We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dance Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Dance Resort to your Saves list
Sea Dance Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   63/253 Moo 5 Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani province, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Bophut
Mount Isa, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived at the resor fom the airport by taxi and were warmly greeted by Poh and Junior, who immediately made us feel welcome. We stayed in a garden bungalow which had views of the ocean. The grounds were well maintained. The bungalow was amazing, with an awesome outdoor tropical bathroom area and beautiful large bed. The pool was amazing, with pool bar and horizon views of the ocean. The beach was private, water was amazing refreshing and great to wash the worries of the world away. This resort was perfect for a romantic getaway or anyone wanting to unwind and destress. We found it hard to leave the resort because it was so relaxing. The bartender at the resort was amazing..his experience with different cocktails was amazing, we didn't have one bad cocktail here. The food was of a high quality and the breakfasts were amazing. The morning omelettes were fantastic and a good way to start the day. It was just amazing to sit by the pool everyday and watch the ocean and let the problems of modern life melt away while sipping on a cocktail. Junior was amazing, always helpful and friendly. He made us feel like we were family. It was a hard place to leave. What Poh is doing here is amazing. Once word gets out about this resort it will become a sort after location, so get in now before it becomes uber popular..cocktails were to die for..

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights, in the Sea Dance Villa (Villa #1). Everything went smoothly since booking. Arrangement of airport transfer was as simple as one email. When we arrived at USM, Junior was waiting for us at the meeting area and we arrived at the resort in 15 minutes.

Check in was a breeze, we were given ice cold towels and cold refreshing drinks, which were much appreciated as it's so hot outside! Poy and Junior greeted us with smiles. Junior checked with us on what our plans are and he recommended tours that suit our needs. We ended up booking the tours going to Koh Nang Yuan/ Koh Tai, as well as the full moon party which added color to our experience.

Junior showed us around our villa, as we were walking towards the villa, I immediately fell in love with the resort - it's very carefully designed, I was surrounded by the nature, for relaxation yet there are plenty going on and you will never feel bored; for privacy yet allows for guest/staff interaction.

Villa:
Our villa was the closest to the beach with a large private pool. It's also right next to the resort's infinity pool but separated by plantation. It's very private and we had the shades up all the time to enjoy the ocean view. you can see the sunrise in the morning. I especially like the bathroom design as it makes use of wood, bamboo and stones/rocks. It has a nice window on both sides, allowing you to take a shower while enjoying some sun light.The villa has provided for everything we need, beach bag, indoor slippers, flipflops, umbrellas, bathrobes, toiletries, day bed, lounger, plug in mosquito repellents etc. The bed and bedding were very comfortable (better than the Westin heavenly bed) and there are plenty of power outlets for you to charge your electronics. We spent decent amount of time in our villa to read, chill, and just enjoy the pool and the view.

On our last day, Junior arranged for us a late check out so we can spend more time enjoying the resort before our flight, this is a very nice touch!

Restaurant:
Breakfast was included, we also had a lunch and a dinner at the Sea Bass restaurant. The food selection was large, but we stick to the Thai menu. I especially like the rice soup and dim sum for breakfast and the Sea Dance set for appetizer for lunch/dinner! The restaurant staff were all friendly and always went a step ahead to ensure our needs are satisfied. The price was very affordable for a restaurant/hotel/resort.

Resort:
We took the red truck to go to fisherman's village on Friday night for the night market (80- 100 baht per person) and to Chaweng to hang out (100 baht per person). The resort is fairly close to both locations (about 10-15 minutes drive). There is a 7-11 on the main road, which is also where you will get on those red trucks.
The beach by the resort is very private and the sand is very smooth - however, if you are going to step into the water, I'd recommend water shoes since there are lots of pebbles. The resort has kayaks and beach chairs you can use for no cost.

We had an awesome time at Sea Dance. Sea Dance stands out from its peers by the careful design of the resort, personalized services, friendliness, responsiveness from Poy, Junior and their team. During our stay, I did not have to ask/request for anything, since everything I need and I want were already provided. I miss our short stay there and I will be back!

The resort is in the process of building a spa, I cannot wait to try it!

Thank you Sea Dance team for such wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Sea Dance Villa (Villa #1) with wonderful ocean view, large private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family stayed 5 nights in Sea Dance Resort. We booked 2 rooms with 1 upgraded to their top room with the best view and private pool. Khun Poy and Khun Junior surprised us upon our arrival to the resort which began our wonderful, relaxing and comfortable stay there.

The landscape has softness as they made use of bamboo and plants to transform it to an exotic resort. Its very romantic and my kids loved the setting too.

The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and spacious. We like our 2 private pools (more for soaking and chatting over drinks) but we mostly spend our time at the main pool that have a panoramic view of the sea.

The morning sunrise at about 6am was spectacular. The beach front is rather private and secluded which we liked. We had all our 3 meals at their restaurant. Food is delicious, both the international and local ones. Breakfast spread is good; Thai, Chinese tim sum and international.

