We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baan Bophut Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
The Fisherman's Village, 6 / 9 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 hotels in Bophut
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I loved this hotel in spite of its deficiencies, which I will deal with first. As mentioned by other reviewers, some of the towels are old and frayed and definitely need replacing and there are stains on the tops of the cabinets etc (another problem which would not be difficult to fix). Also, the water temperature in the shower never went beyond lukewarm but the weather was so hot it hardly mattered.

One previous reviewer mentioned that the deckchair covers were old and dirty but this problem has been rectified and I suspect a lot of the other criticisms are in the process of being dealt with as well.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is fabulous, near the end of Fisherman's Village (the nicest part of Koh Samui from what I saw) with great views and very close to shops, restaurants etc.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. (The one exception was when we were paying our bill. The credit-card machine wasn't working and the receptionist was most unhelpful though we sorted it all out in the end.)

The continental breakfast was good (though it would have been nice to have had a choice of cereals – it was either cornflakes or cornflakes, so cornflakes it was) and if you wanted a cooked breakfast as well, it was very cheap.

You need to decide what sort of holiday you want before choosing whether to stay here. The hotel has only a few rooms and is quite unlike the big resorts (a couple of which I visited) that proliferate here. It is certainly not luxurious but it feels like a more authentic experience to stay in a place like this than in a resort that is similar to those in all parts of the globe. Baan Bophut is delightfully low-key and to add to its attractions it is very well priced at about AUD$100 per night including breakfast in high season and even cheaper at other times.

I am certainly planning a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    27
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
93
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is very clean, nice and small with very friendly helpful staff, the food is some of the best we have had on the island. All the staff make you feel at home .We have stayed here a number of times and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Basic accommodation but excellant location!

We had booked what we thought was a room on the first floor as pictured, however on arrival we were shown to a loftroom on the second floor which has not been used for months, and was of a very poor standard. The balcony was tiny, the room was about 100 degrees (no one had attempted to cool it for our arrival) and the toilet seat was cracked. On making our views known to the staff (Thai staff - no English manager present) he was happy to move us to a ground floor room which was far superior to the previous and we gratefully accepted. If there had been no other rooms available we would not have stayed in this hotel.

Although the second room (room 1) was far superior to the first, it was not without problems. As previously mentioned the electric in this room goes off when the shower is used for more than about 10 mins. This happened twice on our first night and on average once every other day following this. It was a great inconvenience meaning that showers needed to be rushed but the staff dealt with it quickly and efficiently. I feel that the management should have delt with this issue when it was first raised but could not fault the staff's response to it.

Secondly as previously mentioned, the doors have a significant gap between them making it impossible to keep mosquitos out. There are many mosquitos around nd i was bitten several times.

Thirdly, the rooms are far fom quiet as the reception is just outside the door and the villa next door has a very loud airconditioning system. During our stay maintenence was also being carried out next door and noise was also audible from this (not hotel's fault).

Fourth, there are several collared dogs in the area (one who visits each morning with the English lady who i assume is watching the place while the owner is away) who use the grassed area as a toilet. During our stay, one pile of dog's mess remained for 48 hours before it was picked up. This is not ideal in an area that is for walking around barefoot. Please note that the local stray that lies under the sunbed never comes onto the grass, if only their own dogs could be trained as well as him.

Fifth, as previously mentioned, the hotel sunbeds, towels and sheets are old and need replacing.

Positives: good food, good location, no issues with Thai staff (young man in restaurant very good), although some appear a little lazy, however there was no manager present so who can blame them - most issues are for management to address. No English present to discuss with at the time.

Room Tip: Never chose loft room and if wanting a room on first floor make sure that is clear. Not room 1 on go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just had a look at this on trip advisor and cannot understand how there are any bad reviews ... I stayed for three days in August, went to Koh Tao for three days and then came back to Baan Bophut again as could not stay away! We found the staff hospitable, the room was very clean and it felt like we were in our own beach hut, breakfast better than any inclusive breakfast I've had so far in Asia and the SWIMMING POOL was just perfect!
I cannot recommend highly enough and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: we were in a ground floor room which I would recommend as you can walk straight out to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location. The hotel is situated at the quiet end of the Fisherman’s Village in Bophut. I believe this end of the beach is quieter as the sea is unsuitable for swimming here ( do not stay here if being able to swim in the sea is a deal breaker for you). However the hotel has a decent pool. Ultimately I knew the location in advance as I have stayed in neighbouring hotels – everything you need is within a few minutes’ walk and I personally prefer this end of the beach because it feels more exclusive almost like your own private beach.

