We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome find on samui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Mermaid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Samui Mermaid Resort to your Saves list
Samui Mermaid Resort
34/1 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“awesome find on samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are expecting a 5 star resort look somewhere else but if you are looking for a cheap, place to spend a few nights by the pool and close to the pier then this is your place!

we booked this hotel through during high season and were happy that the prices weren't ridiculously high like some other places on the Island. The staff there are amazing!! They booked all our ferries for us (at no extra charge), we rented scooters from them, got our laundry done all very easily. They made our stay at Samui so enjoyable! I would come back again just because of them!

The bungalow with fan was perfect, It wasn't too hot at night because you got a good breeze and the fan was strong. All the windows had screens on them to keep out the little geckos. We have stayed in quite a few places in thailand and this place was great value for the money!

The only downside to this hotel were the planes that flew by. they only flew by during the day (not through the night) so it wasnt too bad but a few days we got an early wake up call from them.

The only thing they could add to help this place out is a bottle opener in the room.

It is about a 10 min drive to the main area of Samui (for nightlife and bars) but there are lots of local restaurants near the hotel for a nice meal. (I would recommend U2 on the main road, they have great thai food)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    35
    17
    24
See reviews for
5
67
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had just discussed with my sister what sort of person complains about a hotel when it is actual fact perfectly nice. This one is worth complaining about.

We booked two nights at this hotel. The pictures are absolutely misleading. The rooms reeks of smoke, there's a massive gap in the door for mosquito's and cockroaches, and the shower points at the ceiling, thus making it more like using a bum-gun and not a shower. Our ocean view room, of course, did not have a few of the ocean.

Customer service is a joke. Even though there are other rooms available online, we were told there isn't and that no other guest has ever complained about the room. We have been travelling Thailand for 3 weeks, and have stayed in much better places for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are about to book this, you are in the same situation I was this time last year, when looking at tripadvisor I found it difficult to judge what this hotel would be like, this is what I wish I had read: The rooms are dirty, cockroaches seem to run freely around the place (I am pretty sure I saw a maid helping one that was stuck on it's back), the bathrooms are a health risk and are covered in mosquitoes no matter what you do to get rid of them. The location is terrible, if your young and don't want to have to scooter it EVERYWHERE stay in Chaweng!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The cabins were fine and had everything we needed. The breakfast (not included) was great, and had a nice ocean view. The swimming pool felt like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Also, the resort was pretty much ON the airport runway. It felt like we could touch the airplanes as they flew over every hour. Other than that, the location was fine with some nice restaurants and motorbike rental services just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Samui Mermaid for a few nights. The room's are decent and good value, they include a TV. There's also a couple swimming pools. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a 24 restaurant which served good food. The main downside is that the location isn't great.. but that depends on what sort of location you're looking for. If you want a quiet getaway with a few restaurants then it's good, however it was bit quiet for me and in this instance Chaweng was a preferable place for me to stay. Also it's right next to the airport so it's noisy when planes are flying overhead, however this didn't happen too often.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The 490B budget ("standard") rooms at Samui Mermaid were good value for the location - you can't find anything around there for cheaper and as the cheapest option it was pretty good. Rooms were clean and had a tv and fridge. Fan didn't work that well but oh well. Room was cleaned daily and I had hem do my laundry (40B/kilo) and it turned out well. Service was pleasant if not overly helpful. For a budget price you get resort facilities - 2 swimming pools with cushioned sun loungers though they are worn which I could see as disappointig if you were paying for the more expensive rooms. There isn't much of a beach in this area but the pool sunloungers look out onto the sea which is nice. Overall, a good value for budget travelers in Samui.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Photos are nothing like the hotel whatsoever. Mosquitos are all over the place, used cans upon cans of repellent in just 2 days. Bed sheets are dirty, lizards everywhere. Half the wall is stone with holes in it, covered by a net which is clearly not effective. Pool is fine but no sun loungers. Only good thing about this place is the WIFI works. If you are also keen for aeroplanes to pass over and sound like they are about to land on you then get involved. Surrounding shops and bars are terrible and tacky. Nothing nice about this area of Samui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Mermaid Resort

Address: 34/1 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 172 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Samui Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Mermaid Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Mermaid Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Mermaid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.