We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smile House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Smile House Resort to your Saves list
Smile House Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I visited the hotel in may and stayed for 12 nites hotel is spotlessly clean the rooms could do with updating but I think they were starting on soom rooms aa we left 2 lovely pools plenty of sunbeds fishermens village is a lovely place to stay it is about 10 mins taxi from the busy resort of chawang best of both worlds Everyone in the resort we lovely but the restaurant staff do need to look at the name of the place and learn how to smile we will be back found a little bit of paradise here

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    141
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
111
142
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a lovely hotel, I stayed in a lovely and very comfortable cabin style room, and I was really impressed, a good size room with a super king and a single bed, nice bathroom good safe TV and wifi, and a good mini bar, the 2 pools where never crowded or loud, and the restaurant for breakfast was really good, although the coffee was a little strong for me. The staff where first class, right up to the manager who was always available, this is also a great place to explore from by renting a motorbike, really cheap and of you go. The beach is good very clean and safe with a few activities available.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but some are a walk from the restaurant and main pool. It's in lush gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful time here. Best location. If you want to stay in the fisherman's village then this is the place to stay at. A stone throw from the beach with the dining room overlooking the sea. Wonderful. Only problem was when they booked a taxi for us to wrong place and got a quote. The taxi driver then demanded more because it was apparently a different ferry port to the one the hotel told him.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

spent 8 nights here in may.it was extremely hot for most of the visit.having the second pool at the back of the property was a welcome relief with shade.the big pool was like having a bath all the time.
staff were pleasant especially the front desk and the cleaners and garden staff.
a friend travelling with us had her handbag stolen in the street by 2 people on a motorbike at 11.30 in the morning as we were walking down the street.so be careful .
the owner of smile house arranged for his driver to take us to the police station to report it as for insurance purposes,which we thought was a nice touch.so they do look after their guests.
thank you to smile house.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Myself and my family stopped at the smile house in April the whole place is lovely , the staff are very helpfull and friendly the owner keeps a high standard and again very friendly. Are apartment was right at the back and just near the quiet second pool. The best thing was nobody saved sun loungers how refreshing . The rooms where cleaned and stocked everyday .2 mins from the beach with free sun loungers that belonged to the hotel. The restaurant was very nice we enjoyed sitting at a beach table at night and looking out to see again service was great and the food lovely. We really only had one grumble which was in the morning the cleaners start early and if they are cleaning the room next door they are very loud talking even at 6.30. - 7 am also use very loud radios saying this we got used to it and I used ear plugs but would not stop me staying there again .over all lovely .

Room Tip: All rooms from what we could see where lovely rooms at the front of the complex are near the sunnier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our third time at Smilehouse and it's consistently good. We've read some reviews entitled "No smiles here" or "No smiles at the Smilehouse". We've never encountered this?
Look guys, If you rock up after 20 hours travel, grumpy, shouty etc It doesn't work, I guarantee If you give a smile and a Sawadee you'll get one back. We never encountered anything other than friendly help.
Possibly our last time here as we've just about exhausted Fishermans Village. The Smilehouse is clean the grounds kept immaculate by the small army of groundsmen. Thoroughly recommend this resort right in the centre of Fisherman's Village. Wouldn't normally give anything 10 out of 10, nothings perfect eh? This gets 8 on merit and the extra 2 for consistency... 10/10

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the resort are near the smaller, secluded, quieter pool, there is a rear entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just returned from two weeks at this resort in Thailand. Absoloutely beautiful, friendly accommodating staff, bedding and towels changed every day. Plenty choice for breakfast, hot or cold with wonderful views of the sea while you are eating. Two large, very clean pools with plenty of umbrellas. Lots of restaurants and bars to choose from in the Fishermans Village area and not one bad meal. A few steps from the road and it like staying in the jungle with plants, fronds and palm trees. As with all hot countries we were pestered by mosquitos but we were advised by a thai lady to buy Tiger Balm, takes the sting out straight away. Apparently unseasonably hot for the time of year and hell it was hot, hot, hot. The only thing that would stop me going again would be the length of the time to get there and back but I will try to find a quicker route but highly recommend Smile House and Bophut.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smile House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Resort

Address: Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Smile House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Hotel Koh Samui
Smile Houseresort Koh Samui
Smile House Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.