We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing place: really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Library

Save Saved
You added The Library to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Library
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Bophut
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Astonishing place: really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've stopped by one nigth just for a drink. That was one of my best nigth in city! The atmosphere is sublime, interior design well curated with unique piece of forniture. Cocktail amazing and well prepared, alcholic and not alcholic. Ofte you can also listen to live good music and enjoy your staying. Price are ok for a place like this: 5/7 € for a drink. A must seen place. Belive me!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    68
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
149
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai UAE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We'd summarise by saying this place is too much pomp and "style" over comfort and substance.

It's OK but not worth the money at all. We actually left after the first night even though we'd already paid for 3...we just didn't like it at all, and it felt depressing, We were sorry to lose the money but didn't want to feel depressed for the precious time left on our holiday, especially after the amazing start we had at the Tongsai Bay.

It was a little pretentious if we're honest. Little Mac PCs - who needs them on holiday? Everyone has an I-pad or phone.That's probably $50k they spent on 25 items of unnecessary 'gadgetry'. Maybe this helps them justify their prices. Or maybe many people love these kind of rooms - cold, bare, toe stub-worthy and completely impractical. My wife nearly broke her ankle as she stumbled out of bed to go to the loo at night, what with the 2 foot drop from the mattress.

Balconies (we had an upper studio) had no view (except for the room opposite) and were sparsly furnished with really uncomfortable chairs. It's very overlooked with no feel of privacy what so ever.

So other than a great mattress/bed on the floor (very comfortable), there is nowhere else that has any comfort at all.

We like hanging out in the room on holiday but this place wasn't built for chilling in your own room. If you're happy to stay by the pool and beach all day then maybe it isn't an issue for you.

It Just felt a bit sterile, bland and not our style. We like modern, and gadgets and tall glass windows with rain showers etc - all of which The Library has. But for us it just missed the mark in lots of ways.

finally, the cocktails were far too sweet and we couldn't understand why people in other reviews have said they were so good!

Room Tip: upper studios definitely not sensible for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited The Library for afternoon cocktails & found staff to be overly friendly & accommodating,
Lovely cocktail selection & a fantastic location in the heart of Chaweng.
Great pool & free wifi upon arrival.
Perfect venue to relax & overlook the ocean for couples.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've bene there two times, and every time is fantastic, the beach is clean, rooms are big and with a beatiful design and the breakfast on the sand is beatiful, restaurant is full of good dish, and The atmosphere is Magic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

.. Let's start with the cool concept of The Library. Our lives have so many chapters, so many stories and memories. This unique hotel spreads out like a brand new page, ready for his guests to write any new & exciting chapter onto it. You can also see this in the interior of the hotel room (they refer each room to 'page'); spacious, light, minimal and simply chic. There is also a huge wall piece (a square light box) which we can choose the color we want in our room - i picked green. There are (plenty of) friendly & attentive staffs around everywhere to accommodate your stay - they know me by name!! i have to mention the swimming pool which is red and so stunning.. and try to arrange to spend your breakfast on the peaceful and quiet Chaweng beach - and let your story begun.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Library took my breath away with its attention to details. The whole vicinty is picture worthy and the theme is seamless as a boutique hotel. The welcome package is awesome in presentation and I digged the threading of the envelopes! The only thing to watch out for is the platform on which the bed is on especially if you wake up groggy and head for the toilet! :)
The staff deserves a thumb-up too! I had good chat and laugh with them and they make the effort to remember you.
The restuarant The Page is also worth a visit. I had my happy hour there with 1-1 drinks and some delightful finger foods. There is some differences between the lunch and dinner menu if you are planning to have a meal there.

Room Tip: The library has limited pages (rooms) in a small compound (2 rows of building) so it should not make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, wonderfully designed, most kind and helpful staff, incredible red pool, exquisite food and beverage, and most of all, the unique experience of having breakfast on the beach.
My favorite hotel in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library

Address: 14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library is a stunning conceptual hotel built in a semi-minimalist architectural design, located at the heart of Chaweng Beach. Shaped by the hands of an island local who was inspired by books and a simple lifestyle philosophy, the property has now become an international icon of style and was recently recognized by Tripadvisor as the number one trendiest hotel in Thailand (2012).The Library offers its guests a total of 26 unique accommodations in the form of Exotic Suites located on the ground floor, Smart Studios on the upper levels, and a new ultra-luxurious unit called the Bookmark which is set to launch by October 2012. Interspersed with age-old trees and various works of art, The Library and its surroundings boast a balance of nature and culture. Interiors bathed in a minimalist palette are completed with modern facilities such as 42-inch plasma screen televisions, iPod touch, and iMAC computers with high-speed Internet connection. True to the belief that a perfect holiday equals an opportunity to enjoy one good novel, guests are invited to browse through the well-curated collection of books at The Lib, which gives The Library its distinctive name. An award-winning restaurant called The Page is also open for all-day dining, and the new Drink Gallery whips up an artistic blend of good food, warm vibes and the island’s most fantastic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Library Hotel Bophut
Library Koh Samui
Library Hotel Koh Samui
The Library Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.