We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with a larger than life host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cocooning Hotel to your Saves list
Cocooning Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with a larger than life host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Cocooning Hotel was spot on for what we needed while in Koh Samui, the location was excellent in the beautiful little Fishermans Village, everything is within a short walk. Some superb restaurants, notably 'The Hut' two doors down for amazing Thai food, all can be found on the on main road.
The beach is but a 1-2min walk away over the street.
Hotel rooms are cosy and have all you could need including a balcony for some fresh air if the air con is too much for you. TV and Internet were some of the best we had in Thailand.
And finally Dave, he is one brilliant host, greeted by name upon arrival, always smiling and very chatty, willing to help with anything and everything even after we'd moved on from this great little hotel. Such a great guy as will definitely be looking to stay here again in the near future. One to highly recommend for Koh Samui!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    6
    16
    4
See reviews for
8
64
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I loved everything about this small, very quaint, homely Hotel!
Located in the beautiful Bo Phut Fishermans, I found this to be the best value Hotel in the area. Only has 6 or 7 rooms and the couple who own the place look after everybody so well, we were made to feel a part of the family :) They simply couldn't do enough to help us, from recommendations for things to do and great restaurants to eat .
We stayed over the weekend and loved the Friday night walking street, where there bar came to life and the food was amazing.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and all have their own balcony. I slept well and was able to hop out of bed into the sea with only a few short steps - heaven.
Thanks guys and I will definitely come back next time!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We got there a day early (my mistake) but the owner Dave was very accommodating and sorted us right out. Room was absolutely beautiful with all you would need from TV, friday, shower room and stunning decor. The place situated in the fisherman's village and a stones through away from the beach. The local beach isn't great, but easy enough to grab a scooter and check out the island and choose a place you like. Dave is a great host and gives you the ins and outs about the island and gives you loads of options! Hospitality is great, and for that alone I give it a 5 star. It helps that the rooms are 5 star as well. I would most certainly stay there again.

This review is rather late as we were there a year ago, but its always been on my mind to give a great review to this great place! Hope things are still going well for Dave and his young family!

Room Tip: Just ask dave, he knows everything! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Situated just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the fishermens village, Cocooning hotel is a small, family run hotel which offers excellent value for money in an ideal location a minute away from the beautiful beach of Bo Phut. Run by Londoner Dave and his Swedish wife Therese, this 6 bedroom hotel offers a bar, clean rooms with hot showers, air con and a flat screen tv with a DVD library which was handy as I went in rainy season, a pool and a private balcony. The relaxed atmosphere means you can get up when you like and their lovely housekeeper Marli will make your breakfast to order. I read a few reviews on here with people complaining that the bar isn't open all the time and while that is true, Dave and Therese are on the premises every morning from about 8am and spend most of the day there. If you need them after that, they are only ever a phone call away and can be back to help you with anything within 10 minutes which I don't think they should be criticised for. There is a bar next door if you need a drink and next door but one is a fabulous very reasonable prices restaurant called The Hut which serves the best Thai food I had in Bo Phut. Cocooning isn't a 5* hotel and that is reflected in the very reasonable rates they charge but, given the cleanliness of the property, the location and the knowledge of the local area provided by the owners, this hotel is an ideal choice. Dave and Therese have lived in Thailand for a long time and know everything there is to know which means they can help you with any arrangements for days out, diving, boat trips and if you want a taxi, you only have to ask. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be greeted like an old friend and made to feel welcome during your stay. Thank you Dave and Therese, and of course, baby Harvey x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Dave & Therese was very accommodating and helpful.It was also a perfect location to go for my diving trips.

Trongpon's wife made delicious breakfast too.

Really appreciate the help Dave & Therese had made for the ferry arrangements and local transport service from Mr Trongpon.

Love the layout of the room too and the beautiful swans laid out on the bed.It was romantic and room had a sweet ambience though I was travelling solo.

Missed the chance to really try their Tapas Restaurant on both Fridays.Hope to try it out on my next visit.

Lastly would like to say it has been a awesome and memorable time in Samui and in Cocooning .

For those coming to Samui,what are you waiting for.Try Cocooning ! ;-)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had breakfast there every morning which was great and cooked to order.Fiday nights a must as part of walk street and the freshly made duck pancakes are to die for.Dave & Therese & staff are very accommodating and their knowledge of Fisherman's Village and certain areas of the island was a great help.Will be back at Christmas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We can't thank the team at Cocooning enough for our two wonderful stays over the past week.

If you're looking for comfortable, affordable, and well-located accommodation, this place is for you! Dave, Therese, and the rest of the staff truly go the extra mile for their guests.

Fridays are a blast as they offer tasty tapas, drink specials, and you can enjoy the walking street in the Fisherman's Village. It's an easy ride to Chaweng, but also in a great area of its own.

We felt extremely well taken care of throughout our stay and wish we could have stuck around longer!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.6 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 173 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#55 of 173 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#62 of 173 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#45 of 173 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocooning Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.