It was a nice beach - very quiet and calm water. The only issue is some rough rocks/shells that you have to swim or walk over to get to a sand bar. The restaurant was great with very friendly staff. Of course prices were very high compared to what you would pay outside of the resort. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and set up to meet many different palates. Never had an issue with anything running out or not being seated right away.

The only main issue we had is the check in and check out process which is the longest I have ever encountered. At least you get a relaxing drink and cold cloth to cool you down while you wait to check in. But, you almost get nervous that your reservation does not exist as they make you wait a long time. The other issue we had which may not bother others is that the resort is like its own little paradise but outside the gate you see poverty - lots of stray dogs running around, shacks, etc. You almost feel guilty staying in such luxurious surroundings.

Thank you again for a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Borjes Family,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the recent visit to Melati Beach Resort & Spa.
On behalf of the team, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience encountered upon arrival and departure. Please trust that your comments are valuable to us and assist in maintaining and improving our service standards.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you for a wonderful review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    177
    63
    33
    15
See reviews for
179
465
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked for my honeymoon after weeks of research and was not disappointed in the slightest. Had a pool Villa booked, few issues first night and immediately upgraded to a family pool villa suite for the remaining 6days without me even complaining/ requesting. The staff, resort and everything about the place oozed luxury....I was sad to leave the place and am planning my next trip and have been back only for 20 hours. A definite must stay!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a room with a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Gandhams,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Melati Beach Resort was an amazing experience. With beautiful views over to Koh Phangan and idyllic sand beach with few visitors it was truly spectacular. Der er no doubt that for some people it might be to quiet an area in Samui but if you do not want the hustle and bustler of Chaweng beach then i'ts just really great.

On plus side:

lovely rooms, graet location, perfect dining

On negative side:

cannot think of any

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mads M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests following their stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

Please trust that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team. Positive guest feedback like yours, is always an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Melati which we shared with four other family members and friends and I can honestly say that it is by far and away one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. The staff could not do more to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of an excellent quality and the balconies were brilliant - secluded and surrounded by vegetation and flowers. It is one of the few hotel rooms that I have experienced in which I really looked forward to returning to at the end of the day. The hotel grounds are very peaceful and are very well maintained without the constant noise of garden equipment such as strimmers. A lovely stream flows through the grounds and the water sounds are very relaxing to listen to at the end and beginning of each day. The breakfast was very good and Sela was an excellent host and ensured that our outside table was prepared each morning. The hotel has an enviable location - very peaceful and secluded and yet within very easy reach of all of the main lively areas. For those who want peace and quiet together with luxury, I doubt you will find better on the island. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a piece of paradise in Koh Samui!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level are fantastic as you have lovely vistas from the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Fiona M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

We greatly appreciate your recognition of our location and grounds; we make a special note of your compliments to Khun Sila and will share your wonderful comments with our entire staff. It is truly our greatest pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Melati Resort and Spa for our honeymoon in early November, and let me start by saying "Wow". The resort is located in a quieter part of Koh Samui so if you are looking for a place to party non stop every night then you may want to stay in Chawang, but if like us you are looking for a beautiful, tranquil place to relax then Melati is for you.

The resort has a shuttle that runs 3 times a day to and from Chawang, and any other time you can catch a taxi which is 400 BHT so its really simple to get around. Plus, another bonus with staying in Bophut Beach is that you are closer to Fishermans Village - they have the best restaurants.

The resort itself is quite spread out, with little pathways leading though the grounds. We stayed in a Pool Villa and were located in the middle of the grounds, so it was about a 2 minute walk to both the beach, pool and restaurants and to the lobby. The pools are wonderul, particularly the pool bar down by the beach. You can order cocktails and lunch in the pool and the staff will totally take care of you. A big thank you to Aod, who went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Cocktails are so yummy! We got hooked on the lychee-melon martinis and stocked up on them during happy hour.

Our room was beautiful, and we looked forward to coming back to the air-con after a long day of relaxing by the pool. The only down-side was that our private pool was far too cold to swim in (even in the swealtering heat of Thailand) and it was quite green by the time we left.

Food and drinks at the resort is quite expensive by Thailand standards however still cheap when you compare the price of things back home, and it really is top quality. I would have loved to get some more authentic Thai food in the restaurants however, it seemed to be mostly "Thai-fusion".

The spa was really overpriced, we recieved a free 45 minute thai massage when we booked but didn't book any other treatments.

All in all, it was the perfect honeymoon and we will definitly be staying at Melati again!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Grace P,

Thank you for your recent review! We are so happy to know that Melati Beach Resort & Spa helped make your honeymoon an unforgettable one and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Additionally, thank you for your comments regarding our private pool; we recognize this is an issue and will find a solution for this rapidly.

Again, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I got married at Melati in March 2012. The day was perfect, not one thing at fault and I didn't have to lift a finger. I also had about 30 guests from my wedding party stay at the resort, we were all very well looked after. A very big thank you to Rio and the team at Melati for making our day and stay so special!! We both hope to visit again one day soon.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ezzie 24,

Allow us to extend our sincere congratulations on your recent wedding. It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Melati Beach Resort & Spa. We are so glad to read your positive feedback as it is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. Please trust that I will share your comments with Rio, who will surely be thrilled.

We once again thank you for complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel and look forward to seeing you soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just got back from my stay at the Melati having booked through a travel agent in the UK. My partner and I stayed between 1st and 8th November. On arrival Dada was there to check us in and was so friendly and welcoming. The room was spectacular with a great balcony looking out to trees and flowers with birds visiting daily. The outdoor bath was great and the rain shower gorgeous. The room was clean and spacious. Robes, slippers, sandals, water, insect spray, mosquito coils and other things were all provided. Breakfast was a buffet which offered a wide variety. One of my favourite things were the smoothies made fresh with your choice of fruits. We preferred to eat by the pool and this was no trouble. In fact, for the time we stayed, Sila - a fantastic member of staff - arranged for a table to be ready each morning for us despite it being outside the restaurant. The pool was very nice with an infinity effect looking over the beach. The beach itself had comfortable sun loungers and the water was clean. The food in the evening was between two restaurants. One being a Thai theme and the other a more varied offer. We did find the food a little disappointing so did eat at other places across the island. The beach bar next to the hotel was a great place to go with very friendly staff. Happy hours at the pool bar happened between 11 and 12, 5 and 6 and 10 and 11 where buy one get one free and other offers were available. The staff at the Melati were all a credit to the hotel with nothing being too difficult. The hotel is in a quiet area of the island, but it is so easy to get around that this was not detrimental to our holiday. We hired a car from the airport which was approx £100 for a week and driving around is extremely easy. Don't just stick to the main road that circles the island, go off the beaten track to see some beautiful places. The south and south west of the island were by far our favourite areas as they are very raw and we thought the most beautiful. Thank you, Melati, for a memorable stay.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sheona M,

Thank you very much for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially our breakfast buffet and dedicated staff. Please trust that I will share your wonderful comments with Khun Sila and the rest of the Team.

We would thrilled to welcome you again during your next visit to Samui.

Thank you again,

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9 / 99 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 79 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melati Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.