We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Mermaid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Mermaid Resort to your Saves list
Samui Mermaid Resort
34/1 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

loved it. Despite planes landing in your backyard this was a very good place to stay. The pool and bar is nice and the staff is very helpfull. The rooms are spacious and clean. I would definitly stay there again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    30
    15
    20
See reviews for
5
58
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We got to Samui Mermaid Resort by sheer bad luck. Our plane was delayed coming in from Bangkok and we were forced to stay a night before continuing on the Koh Phangan. As we were in this unforeseen situation, we let a taxi driver take us to a "recommended" place, which ended up being here, where fairly unfriendly staff first tried to sell us a "VIP Room" (which we didn't even look at) for exorbitant 2000 THB. We finally settled for a normal room for 1000 THB. The room itself was small but ok, fairly clean, warm water in the bathroom, lousy, soft mattresses. At least the aircon worked and it had direct pool access. Unfortunately the pool hadn't been cleaned for what seemed weeks and there was all sorts of slimy green stuff floating around.

While sitting by the side of the pool we suddenly heard an incredibly loud engine noise and within seconds a 717 jet passed just over our heads (maybe 50m). This continued in a 20-30min interval until 10pm and recommenced the next morning at 6am.

If you have a look at a satelite image of the airport, follow north right to the border of the airport property and on the western side of the border you will find the property, stuck between a heavily trafficked road and the mentioned airport. So: If you are an avid planespotter, this is a good place to catch Bangkok Airways ATR turbopros, Boeing and Airbus jets, otherwise, steer clear. For 1000 THB you can get MUCH better spots to spend you holidays (or a night waiting for your ferry).

Breakfast was not included in the price, and we didn't try it.

In a three week holiday this was by far the worst value for money we got.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I have been stayed there between 5th Jan-9th Jan 2008. It is good value for money, although it is close to the airport.
The room very clean and staffs are very friendly. They also have free airport transfer which help me save money because the taxi in koh samui very expensive. I enjoyed stay there and go back again.

  • Liked — room is clean and staffs are friendly
  • Disliked — too close to the airport
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

I stayed at the Samui Mermaid twice on my recent trip to Samui. I can not fault the place one bit. Yes the bar does go on to the early hours but the latest is prob 2am. You have to remember you are on holiday so you shouldn't have to be in bed at 9pm! The staff were helpful on both of my visits and the rooms are nice and clean. I think for that area they are above average and it is nice to have a TV and mini bar in a fan room. In my exp you only normally get that in an air con room... Restaurant is fine. No faults with the food....

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The beach isn't great
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

I visited The Mermaid In the first week in May. First i thought it was a nice clean friendly place. Then i noticed i had money go missing. I approached the owner and explained the situation. He laughed the whole thing off as if i was imagining it. I quickly got a refund and left.
I talked to some of the locals after, and they all said it happens all the time there.....So i just want to let people know before it happens to them!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

My girlfriend and I found this place on the internet and read the previous comments and unfortunately it appears to have changed (hopefully temporarily).

The staff are all fantastic except the manager who manages the side of the resort that has the bar.

It appears that he makes quite good money from some of the local partying expats. They have turned the bar into an open air night club with heavy bass thumping all night (located in the middle of the main accomodation area). We thought we were unlucky for one night, but witnessed a number of complaints and spoke to other guests who had booked for a month. They had been putting up with the noise every night for a week!! We felt it was better to move on than experience any more of this.

We requested for music to be turned down, only to have the music turned back up 30 minutes after we had gone back to bed. The music finishes anywhere between 1am and 3am in the bar.

If this is your scene, then I would recommend Chaweng as it is a lot more action than this with more variety!!

I would never stay here again, and would urge anyone who wants a decent nights sleep not to either!

If you are in the area, more information below:

Food:
Quick, cheap, and very tasty! Staff in restaurant are fantastic.

Location:
This place is extremely close to the airport (5 minutes drive). Planes fly low enough to touch if you were standing on the roof of the rooms. Flights continued for us until about 10:30pm (so not too bad). However, the runway is directly behind this place so very noisy when the planes are landing.

Rooms:
Basic, but OK for short time or low budget travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Mermaid Resort

Address: 34/1 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Samui Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Mermaid Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Mermaid Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Mermaid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.