We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Library

Save Saved
You added The Library to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Library
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 hotels in Bophut
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a Studio room (upstairs). The room was large and comfortable--a double bed plus a sofa. Elegant and simple decor. The bathroom was amazing too.

The pool is really nice--the red color makes it quite different from regular swimming pools. The restaurant has good food and drinks, and the staff are happy to serve you while you lounge on the deck chairs. The deck chairs themselves were super comfy. The beach is very pretty and clean.

The staff was great. We were there during Loi Krathong and one of them recommended a local fair with Thai street food and games. That was some of the best food we had in Thailand.

The library has a fantastic selection of books--perfect for lounging on the beach.

If you don't want to eat at The Page, there are many restaurants and bars with great Thai food just down the road from The Library.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room tariff but it was decent and not super-expensive.

The only negative was that we spotted a cockroach in our room. Our check-in also took a while because the room was not ready but we arrived slightly earlier than expected.

Room Tip: Studios seemed more private than the ground-level suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    70
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
40
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Like they say "ones men's meat is another men's poison"... The Library is definitely my MEAT!
Located right in the centre of bustling Chaweng, but yet you would only get peace and serenity within The Library's premises. This is thanks to the super job by the security staff, whom always ensure outsiders are kept out at all times. From the lobby entrance to the rooms, you can sense this hotel will 100% tickle any arty vibes in you, coz its so amazingly well designed and everything is kept to a 'minimum'. I have never taken so much pictures of any hotels I visited until I stepped into The Library.. My eyes were constantly scanning for the thousands of little nice touches and details during my 2 nights stay. From the DnD signage in rooms, the extensive use of natural lightings to the red pool and the many white man figurines spread throughout the premises. Room was very sizable and comfy, and had everything I needed. Do not think the room concept will appeal to all, but I love it for the clean and minimalist look, and the amount of space is to die for...
Ambience and quality of F&B within its in-house restaurant and bar were surprisingly great, exceeding my expectations for a small size hotel like this. Spent many nights, including non stay nights, at the Drink Gallery, as I simply just loved sitting by the comfy couches by the ceiling-to-floor glass windows, watching the busy world zooming by while enjoying the creative cocktails or nice selection of wine.
The Library, like the Hansar brand, is an excellent example of a local owned, built and run hotel that has somehow got all its formulas right (and perfected), creating a very accommodating and pleasant experience for all its guests, as expected from the wonders of Thai hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Library was the location for my daughters wedding in July 2013
The venue and attention the management and staff to every detail made it the perfect location.
Wedding layout on the beach was lovely and romantic, the flowers were fresh and vivid colours.
The wedding reception was laid out in front of the red pool facing the beach was beautiful and every attention to detail made the day exceptional.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a special holiday or wedding venue.

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely good, large rooms with all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Library for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was everything we expected it to be. We had arranged a pick up from the ferry port and were met by a beautifully air conditioned car with a personalised folder full of information. No charge was made for the pick up which I thought was a nice touch. On arrival at the resort we were given fresh juice and sorbet while we went through the very quick and simple check in process.

We had chosen the upstairs room for added privacy and we were glad we chose to do this. The room was amazing, modern and minimal and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was beautiful with a bath full of rose petals and a large walk in shower. The room had the softest bed we have ever slept on and there is also a great flat sofa in the room. The mini bar was well stocked and there were a range of glasses. The balcony was a great size with chairs and tables.

The resort itself is sleek and sophisticated. Food is beautifully presented and breakfast had plenty of choice. Food and drink was not cheap but I wouldn't have expected it to be. The new Drink Gallery at the front of the resort has great cocktails, but the bean bags on the beach at The Page were also a great place to sit.

We enjoyed time by the pool and the little treats that were brought round, from fresh juices to bits from the menu.

The only negative, and this has been mentioned before, is the rather over zealous way some of the staff check if you are staying at the resort. I understand that for these prices they want to keep it exclusive, but one member of staff in particular was very intimidating and actually tried to body block us as we walked back from the beach. I think management need to invest in a little extra staff training on this.

However, if you are looking for a cool and calm place away from the madness of Chaweng then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pia and I stayed at the Library for one week during mid August 2013. It is located right in the middle of Chaweng Beach on Koh Samui, Thailand. The food is great, cocktails fantastic and the general ambience of the place is laid back and restful. The early morning walks along the beach was a great way to start the day. The beach surf is gentle and the whole atmosphere not over crowded. Koh Samui offers some truly varied and great tasting places to dine out. Does not take much effort or time to tour the relatively small island, which does not distract from the real purpose or our short holiday there - to relax & unwind. I loved our daily lunch ritual in The Library's Drink Gallery. That is where those great cocktails were waiting for us, with nice sized tasty lunch meals.

Room Tip: Stay out towards the beach area if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I booked our wedding directly through the Library and celebrated the big day in July 2013. All of the planning was communicated via email but the staff Were fantastic and they understood our every request.

When we arrived and met with the staff they were extremely organised and had pictures of the flowers, cake and design of the layout for both the ceremony site and reception area.

Everything was beautiful on the day and the staff cared for my husband and my every request. Following the ceremony our 40+ gusts moved up to the reception area next to the famous red pool where we had arranged the live seafood and Thai fusion buffet. Everything was wonderful and tasted superb.

I would certainly recommend holding your wedding at the library if you want a little piece of heaven. Please feel free to contact me directly if you want any further information.

Room Tip: Lovely room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeena, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I loved the minimalist design of the hotel it is really different, but in a good way. The library hotel is a member of the 'design hotel group' for a good reason. The only issue we had was with the cleanliness of the bathroom. We found hairs in the bath tub, the mirrors have not been wiped for a while and the wall in the shower with filthy with soap scum around the soap dispenser. Why go all out with this amazing design and attention to detail only to stick a cheap soap dispenser with a generic shower gel onto a bathroom wall??

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library

Address: 14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library is a stunning conceptual hotel built in a semi-minimalist architectural design, located at the heart of Chaweng Beach. Shaped by the hands of an island local who was inspired by books and a simple lifestyle philosophy, the property has now become an international icon of style and was recently recognized by Tripadvisor as the number one trendiest hotel in Thailand (2012).The Library offers its guests a total of 26 unique accommodations in the form of Exotic Suites located on the ground floor, Smart Studios on the upper levels, and a new ultra-luxurious unit called the Bookmark which is set to launch by October 2012. Interspersed with age-old trees and various works of art, The Library and its surroundings boast a balance of nature and culture. Interiors bathed in a minimalist palette are completed with modern facilities such as 42-inch plasma screen televisions, iPod touch, and iMAC computers with high-speed Internet connection. True to the belief that a perfect holiday equals an opportunity to enjoy one good novel, guests are invited to browse through the well-curated collection of books at The Lib, which gives The Library its distinctive name. An award-winning restaurant called The Page is also open for all-day dining, and the new Drink Gallery whips up an artistic blend of good food, warm vibes and the island’s most fantastic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Library Hotel Bophut
Library Koh Samui
Library Hotel Koh Samui
The Library Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.