Room. All rooms are sea facing with fantastic views over to Koh Phangnan. The views are of a level which you would pay a hefty premium for elsewhere. The rooms are a good size for the price. The first floor rooms offer greater privacy whilst the ground floor rooms offer direct beach access. The balconies / verandahs are again a decent size and have comfy lounger chairs which have recently been reupholstered. The king size bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were provided on request. The walls can be a bit thin so bring earplugs if you want to sleep before your neighbours. Hot water was always available and I have stayed at a number of 4 or 5 star hotels which have not been able to deliver on this. Some of the bathroom towels were a bit threadbare and would benefit from a replacement sometime soon. I found the room clean on arrival and the rooms are obviously well cleaned between changeovers. However the day to day maid service was less good and appeared limited to remaking the bed and emptying the bins.

Food and Drink. A continental breakfast is included. Anything above this is extra which I did not have a problem with. Despite what the menu said there was no choice of juice or cereal available and if you are here for a number of days this can become repetitive. The coffee is very good but you will need to pay extra for a second cup. The food we did order from the restaurant was good and we rated above some of the restaurants we tried. However service in the bar / restaurant is exceptionally poor and you really are treated as if you are massively inconveniencing the staff with your presence.

Facilitiies. The pool is very good for the size of hotel. It is a reasonable size, well maintained and has a great view.

Staff and service. This is where the hotel fails miserably. In many visits to Thailand and Asia I have rarely if ever come across a lazier bunch of individuals than the staff at the Baan Bophut. They are not rude as such – although the receptionist could try the occasional smile – just extremely disinterested. Getting them to look up from their mobile phones and acknowledge your existence is a challenge in itself. It is a shame as everything else about the hotel I believe represents excellent value for money. If you are the owner of this hotel I would urge you to take note. Look at the recent comments on this site. Your staff’s lack of care and service is damaging your business. If you can’t be there you need to ensure that you have an onsite manager who is prepared to ensure your paying clientele are not treated as an unwelcome interruption to your staff’s social lives.

Value for money. For the size of the room, location, comfort of the bed and the view I think the hotel offers really good value for money.

Ultimately I am left with mixed feelings about the hotel. On a number of levels it gets things right but the overall sense we were left with was from the poor staff and general lack of service. I would probably stay here again but if you lack the patience to cope with lazy staff I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

There is a noisy renovation next door. Pool tiles were being chipped away and an angle grinder removing grout. I overheard the owner positing out the inside of the house. The hotel itself has a small pool, warm water( no hot water), cracked toilet seat,wardrobe clothes rods that fell down twice before fixed with fishing line and hooks, assortment of labeless toiletries,broken ceiling fan in the breakfast area. The coffee machine broke down on the second day and we were forced to have instant coffee. There is no escaping air conditioning noise as none of the rooms have ceiling fans. We were forced to open the balcony doors and get bitten by mosquitos at night. The air conditioning unit in our room was covered in dust as was the centre room light which didn't work.The TV cable reception is poor and the movie channel is in Russian. After 4pm there is no one at reception. At night I heard a dog wining as it had obviously taken refuge in the reception area. Someone came in at 5 am to unlock the room next to ours? Storeroom following the load truck in the street outside. The staff are generally helpful and did their best to assist us move rooms and then move out and go home. The only difficulty we experienced with staff was the lack of English at breakfast time. In summary, idyllic location, poor maintenance and noisy air conditioning which cannot be escaped no matter which room you're in!

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor 2 are private but bring mosquito repellent coils and lotion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked a 7 day stay at this hotel. We left after 2. Previous reviews have said it is in a good location. It is - but there are only so many things that can be excused on the basis of that. For a start we emphasised clearly in our booking that we needed a quiet room. We arrived to find an extensive renovation going on next door involving angle grinders and much hammering. No chance of a quiet sleepin or a lounge by the pool or on the beach. Although this may be beyond the hotels control surely it would be more honest to acknowledge it to customers whose priority is peace and quiet. The fact that Room 1 had faulty electricity was mentioned by another reviewer. Add to that that while we were there Room 5 was closed due to a major water leaqk and Room 6 because of electrical short circuit. Even the espresso coffee machine broke down leaving only instant coffee at breakfast!! This hotel has potential but at the moment it is a train wreck in slow motion. It requires considerably more involvement by management and a large investment of funds for maintenance and refurbishment. Until there is evidence of this it is better avoided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Bophut Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Address: The Fisherman's Village, 6 / 9 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and managed hotel located directly on the beach in Bophut's Fisherman's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baan Bophut Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Bophut Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.