We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax & chill out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Library

Save Saved
You added The Library to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Library
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 hotels in Bophut
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax & chill out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pia and I stayed at the Library for one week during mid August 2013. It is located right in the middle of Chaweng Beach on Koh Samui, Thailand. The food is great, cocktails fantastic and the general ambience of the place is laid back and restful. The early morning walks along the beach was a great way to start the day. The beach surf is gentle and the whole atmosphere not over crowded. Koh Samui offers some truly varied and great tasting places to dine out. Does not take much effort or time to tour the relatively small island, which does not distract from the real purpose or our short holiday there - to relax & unwind. I loved our daily lunch ritual in The Library's Drink Gallery. That is where those great cocktails were waiting for us, with nice sized tasty lunch meals.

Room Tip: Stay out towards the beach area if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    70
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
40
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I booked our wedding directly through the Library and celebrated the big day in July 2013. All of the planning was communicated via email but the staff Were fantastic and they understood our every request.

When we arrived and met with the staff they were extremely organised and had pictures of the flowers, cake and design of the layout for both the ceremony site and reception area.

Everything was beautiful on the day and the staff cared for my husband and my every request. Following the ceremony our 40+ gusts moved up to the reception area next to the famous red pool where we had arranged the live seafood and Thai fusion buffet. Everything was wonderful and tasted superb.

I would certainly recommend holding your wedding at the library if you want a little piece of heaven. Please feel free to contact me directly if you want any further information.

Room Tip: Lovely room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeena, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I loved the minimalist design of the hotel it is really different, but in a good way. The library hotel is a member of the 'design hotel group' for a good reason. The only issue we had was with the cleanliness of the bathroom. We found hairs in the bath tub, the mirrors have not been wiped for a while and the wall in the shower with filthy with soap scum around the soap dispenser. Why go all out with this amazing design and attention to detail only to stick a cheap soap dispenser with a generic shower gel onto a bathroom wall??

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and extremely enjoyed, well, practically everything. The location is awesome, just in the middle of Chaweng's main street, however you don't hear any of the street's commotion once you enter the hotel area. The rooms are big, comfortable and have all the perks you need (even an iMac for surfing). There's also a library of books and DVDs you can borrow from (complimentary service). The pool is small but very clean and fun, and the beach is just perfect - white sand and turquoise water. And the breakfast is the best we had for a long while. I'd have given this place six stars had I could.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Was highly recommended by friends should drop by the resort for my forthcoming group retreat.

Lovely entrance! I was a bit over excited by taking lots of photo but however, being stop by the security and showing snobbish looking at us.

The way of answering is like we are not welcome if we love taking pictures.

Can you imagine, I was paying at least BT60,000++ a night in Conrad for a single villa and being look down by just the library resort... Come on...

The security told us if you want to know about the resort, perhaps You may proceed to the reception, they will offer you a price.

I will never recommend this resort to any of my business partners.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 3 weeks here in 2012 and then again in 2013. As the title states, favourite place on earth.

From the moment we were collected from the airport, the morning ritual of poolside coffee's, staff remembering our favourite breakfasts, cheerful pool boys, the worlds most comfortable bed, to the moment you leave, the Library is Koh Samui's own little paradise.

The page offers excellent food and very high quality. We tried to venture out to eat but found ourselves back at the Page most days. The Ox cheek curry is a favourite that should not be missed.

The drink gallery was where we started most evenings with a bottle of rose wine. Sit out on the terrace for great people watching.

'Sax on the beach' - 2 nights a week a saxophonist plays over sunset drinks adding an element of kitsch to an otherwise sophisticated backdrop.

The charm of The Library is the size. There are only 26 rooms so there is never a crowded moment.

The pool is another favourite. We spent most of our mornings, afternoons and evenings in it!

The Library is headed up by General Manager Chutima. Leads her team in an great way. Every one here is happy and i think this comes down to her management. she spends time with both guests and her team.

We cannot wait to return again next year.

Steven & Robert x

Room Tip: all rooms provide a perfect experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The modern sleek design was very beautiful with the all white and red accents. We especially liked the light box in the room that changes colors. The service out at the pool and on the beach was superb, they setup you up for a relaxing day at the beach and bring you treats all day long. The room design was cool although it wasn't the plush feel. The mattress on the floor combined with the big step down made for dangerous night time bathroom trips. There definitely were way too many geckos for my liking. The geckos come out at night, they were all over outside our door and there was one in our room that kept us up all night. Also we did have trouble with the noise coming from the lively town at night. Wasn't the most restful stay but the design, the beautiful beach, and the service made it a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library

Address: 14/1 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library is a stunning conceptual hotel built in a semi-minimalist architectural design, located at the heart of Chaweng Beach. Shaped by the hands of an island local who was inspired by books and a simple lifestyle philosophy, the property has now become an international icon of style and was recently recognized by Tripadvisor as the number one trendiest hotel in Thailand (2012).The Library offers its guests a total of 26 unique accommodations in the form of Exotic Suites located on the ground floor, Smart Studios on the upper levels, and a new ultra-luxurious unit called the Bookmark which is set to launch by October 2012. Interspersed with age-old trees and various works of art, The Library and its surroundings boast a balance of nature and culture. Interiors bathed in a minimalist palette are completed with modern facilities such as 42-inch plasma screen televisions, iPod touch, and iMAC computers with high-speed Internet connection. True to the belief that a perfect holiday equals an opportunity to enjoy one good novel, guests are invited to browse through the well-curated collection of books at The Lib, which gives The Library its distinctive name. An award-winning restaurant called The Page is also open for all-day dining, and the new Drink Gallery whips up an artistic blend of good food, warm vibes and the island’s most fantastic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Library Hotel Bophut
Library Koh Samui
Library Hotel Koh Samui
The Library Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.