I caught a fish outside their beach. The restaurant cooked it for our dinner and the fish is big enough for my family and the rest we share with the staff there.

We use their 2 kayaks to explore the sea just outside the resorts where there are several rocks formations. The sea is calm and current moderate. My 11 and 12 years old boys learned kayaking as a single paddler separately under my close supervision. This was a great experience for them.

Other than the nice resort, the secret ingredient to glue everything together and make this place great is the people; Khun Poy, Junior and all the staff there. They made things cosier for us. They greet us and know our names, always on the look-out to help us and yet do not intrude into our privacy and family time. Poy and Junior have both provided us with good recommendations for our activities and meals.

Thank you Sea Dance Resort. Stay cool and continue to transform this place to be what you have dreamt it to be... lovely, relaxing and romantic.

We would return.
alvin tham and family

Room Tip: Take room 1 (sea dance) for being closest to the beach; more private and bigger soak pool. Take ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a lovely tranquil beach setting on koh Samui this is the place for you. We had spent time in Hong kong and Bangkok prior to koh samui and Sea Dance was exactly what we needed. Beautiful setting, lovely 'cottages' and the warmest, friendliest, most helpful staff you will ever meet.

From the moment we were picked up by Pom at the airport, we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the team, such as organising a boat tour, traditional Thai massages and motorbike hire.

The food was exquisite, with breakfast being a choice of Thai or western style. Evening meals in the outside restaurant were delicious with great choices, freshly cooked to order. The team of Soi, Kwan, Koi, led by Junior were brilliant and we always enjoyed our regular daily chats with them - picking up some tiny bits of the Thai language on the way.
The cottages themselves were beautifully laid out, and importantly had very effective air conditioning. There was a lovely small pool leading down to the small beach, which was no more than 20 metres from the restaurant and pool. The beach and dramatic sea provided a wonderful backdrop to meal and drink times (happy hour 5-7pm was never to be missed)!
If you are looking for a party holiday/sports bar atmosphere this is not the place for you - but for us it was perfect and has definitely become one of our best ever places we've stayed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Sea Dance for three nights. It was small and quiet and relaxing. We loved that it wasn't on a busy beach but that we actually had to walk a ways down a residential road to get to the main street which was maybe 5 minutes away. The food at the hotel was fine, the drinks were good (try the passion fruit mojito), and the staff knew us all by name. They were very accommodating - we showed up early in the morning with no plans for the entire stay but between Junior and his team, we had more than enough to do. We could have actually used a couple of more days! I see comments about the the bathrooms, and I thought they were amazing- I loved the feeling of being outdoors yet totally secluded. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: We liked our room- #12 as it was on the back of the property away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Sea Dance resort for almost two weeks in October 2014 and enjoyed our stay as much as possible. We were treated like family and couldn't have wished for more: the resort is rather new as it opened in 2014 only and they are within their first season. Our accomodation was a sea shore pool villa with a small private pool. The room was absolutely cosy and very spacious - although we stayed such a long time we had enough space for clothes etc. We experienced the food to be great, too. Sea Dance features two different menues, a thai menue as well as an "international" menue. We liked the international menue for lunch especially: we wouldn't have believed it but we had one of the best burgers there that we ever had outside of the US. Also club sandwich and tuna sandwich were great (and the french fries! Wow!).

Something we very much liked is that - even though there are people working in the resort all day to e.g. cut buches, mow the grass - there is no disturbing noise: the people working there do whatever is necessary without any noise, it's unbelievable. They even cut the grass with a scissor (no joke!).

All staff was very friendly. they were attentive at all times and they did everything to make us enjoy the trip. We definitely are recommending Sea Dance - this is one of the - if not - best hotels we ever stayed. Not because it is very luxorious or glamorous but because everybody there will do their best to make this your perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Sea Shore Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sea Dance for 4 nights. After traveling from Bangkok, Krabi, Phi Phi, Ko Lanta, and Phuket...we were ready for some relaxation time...and this is definitely the place to do it! The grounds are beautiful, pool and restaurant amazing, and property is quiet and secluded...away from the hustle and bustle of Cheweng and Fisherman's Village, but close enough to get there if you want! The customer service we received from Poy, Junior, Kwan, Amp and the rest of the crew was top notch! I miss them all already! :( The individual villas are very comfortable...we wanted to bring the bed home with us! The attention to detail in the decor is amazing! If you are planning a trip to Koh Samui and want some peace and quiet, I recommend staying here! We loved it!

Room Tip: I think if you want a garden villa, #10 is great! The villas with the plunge pools are amazing, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Dance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dance Resort

Address: 63/253 Moo 5 Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani province, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#1 Spa Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Dance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Koh Samui's secluded and tranquil Hanuman Bay, Sea Dance is an intimate boutique resort that celebrates love, joy and laughter. Sea Dance features tropical thatched roof private pool villas and garden cottages with wooden terraces amidst a peaceful garden setting where you can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Dance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dance Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dance Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.